1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

[SOLVED] Insert floppy, monitor goes dark?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by suesloan, Oct 6, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. suesloan

    suesloan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    Gateway computer with Gateway 15" LCD monitor, 1999 with W95 on it. Running 800x600.
    NVidia TNT video card with DVI connection only.

    1st Problem - monitor went black. Gateway support says "monitor is dead" after doing some tests. Tests included running self-test on monitor, reseating the video card and various reboots.

    Solution - replaced with new Sony LCD monitor using DVI cable. This new monitor has both a DVI and a VGA port on it and you must select the right one to get it to work. After a little reading, got it right, declared victory.

    2nd Problem - I was just typing an email and the monitor goes blank. The only way to get it back on was to do a cold power off reboot! And it seems it resets the monitor's port selection when powered off, so that had to be set again.

    3rd Problem - I wanted to backup some files, so I put a floppy disk in the drive and the durn monitor goes black immediately! Once again a cold power off reboot was required.

    Assumption on my part on the 2nd problem is "power management" so I turned it all off. But I need to use the floppy drive to back up my files. How can this floppy drive do anything to my monitor?

    Sue Sloan
     
  2. Whitestar

    Whitestar

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2003
    Messages:
    511
    Have you tried using the floppy drive again?
     
  3. suesloan

    suesloan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    Putting a disk in the floppy drive still turns off the monitor. I plan to replace the video card today and do some more testing to see if the floppy cable is loose. Will post any findings.

    Sue Sloan
     
  4. suesloan

    suesloan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    Found the problem! Seems the backup program is DOS, and it was switching from Windows to DOS that locked up the system.

    I replaced the DVI video card with a PCI-VGA card and all is well.

    Sue Sloan
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/169938

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice