Solved: Incredimail in Windows 8

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

cajosu

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 29, 2012
Messages
5
I have updated to Windows 8 and though Incredimail will send emails it will not download any, saying 'operation incomplete'. My server is bigpond who have not been able to locate the problem.
 

cajosu

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 29, 2012
Messages
5
Trend Micro Titanium Internet Security Versiion: 6.0.1215 Full version.
Bigpond settings: incoming - pop3.live.com; outgoing: smtp.live.com
Ports: 587 and 995
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,486
this is for outlook - but the setting should be the same for POP
https://bigpond.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/672

what security are you using

and when it does not download - do you get any error message
if download is not working ie receiving mail- but you can send mail - then the pop3 settings are incorrect

can you send mail OK ?

it may also be a firewall setting - what firewalls are on the PC
 

cajosu

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 29, 2012
Messages
5
Re my incredmail problem - The bigpond settings given to me which are the same as on your link, do not work for receiving emails - it says "operation incomplete". The pop setting is - pop3.live.com.
I can send emails!!! Pretty weird!!??
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,486
have you tried changing the security settings at all ?
 

cajosu

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 29, 2012
Messages
5
I have Trend Micro Titanium Internet Security which I had before I updated from Windows XP to Windows 8. It never caused any problems with getting emails under Windows XP.
How do I change the security settings and what do I change them to?
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,486
i would remove completely first

windows 8 comes with windows defender which is microsoft security essentials - so you do have an antivirus

you can always put back on
 

cajosu

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 29, 2012
Messages
5
Thank you for your suggestions, though they didn't work.
I got a friend of mine who is an IT fiend to have a look - He solved the problem!!! He said he put some gobblegook settings in, then when that was rejected they asked for other settings and he put in the correct settings and it worked. It is all over my head and I probably didn't explain it well - but the good news is I am back on Incredimail with my bigpond account in Windows 8!!!!
The issue is now solved! :)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top