1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: installing XP, keeps freezing at setup screen.

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by kjdooris, Aug 6, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. kjdooris

    kjdooris Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    74
    i formatted the hard drive on the computer, and went to reinstall xp on it.

    Every time it gets to the setup page with the options to set up XP, repair XP or quit setup.
    When i press enter to set up xp, it just hangs there, only once did it proceed to the agreement page - i pressed F8, and it stalled there.

    IT JUST WONT LET ME INSTALL XP ON IT.

    I installed XP on the hard drive using an emachines pc - but it wont work in another pc, and it didnt work on this... so the hard drive is ok too.

    ive tried changing the RAM, ive removed all pci cards, i cant think what is wrong with it.

    It was working perfectly before i formatted the drive, now its just being annoyin!

    The cd is good, i tried it with two copies.

    ive tried every possible thing that myself or my friends can think of.



    arrrgh, any help pleeeese!
     
  2. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,377
    First check your hardware.

    1 Download and run the hd utility for checking the drive [I know you said you used the drive in another system; check it anyway] You will download this from whoever made you hd ie WD, Seagate, etc. If the disk passes ALL tests, use the low level format option to write zeros to the drive.

    2 Next check your memory with memtest

    3 Have you checked your power supply?

    Note both of the above run from bootable media. There is no need for an os to be installed.
     
  3. kjdooris

    kjdooris Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    74
    hi, thanks for your quick reply.

    ill let you know the outcome of the tests on thursday or friday, im busy till then.

    the power supply is new- the old one took notions of working now and then.
     
  4. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,377
    Hopefully you did not buy one of the $25 power supplies. The ps is probably the most overlooked item in a system.
     
  5. kjdooris

    kjdooris Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    74
    hey again.

    the tests were all good, and i did a low level full format, took ages...

    i tried installing xp and it froze, i tried a second time and it installed ok. i put on all the usual programs i install on machines, and it worked pefectly on my monitor.

    i took it back to the guys house, plugged it in, and it now freezes randomly.

    the psu was about $50 - (£26)

    the only thing different in the set up, is that i used a crt monitor, and his monitor is LCD one, with the power coming from the psu. would this be causing it to freeze?

    its driving me mad!!!!
     
  6. Sparrow

    Sparrow

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    134
    Quickie....
    The CD(DVD) drive may not read correctly and end up with a corrupt install.
    The harddrive and other drive configuration (Master-Slave) Jumpers correct?
    Not common, Ide cables defective.
     
  7. kjdooris

    kjdooris Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    74
    well they bought a new laptop now anyway, and want to smash the old one into pieces cos it has always caused them bothers...

    i may never get to check and find out what exactly was wrong with it.

    if i manage to talk them into letting me have it to work it out then ill let you know.


    thanks for your advice, ill most likely be a regular here now, and will help out others too.
     
  8. Rich-M

    Rich-M

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    22,443
    Has to be either bad ram or bad hard drive....
     
  9. kjdooris

    kjdooris Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    74
    i got the pc back - worked for about 30 mins and froze again...

    i noticed in the bios that it says the fans are not spinning. they are though. would this be causing the problem, and why cant it read that they are spinning?
     
  10. kjdooris

    kjdooris Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    74
    the graphics card was causing the problem. found this out on another computer.

    i just removed it and bingo.
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved installing keeps
  1. howard.a.s
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    112
  2. plankman
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    205
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/490010

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice