1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Installing New XP - F8 not working to agree t/c

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by leachim, Nov 16, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. leachim

    leachim Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,114
    Just started installing XP on a laptop

    Gets to Press F8 to agree to Terms and Conditions

    F8 doesn't work......

    Is there a shortcut ?

    Thanks
     
  2. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,334
    Are you using a USB keyboard on an older computer? You may need a PS/2 style keyboard
     
  3. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,334
  4. leachim

    leachim Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,114
    Calm down everyone :eek:

    I sorted it - had to plug in a USB keyboard - silly me, should have known :rolleyes:

    It was when you have to agree terms and conditions when first installing XP - obviously the laptop F8 doesnt work
     
  5. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
    The laptop may have an F-lock key that needs to
    be pressed before the F keys are active.
    Glad you got it going.
     
  6. SUEOHIO

    SUEOHIO

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    3,754
    First Name:
    SUE
    Heres a suggestion that sounds really stupid but just might work. On a brand new computer i went to switch it from windows 7 back to xp. I had to change the BIOS of course from AHCI to Compatable etc. All went well untill i got to the part where i had to hit F8 for the EULA agreement. I kept hitting it and thought this is a brand new computer what on earth is wrong with the keyboard?Finally i went back into the BIOS and checked under the keyboard settings and it was set for multifunction. I set it to single function and was able to proceed without further problems. This was on a dell inspiron laptop.I dont know if anyother brand has that option to change the keyboard settings but you can check and see if it solves the problem.
     
  7. leachim

    leachim Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,114

    Yep - it was a Dell Inspiron !

    Maybe a BIOS fix would have done it ?

    :D
     
  8. leachim

    leachim Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,114

    Yes - on the laptop keyboard

    Working now !
     
  9. SUEOHIO

    SUEOHIO

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    3,754
    First Name:
    SUE
    Mine is a dell inspiron 1545. I guess for once something that sounds dumb turned out to be smart after all. lol!!!!For future reference so you dont have to go through this again check the BIOS setting and see what the keyboard is set for.If it still says multifunction set it to single function and it will be solved forever.Im glad its solved for you for now. When i replied earlier there were only a few answers and it hadnt been solved yet. Im slow at replies sometimes. lol!!!!
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved Installing working
  1. howard.a.s
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    747
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1027094

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice