1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Inspiron 1440 laptop won't connect to U-Verse

Discussion in 'Networking' started by chicoum, Apr 2, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. chicoum

    chicoum Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Hello,

    I have an Inspiron 1440, windows 7 which won't connect to the net (wireless). First some history, I have 3 computers, 2 laptops and a desktop. About a month ago, the laptop that isn't working now was working fine, but the other 2 computers didn't work (i.e., didn't connect to the net). I have ATT-U-verse. Called them and we changed the name of my network to get the other 2 working. Which they did. Now the Inspiron won't work. Of course, I changed the network access to the new one but it still won't work. I have tried deleting the network from the computer and selecting the router from the list that comes up, but when it detects my network in range, it won't ask for the security key it will simply try to connect as if it knows the key already, even though I have deleted it. I have also removed the battery and replaced and that won't work. One more thing, I took the laptop to work and it connected to the internet just fine. Any ideas? Thanks for your time.
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,929
    have you tried removing the wireless security from the wireless router and seeing if you can connect

    try removing the wireless profiles
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    How to remove Wireless Profiles
    http://mgmcc.forumotion.net/t109-removing-an-existing-wireless-profile
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    also post back an xirrus screen shot and ipconfig /all

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector Download and install
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC

    http://www.xirrus.com/library/wifitools.php
    Direct link to the program is here http://www.xirrus.com/library/wifi_download_redirect.php
    Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
    if you get an error - You need NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.

    Run the program

    post a screen shot of the program running - if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information, and also post which network "Adapter Name" (1st column) is yours on the list

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    Full details are here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot

    Note:
    For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

    We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results in a reply here

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results to notepad and then automatically open notepad.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results to a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy
    Now go back to the forum - reply and then right click in the reply box and paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. chicoum

    chicoum Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Hello Etaf,

    Thanks for the response. I have attached screenshots you requested. My network is 058HOME.

    Here is the ipconf/all


    Windows IP Configuration
    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Cesar-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Virtual WiFi Miniport Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 90-4C-E5-98-AD-BE
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Dell Wireless 1397 WLAN Mini-Card
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 90-4C-E5-98-AD-BE
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : med.umich.edu
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe FE Family Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : A4-BA-DB-94-47-B8
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter isatap.{DB61D998-51F4-4707-964C-FF8E11769ED8}:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter isatap.{A60E7826-3F00-4DC7-9218-9F350D42F79E}:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter isatap.med.umich.edu:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #5
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter isatap.{16D0C9B2-CD48-4815-9377-2186D46188D8}:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #6
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Thanks for helping!

    c
     

    Attached Files:

  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,555
    And the result when you tried with encryption disabled?
     
  5. chicoum

    chicoum Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Didn't work. It is very curious because when I search for networks in range, mine comes up, I click on it and it tries to connect without asking for a security key. Then after a few seconds comes the message that it was unable to connect. With any other network in range it will ask for a security key.
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,555
    Check the router to make sure you are not locked out by MAC Address filtering (or Access Control).
     
  7. chicoum

    chicoum Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    You've gone beyond the limits of my knowledge, how do I do that?

    Thanks,

    C
     
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,555
    Login to the router. Depending on the router you may need to go to the wireless section, "filtering" section, advanced, etc. Or search in your user manual to see where to find it. Many router user manuals can be found on the manufacturer's web site.
     
  9. chicoum

    chicoum Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Ok, I can check the router, but how do I know whether I am being locked out. Remember that I can use the wireless with another laptop and my desktop. It is the Inspiron that is giving me trouble. There are 5 devices listed with mac and IP addresses. Is this normal?
     
  10. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,555
    If MAC Address filtering is enable you need to disable it (best) or add your laptop's wireless MAC (90-4C-E5-98-AD-BE) to the list.
     
  11. chicoum

    chicoum Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Hello again,

    MAC filtering wasn't enabled. I added my laptop's MAC to the list and no luck. Still no connection.
     
  12. chicoum

    chicoum Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Ok, so I gave U-verse a call back and decided to change my password. I figured that since the laptop seems to think it knows the password, if I changed it, it might actually prompt me to put it in. Didn't matter. Then, the U-verse assistant changed my WSK and it worked. Bizzare. At least in my tech limited knowledge sense. It seems that the lesson here is to fiddle with different settings on the computer and perhaps the router and you never know which one will work. While I'm glad that I have access with all 3 computers now, I still think the Dell Inspiron leaves much to be desired. Thanks to those who tried to help.
     
  13. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,929
    thanks for taking the time to let us know
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/989410