1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Installing Virtual Box

Discussion in 'Software Development' started by sepala, Dec 31, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. sepala

    sepala Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,038
    I tried to install Oracle Virtual box for windows, But windows tells me It is not compatible with windows and didn't pass "Windows Logo Verification" or something , and because of that, it asks me to rollback the installation. I really need to install this software. Please help
     
  2. aka Brett

    aka Brett Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    16,918
    Check the property sheet of the installer

    VirtualBox-4.0.0-69151-Win

    Is that what you have?
     
  3. sepala

    sepala Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,038
    yaya..That is the thing..
     
  4. aka Brett

    aka Brett Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    16,918
    Thats odd.....Perhaps the download is corrupt/ may try to download it again.
    Then clean out temp files
    I installed that same version on 7 ultimate{32} a few weeks ago with out any problems.
     
  5. sepala

    sepala Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,038
    I tried that but it fails again. I have attached the image of the error msg. please help me to fix this, or please let me know another software like this rather than the microsoft production
     

    Attached Files:

  6. aka Brett

    aka Brett Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    16,918
    If hitting continue any way doesnt work ..I dont know what else to try
     
  7. sepala

    sepala Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,038
    I didn't click that, because it says it will crash the OS
     
  8. aka Brett

    aka Brett Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    16,918
    I dont remeber if I got that error or not while installing virtual box.........I do remember seeing it recently though..may have been while trying an email app

    If you have w7 32...then you have what I have ..I installed that version of virtualbox and have been using it
     

    Attached Files:

  9. aka Brett

    aka Brett Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    16,918
    Update...I recovered from an image which didnt have virtual box.
    After doing all my testing I reinstalled my os from an image I made just for safety sake I had been testing different AV solutions and was intentionally throwing viruses at my machine
    I have used 2 versions
    Version 4 was from a few days ago
    I used another version prior...few weeks ago

    Hit this link and give 3.2 a try

    http://www.virtualbox.org/wiki/Download_Old_Builds

    Note...I do have version 4 on this machine and its working proper as per screen shot
     
  10. sepala

    sepala Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,038
    Damn..I installed the 3.2, but getting the same error
     
  11. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    The message you're seeing refers to the virtual network driver that VirtualBox needs to install. It's probably normal, and I highly doubt you're getting a message that your computer will crash. That's your interpretation of a standard warning message.

    If you're really concerned, post the question in the VirtualBox forums.
     
  12. sepala

    sepala Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,038
    Hi DoubleHelix,

    You mean if I click on that continue button, no damage will happen? I got that same error message when I tried to install that software into my father's machine also. I tried 3 versions!
     
  13. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    No one can guarantee nothing bad will ever happen. I've seen that error before and successfully moved past it. I'm sharing my experience and opinion. It's a normal, standard error message that indicates a driver is not digitally signed.
     
  14. sepala

    sepala Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,038
    Ok..i am gonna try that in one machine
     
  15. sepala

    sepala Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,038
    Hi DoubleHelix,

    Got to know you are correct about that error message. Yes, as you said it is about the Virtual Network Card..Thanks for the help...

    Thanks for aka Bert and DoubleHelix for the help....
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/971749

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice