Solved: Intermittent Wireless

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

jtoolm

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 28, 2006
Messages
39
I have a D-link WBR-2310 wireless router. I have a desktop using windows xp pro hard wired and use the wireless for xbox 360. The adapter I use for The 360 is the Microsoft brand for the 360. I use a WEP security. Randomly the connection will drop off for 1-3 min and the desktop nor 360 will have connection. I am up-to-date on firmware for the router, it is about 5 ft away from any electronics. I have cordless phones in which took batteries out but problem still persists. The router is only a year old and dlink tech support cant find a solution. Anyone that has a suggestion or a solution, please help. Much Appreciated:D
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
it may be an ISP issue
But it may also be a DNS issue

try the following

Ipconfig on Vista
Vista does not handle permissions the same as XP.
Locate the command prompt short cut in your start menu. Right click it, choose run as administrator, then try the ipconfig.

If you want to always have the command prompt run with elevation
Right-click the command prompt icon, choose Properties
Select the Shortcut tab
Click on Advanced
Check Run as administrator

How To Open Command Prompt From Right Click Menu:
Just hold down your Shift key and right-click anywhere on your desktop, in a folder or on a folder to open Command Prompt. The current location of Command Prompt will depend from where you open it.

------------------------


can you do the following tests when its working and then repeat them all when disconnected

Post back the results of all the test - clearly labeled which is which - ie connected OK and disconnected

its important to do all the ping tests

1) Ping the default gateway
2) ping google.com by the name
3) ping google using IP address

all details below


ipconfig /all

TWO Methods to do that - some people have problems with ONE----

ONE ---------------------------------
start
run
cmd
ipconfig /all

rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

TWO -----------------------------------------------

Start, Run, CMD to open a DOS window and type:

IPCONFIG /ALL >C:\RESULT.TXT

Open C:\RESULT.TXT with Notepad and copy/paste the entire results here.


NEXT lets see if you can get out onto the internet with both names and IP's - its possible the IP number you get back on the first test is different to the one I post {I'm in UK} so use the number you get instead of mine

------------------------------------------------
try ping the name and then the IP see below

start
run
cmd

C:\Documents and Settings\wayne>ping {the default gateway ipaddress you got above }


C:\Documents and Settings\wayne>ping google.com
Pinging google.com [64.233.187.99] with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 64.233.187.99: bytes=32 time=120ms TTL=243
Reply from 64.233.187.99: bytes=32 time=107ms TTL=243
Reply from 64.233.187.99: bytes=32 time=102ms TTL=243
Reply from 64.233.187.99: bytes=32 time=101ms TTL=243

Ping statistics for 64.233.187.99:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 101ms, Maximum = 120ms, Average = 107ms
C:\Documents and Settings\wayne>ping 64.233.187.99
Pinging 64.233.187.99 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 64.233.187.99: bytes=32 time=116ms TTL=243
Reply from 64.233.187.99: bytes=32 time=113ms TTL=243
Reply from 64.233.187.99: bytes=32 time=113ms TTL=243
Reply from 64.233.187.99: bytes=32 time=111ms TTL=243

Ping statistics for 64.233.187.99:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 111ms, Maximum = 116ms, Average = 113ms

C:\Documents and Settings\wayne>
 

jtoolm

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 28, 2006
Messages
39
Results from ipconfig/all while connected:
Windows IP Configuration
Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : JOSH
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : SiS 900-Based PCI Fast Ethernet Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0C-76-8D-5D-BA
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.100
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, October 07, 2008 11:41:16 AM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, October 07, 2008 2:41:16 PM
 

jtoolm

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 28, 2006
Messages
39
ping defaultgateway

Pinging 192.168.0.1 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=127
Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=127
Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=127
Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=127

Ping statistics for 192.168.0.1:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms
 

jtoolm

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 28, 2006
Messages
39
Pinging google.com [209.85.171.99] with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 209.85.171.99: bytes=32 time=82ms TTL=240
Reply from 209.85.171.99: bytes=32 time=82ms TTL=240
Reply from 209.85.171.99: bytes=32 time=84ms TTL=240
Reply from 209.85.171.99: bytes=32 time=82ms TTL=240

Ping statistics for 209.85.171.99:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 82ms, Maximum = 84ms, Average = 82ms
 

jtoolm

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 28, 2006
Messages
39
Pinging 209.85.171.99 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 209.85.171.99: bytes=32 time=82ms TTL=240
Reply from 209.85.171.99: bytes=32 time=81ms TTL=240
Reply from 209.85.171.99: bytes=32 time=81ms TTL=240
Reply from 209.85.171.99: bytes=32 time=82ms TTL=240

Ping statistics for 209.85.171.99:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 81ms, Maximum = 82ms, Average = 81m

all tests were done while connected and seem ok. will post test for intermittent connectivity when it starts
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,425
Register at DSLReports and run their Line Quality Tests. It's best to run this test with a direct wired connection to eliminate any wireless issues from the results. It's useful many times to run this test several times, and we'd like to see each of the results. Post the results link from the top of the test display page for each test run here.

The link to post is near the top of the page and looks like:

If you wish to post this result to a forum, please copy/paste this URL
http://www.dslreports.com/linequality/nil/2357195 <- sample only, yours will obviously be different!
and your IP will be disguised.

Copy/paste that link here.

Note: You will have to enable PING (ICMP) request response either in your router (if you have one), or in your computer's firewall for direct modem connections. This is very important to get the most important part of the test to run.
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2006
Messages
187
What is the firmware version that you used because there is a short issue if you used the firmware version 1.05?
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,425
Just to be sure, you might want to do the following.

  1. For wireless connections, change the channel on the router, I like channels 1, 6, and 11 in the US.
  2. For wireless connections, try moving either the wireless router/AP or the wireless computer. Even a couple of feet will sometimes make a big difference.
  3. Update the firmware to the latest version available on the manufacturer's site.
  4. Reset the router to factory defaults and reconfigure.
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2006
Messages
187
I rather suggest to use the 1.04 for the WBR-2310 router because the connection is really dropping for the firmware version 1.05. Follow first the advised of John in regards with the channel.
 

jtoolm

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 28, 2006
Messages
39
In regards to the firmware I was using 1.04 when the problem first began. I then updated to the new firmware (1.05), to try and fix the issue.My channels are set to auto, but I will manually change and see if problem persists. :eek:I think it might be a hardware problem because when computer is hard wired to modem it doesn't have the connection problem , neither does the 360.
 

jtoolm

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 28, 2006
Messages
39
I have replaced he router and my connection has been working great since. I guess the router was going bad. Odd though that is the second dlink router that has done that. Thanks for all your help with this.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top