1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

(Solved) Intelligent Explorer-Help remove!

Discussion in 'Virus & Other Malware Removal' started by veena33, Dec 28, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. veena33

    veena33 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Messages:
    62
    Hi,

    I just noticed an Intelligent Explorer toolbar on my internet explorer. Im able to remove it temporarily from the View-->Toolbars-->but i cant find a permanent solution. Im guessing this program got downloaded onto my computer (not again!)...Anyhow, does anyone have a solution to remove this? Thanks alot
     
  2. Davey7549

    Davey7549

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2001
    Messages:
    11,584
    veena
    Intelligent Explorer is spyware and I believe is a BHO added by IMI. Here is a listing of it at Spybot.
    http://security.kolla.de/kbase.php?lang=en&sbi=spybots&kbase=ieplugin

    You should download SpyBot, Unzip, Locate the main Icon SpyBot S&D, Double click to open. Once there click online, check for updates, Checkmark recommended updates and install updates. After updates are installed Click settings then file sets and uncheck "System Internals" then "Tracks". then click the Spybot S&D tab and run Spybot. You should receive a list in red of all spyware on your system. Allow Spybot to remove. After removal close Spybot, Restart system and see if Intelligent Browser is gone.

    Dave

    PS: Moving to Security so the spyware\virus gurus can have a look.
     
  3. veena33

    veena33 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Messages:
    62
    System Internals and Tracks were already unchecked. Does that matter?
     
  4. Davey7549

    Davey7549

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2001
    Messages:
    11,584
    veena
    SpyBots crew must of made a change then. Yes the two should remain unchecked.

    Dave
     
  5. veena33

    veena33 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Messages:
    62
    Thanks...the prob is fixed!
    Veena
     
  6. Davey7549

    Davey7549

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2001
    Messages:
    11,584
    Veena
    Glad all is well again. Hang on to spybot, update and run every now and then to ensure nothing sneeks onto your computer.
    Take care and will consider this matter solved.

    Dave
     
  7. BuffyWWJD

    BuffyWWJD

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    I could not get to the TechGuy suggested website:

    http://security.kolla.de/kbase.php?...;kbase=ieplugin

    for a cure to the Intelligent Explorer toolbar that won't go away.


    I explored all of "techguy" and its other websites but to no avail. No mention of how to get to this cure or the above website.

    Any suggestions????

    Thank you very much and a big, fat POX on all these vial advertisers and their associates who rape our computers and then tell us we downloaded it ourselves!

    As if we had any idea they were piggybacking on to a legimate download until they made our lives miserable with their annoying ads. (n)

    I call POPUPS, whether they like it or not, FARTS. Only the originator likes them and the rest of us think they stink!!!

    Buffy :p
     
  8. joe4150

    joe4150

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    I also tried the http://security.kolla.de/kbase.php?.... link and found it didn't work to obtain Spybot. Here's how I got it yesterday: Go to: www.tucows.com. In the left column under "Downloads" click "Windows." When that page comes up, go to the upper right area and in "Search" type in SPYBOT, then scroll down to "Windows," select that, and click "Go." On the next page, scroll down the page to the very bottom -- the last download listed is Spybot. Follow the download instructions and you'll be set. Then you can go to their website to check for updates. The info is with the original download.

    Hope this helps. Best of luck.
     
  9. Risp

    Risp

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    I got this spyware/virus. I loaded AdAware 6, updated it and ran it. I got rid of the annoying toolbar in Internet explorer, but can't get rid of a window in the upper right corner of my desktop. Right clicking on the window, gets me a response from Internet Explorer saying that, "That function is not supported"

    I can get this darn window to go away. I ran AdAware again but it finds nothing. The window's property says something about a javascript, and gives me the webpage of www.intelligentexplorer.com, which has a removal program you can load, but of course it doesn't work.
     
  10. Risp

    Risp

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    My bad the window i can get rid of is titles IntelligentDesktop.com. I ran Spybot and adaware, cleaned up a ton of stuff but the window wont go away.
     
  11. gail221

    gail221

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    So what did you do to get rid of that window in the upper right corner of desktop? I have the same problem - got rid of the intelligent explorer toolbar with spybot, as well as all the others it came with since I got DSL, but this is the only item remaining. Please help?
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/110204

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice