Solved: Inspiron 5160 display, partial display

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

onsail

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
5
Recently the backlight went out on the wifes’ laptop display. Thinking that I was pretty smart, I picked up a replacement on eBay.
What came out of the laptop is a 15.0 XGA Samsung with a part number of 5F4G64512F.
What I ended up with (my own fault) was a LG Phillips LP150X2 XGA Display. The cable is different, however it still plugs into the video card.
So I figure ill give it a try any way.

The display only displays on two thirds (left side). See Signature for system info. .

What should I do? I’m lost.
Thanks,
Eric
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2005
Messages
469
Does it appear to "run off" the screen? (if you move your mouse all of the way to the left side, does it disappear?) Sounds like a simple alignment problem, there should be a "autoset" feature on the monitor you can press to calibrate it.
Also in the display settings (under advanced) somewhere there should be a calibration feature in there also.
 

onsail

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
5
No running off here. It actually displays all of the info in the top left using about 2/3rds of the screen and the mouse does not run off. I guess I should also have mentioned that the display repeats it self in the bottom 1/3 of the screen including the mouse pointer.
Eric
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2003
Messages
17,584
This is a laptop, the advice above refers to a desktop monitor using an analog connection.

The laptop is digital all the way, no calibration feature is provided or needed.

Sound like a straight incompatability, there is no "standard" between makes and models, they are largely propritary.
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2003
Messages
17,584
If you are creative enough, you could still blame the error on the wife?

Or is it too late for that now....?
 

onsail

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
5
:-\ Wife already knows me too well LOL and I ll order the inverter from Dell and see what happens.
thanks,
Eric
 

onsail

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
5
Ok, after the advice here I ordered the inverter card and replaced it on the old screen, voila it works perfectly. Selling the wrong one on e-bay.
Thanks for the help,
Eric
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top