1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Installing second hard drive:

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by karl_stade, Aug 31, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. karl_stade

karl_stade Thread Starter

Hi all, :cool:

I have recently come into possession of a perfectly working 80GB IDE Seagate hard drive, that has been tested and refurbished.

I would like to install it, as a secondary hard drive onto my computer, so I can install Ubuntu onto the second hard drive and leave Windows XP and all my primary data on the primary hard drive.

I work in the IT industry, but alas I am in the sales/service department, so I am only 80% cluey when it comes to actual hardware configuration.

I opened up my case and I have a 200GB Western Digital HDD in the box currently set as a master (as it is the only one there atm).. however, on the sticker on the HDD describing the jumper settings it says that there is a jumper setting "Master w/ Slave"... would I need to set the jumpers to this to then hook up this 80GB Seagate as a Slave? I have checked the jumper settings on the Seagate and it is on Slave mode. Or can I just leave the WDL on "Master" and have the Seagate as "Slave" and it will all work ok?

Also, would I need to configure the BIOS to let it "see" the second hard drive, or will the PC automatically recognise that there is an extra HDD plugged in...?

Any help or suggestions would be great! (y)

Btw, Linux ppl... I realise that in theory that you can install Linux onto the same HDD as Windows.. but I would like to keep it all simple and separate in case I don't like anything or in case anything happens to either.

Thanks again!

2. mrss

mrss Guest