1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Installing new processor in W.7

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by Toti, Jul 10, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Toti

    Toti Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    Messages:
    701
    Hi guys... it's me, Toti :)

    Beforehand thanks for help to point me in the right direction and pls. forgive my English, not my first language .

    My question is:
    I bought a new processor for my computer it's a Intel Core2 Duo E7500 2.93GHz, for my motherboard ASUS P5G41-M LE... so the question is;
    After installing the new processor do I need to do something in the BIOS, like configure it? or do the Mobo will detect automatically the new processor and no need to configure the Bios or upgrade it to a new Bios ?

    Yes I have WIndows 7.

    pls forgive my ignorance at respect :eek:

    Toti
     
  2. ChuckE

    ChuckE

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    2,311
    Generally there are no BIOS changes when you swap CPUs on a motherboard, as long as the motherboard was meant to use the new processor.

    If you were overclocking the motherboard (to speed it up, for example) then you might want to revert the BIOS back to original settings before using the new processor.

    One more thing, I think your Operating System will need to be re-installed to use the new processor. The Kernel (the key part of the OS that deals with the CPU directly) has to be built for the current processor. That is done at the time of installing the OS.
     
  3. Toti

    Toti Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    Messages:
    701
    HI ChuckE

    Thanks good to know....So once I install the new processor.... I delete partition reformat then reinstall right ?

    or what will happen if I don't reinstall the O.S.? will this harm the computer?
     
  4. ChuckE

    ChuckE

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    2,311
    That would be the clean way, and the way I would go.
    But I think you might get away with just "Repairing" the OS. It might get you back up and running in minutes.
    You might try that first, and if it works, report back to us.
    It might be educational for all of us.
     
  5. Toti

    Toti Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    Messages:
    701
    OK so.....

    Thanks ChukE so... I would try the "Repairing" first and if It works for sure I would be back to report and in case not I make a clean Install of my O.S.

    I have an External HD portable , so can I make a back up of my C drive on it ? how can I do that, like to back up my work and files on it ?

    I remember ther's a way to back up email , favorites of Firefox .Opera and I.E. but don't remember were I see it.
    I'm going to need to search that all again and back up all that. ohhhh that's gonna be a full day work :) going to need to prepare a good pot of new coffee.
     
  6. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    You shouldn't need to reinstall or repair Windows for a simple processor change.
     
  7. Toti

    Toti Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    Messages:
    701
    OHHH !!!!

    So, Im good to go ?

    Thanks for clear that DoubleHelix.
    Brb to report ....hands on.


    Toti
     
  8. Toti

    Toti Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    Messages:
    701
    HI guys I'm back .

    Well I installed the new processor clean a bit the fans and the whole case inside, I didn't apply thermal compound in to the processor because the fan sink had a thermal compound already applied.
    So I took the older processor place the new one , secure the fan sink connect the fan into Mobo close it and turn on computer.
    The computer turned on fast with no problem and recognized the processor with no trouble.
    No need to BIOS or retype my serial number or do a windows repair , system recognized ok and windows and O.S. ok.

    Thansk guys :)

    Now I remember I have to update a older post by me about computer on and off in Windows 7.

    anyhow Thanks to ChukE for recommendations.
    and to DoubleHelix to make it Clear.

    SOLVED !! :)

    xoxo
    Toti
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/934788