Solved: Install problem- please help!

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

grinandbearit

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 8, 2010
Messages
11
Due to malware, I had to reinstall windows and now I can't get past the desktop screen with a message to activate windows. If i choose yes, it just sits there, if i choose no it shuts down. I cant boot into safe mode either. Any ideas?
 

Ent

Josiah
Trusted Advisor
Joined
Apr 11, 2009
Messages
5,467
I'm sorry to see how little attention you've been recieving. Personally I've never experienced this issue so I don't know what to do. I'm guessing that you've already tried running the format and install a second time, if not try it because it may at least get safe mode to work.

You'll need safe mode if you want to use the method outlined here (though it is something of a rant) and see if that helps.
 

Ent

Josiah
Trusted Advisor
Joined
Apr 11, 2009
Messages
5,467
Please Confirm:
You have installed XP (at least twice).
Rather than being allowed to login, you are getting the activation screen when you turn the computer on.
You cannot reach safe mode with the F8 button.
You have a genuine Windows XP key, but in spite of this cannot activate.
If you can give a few details about the computer, such as the model and the version of XP you want to install, it will probably prove useful, if not now when somebody with more experience than I decides to help.

If I have understood that linked page correctly the writer couldn't activate because the network card hadn't been set up yet. The activation program takes information about the computer hardware, including the network card, to identify the computer. Without that hardware, it therefore couldn't activate. He solved it by downloading and installing the network card driver in safe mode, but you say you cannot reach safe mode.
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
81,728
Due to malware, I had to reinstall windows and now I can't get past the desktop screen with a message to activate windows. If i choose yes, it just sits there, if i choose no it shuts down. I cant boot into safe mode either. Any ideas?
Did you use an actual Windows XP CD or did you use a recovery/restore CD?

Did you format the hard drive first(booted from the XP CD, deleted all current partitions, created a new C partition, formatted the new C partition in the NTFS file system) before you reinstalled XP?

----------------------------------------------------------------
 

grinandbearit

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 8, 2010
Messages
11
I ran the actual windows xp cd and was given several choices. I can't remember them all, but I chose 'install windows xp". I was hoping to see a repair or reformat option, but didn't. When it was finished, it kept rebooting awhile. Then I shut it down by hand and when it came back up it had a message about activating and I could choose yes or no. When I chose yes, it went to my desktop (the old background picture I had before which was surprising) and it just sat there. no icons or anything. When I chose no, it would just shut down.

Can't do safe mode with the F8. Yes, it's a genuine windows cd and key. I don't know the model. The version is windows sp2.




Advertisement



HP ProLiant DL380 G6



 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
81,728
Did you boot from the XP CD and have the Press any key to boot from CD command appear?

It's a full version XP SP2 CD and has the 25-digit product key?

---------------------------------------------------------------
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
81,728
okay- i'll try that. you think it will make a difference really?
Yes.

---------------------------------------------------------------

You didn't mention whether your XP is Home or Pro, so I'm giving you links to pictorial install guides for both versions.

XP Home

XP Pro

I suggest you read them and view the images before you start.

--------------------------------------------------------------

I'm getting ready to go off-line for the night. I'll check back with your thread in the morning. Good luck.

--------------------------------------------------------------
 

grinandbearit

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 8, 2010
Messages
11
Thanks so much. The keyboard was the problem. I never would have thought of it. I tried to just do a repair, but had the same "activation" message on a frozen screen. When I chose to do a full format and install, the link you supplied really helped me out. Thanks again! Linda
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top