1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Inspiron slower than dial-up

Discussion in 'Networking' started by jsms, Apr 22, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jsms

    jsms Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Hi, just bought this inspiron today and it is slower than dirt at my home network. When i'm at my friends house it is fast and normal (speed test 10m down 4m up) Home network is roadrunner lightning (40m down and .35 upload) my desktop at home speed test (10m down and 5.35 up) No problems on desktop and it too is wirless, This is the second Dell in two weeks, no one seems to know what it is. Dell came out and upgraded the wireless card and it didnt work, the cable company came out and did diagnostics and cant figure out, so today I returned it for another model and im having the same problem. Any ideas? ping test is >2000mbps Max speed from roadrunner is 40 mbps download and 5 mbps upload- FYI. Everything else runs fast just not the internet (I5 2450 2.5 ghrz, 6mb ram) Last note a friend put their older 3 yr old dell laptop to my home network and they were running very fast while it takes more than 2min for youtube to load for me.
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,877
    At a friends you get (speed test 10m down 4m up)
    Your HOME is (40m down and .35 upload)
    BUT you get the same as you got at a friends on the desktop (10m down and 5.35 up)

    sounds like you have the same speeds on the laptop that you get on the desktop - or you made a typo

    can you connect the laptop by cable to the router and check
     
  3. jsms

    jsms Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Yes I have hard wired and the Internet is fast(40mb down 5.35 upload) and the speeds at a friends house are because they have basic cable Internet with max down of 10mb and 5mb upload. One more thing, my friend brought his Inspiron to my house and it's 3 yrs. old and we compared side by side and his comp ran fast while mine took over 2 min to load YouTube. It has to be an issue with the say my Inspiron communicates with my router because with another wifi source it runs fast. Any ideas? The cable comp is coming tomorrow although I can't imagine any things wrong since my desktop and Xbox run fine
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,877
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
    Download and install

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.


    http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector.aspx
    Direct link to the program is here http://wpc.475a.edgecastcdn.net/00475A/XirrusWiFiInspectorSetup.1.2.0.exe

    {If the above link does not work heres another link http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file_download/fid,77196-order,4/download.html}

    Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
    if you get an error - You need NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.

    Run the program

    A user guide is available here http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector/xirruswifiinspectorguide1-2-0.aspx

    post a screen shot of the program running - if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information, and also post which network "Adapter Name" (1st column) is yours on the list

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    Full details are here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot

    Note:
    For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better.

    If you are using the Mac OS then use http://www.istumbler.net/
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  5. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,542
    On the off chance that the Dell rep did not do this--make sure you have the latest wireless driver from Dell's web site.
     
  6. jsms

    jsms Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Yes they did, they remotely checked all settings
     
  7. jsms

    jsms Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    * update* dell fixed it they called me and said may we take over remotely. So they looked at the settings and changed it from n to g and sure enough I'm fast surfing now. It was a router from the cable comp that told me its wireless n but it was g. Hope this helps others though as I see other dell owners had this problem too especially with brighthouse. Thank you!
     
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,542
    Thanks for letting us know the solution.

    You can mark this solved using the [​IMG] button at the upper left of the page.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1050424