1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: "Internet access" but no connection

Discussion in 'Networking' started by lawolfe, Feb 4, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. lawolfe

    lawolfe Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    Messages:
    15
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 8.1, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-3227U CPU @ 1.90GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 58 Stepping 9
    Processor Count: 4
    RAM: 3911 Mb
    Graphics Card: Intel(R) HD Graphics 4000, -2012 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 108824 MB, Free - 10590 MB;
    Motherboard: Acer, Hummingbird2
    Antivirus: Avast. Windows Defender, Disabled

    ----------------------------

    Good afternoon folks!

    This morning I was working on WordPress and Tumblr when I suddenly got a popup saying: "Distiller cannot find its standard ICC Profiles. Please reinstall Adobe Acrobat to correct this problem." Shortly thereafter, my internet stopped working. Hulu was still playing on TV through a PS3, my boyfriend was online on his laptop and my roommate was browsing online on his phone, and even my phone has no connection problems, only my laptop. I switched from 2Ghz to 5Ghz and back and nothing. I disabled then enabled my network card in device manager. I also uninstalled and reinstalled the drivers, which seemed to happen automatically somehow when I turned on Bluetooth to see if I could get online through my phone connection or something so I don't know what happened there. I can't install updates either. I've got a Netgear C3700 modem router and even the app on my laptop (NETGEAR Genie) to manage that keeps crashing as soon as I open it.

    In the last couple days, I've done no updates or downloads and I've had no problems of the sort before. It's just happened and now mobile is my only option.
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,371
    First Name:
    Wayne
    can i see an ipconfig /all please


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all

    We would like to see the results from an ipconfig /all - post back the results in a reply here.

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    If you do not have another PC - do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply
    Note: you will see entries named Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface: we dont need to see that information - JUST the information above those entries

    For Windows 8
    To open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop.
    http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tutorials/open-an-elevated-command-prompt-in-windows-8/
    Use Win + X and choose Command Prompt or Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.​

    For windows version, XP, Vista, W7
    Hold the Windows key and press R

    Now type CMD

    Now press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):​

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will now be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy

    Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
    The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. lawolfe

    lawolfe Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    Messages:
    15
    Thanks so much for your help and clear instructions. Here you are:

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : CompuCub
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Wireless LAN adapter Local Area Connection* 5:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Wi-Fi Direct Virtual Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 1A-94-23-7E-7E-7F
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Local Area Connection* 4:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Hosted Network Virtual Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 5A-94-23-7E-7E-7F
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Wi-Fi:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Qualcomm Atheros AR5BMD222 Wireless Network Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 68-94-23-7E-7E-7F
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2606:6000:618b:9900:6a94:23ff:fe7e:7e7f(Preferred)
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, February 4, 2015 14:26:48
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, February 4, 2015 14:32:17
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2606:6000:618b:9900:f411:c86f:59ba:1161(Preferred)
    Temporary IPv6 Address. . . . . . : 2606:6000:618b:9900:9d46:4279:d748:5ab2(Preferred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::f411:c86f:59ba:1161%7(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.21(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, February 4, 2015 14:26:47
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, February 5, 2015 14:26:52
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : fe80::eafc:afff:fea1:14a9%7
    192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 124294179
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-1A-1F-2E-E3-68-94-23-7E-7E-7F
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 209.18.47.61
    209.18.47.62
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Bluetooth Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Bluetooth Device (Personal Area Network)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 68-94-23-7E-7E-80
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{2B14DF40-7EAF-4F2C-B289-1B3AC39E7919}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 3:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:5ef5:79fd:24b0:3f42:9751:86c1(Preferred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::24b0:3f42:9751:86c1%5(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 150994944
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-1A-1F-2E-E3-68-94-23-7E-7E-7F
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,371
    First Name:
    Wayne
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Ping Tests
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    If you do not have another PC - do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply

    For Windows 8
    To open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop. Use Win + X and choose Command Prompt or Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.​

    For windows version, XP, Vista, W7
    Hold the Windows key and press R

    Now type CMD

    then press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ): ​

    In the command prompt window that opens

    Type the following command
    Ping 192.168.0.1
    Post back the results in a reply here
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping google.com
    Post back the results in a reply here
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping 98.139.183.24
    Post back the results in a reply here
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste



    if you see on the results a
    "general Failure"
    This sometimes means a firewall issue
    What firewall / security suite or anti-virus do you currently have on the PC - or you have ever had on the PC in the past - any trial ware - like Norton, kaspersky or Mcafee or any free security suites like zonealarm, AVG , Webroot etc


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  5. lawolfe

    lawolfe Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    Messages:
    15
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.3.9600]
    (c) 2013 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\WINDOWS\system32>ping 192.168.0.1

    Pinging 192.168.0.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=4ms TTL=64

    Ping statistics for 192.168.0.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 1ms, Maximum = 4ms, Average = 1ms

    C:\WINDOWS\system32>ping google.com

    Pinging google.com [74.125.224.129] with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 74.125.224.129: bytes=32 time=10ms TTL=53
    Reply from 74.125.224.129: bytes=32 time=11ms TTL=53
    Reply from 74.125.224.129: bytes=32 time=10ms TTL=53
    Reply from 74.125.224.129: bytes=32 time=12ms TTL=53

    Ping statistics for 74.125.224.129:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 10ms, Maximum = 12ms, Average = 10ms

    C:\WINDOWS\system32>ping 98.139.183.24

    Pinging 98.139.183.24 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 98.139.183.24: bytes=32 time=92ms TTL=45
    Reply from 98.139.183.24: bytes=32 time=94ms TTL=45
    Reply from 98.139.183.24: bytes=32 time=94ms TTL=45
    Reply from 98.139.183.24: bytes=32 time=91ms TTL=45

    Ping statistics for 98.139.183.24:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 91ms, Maximum = 94ms, Average = 92ms

    C:\WINDOWS\system32>

    ----------------------
    I currently use Avast free version. I've not changed any settings recently. When I first got the laptop, it may have come with a trial antivirus, I don't remember too well. Either way, I never activated it. I know it's not good to have two installed so I usually uninstall those. I've used Avast as long as I've owned the laptop (I got it in 2013).
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,371
    First Name:
    Wayne
    Those results show that you are on-line

    its possible a security suite may be blocking

    lets assume it maybe norton or mcafee - no harm in running the removal tools
    also try a tcp/ip reset


    --------------------------------------------------------------

    Mcafee Removal Tool
    I would recommend that you restart the PC and run the removal tool for a second time or even a third time - I have found instances where the removal tool needs to be run twice to fully remove all traces of Mcafee from the PC

    http://service.mcafee.com/FAQDocument.aspx?id=TS101331

    --------------------------------------------------------------

    Norton Removal Tool
    I would recommend that you restart the PC and run the removal tool for a second time or even a third time - I have found instances where the removal tool needs to be run twice to fully remove all traces of norton and symantec from the PC

    https://www-secure.symantec.com/nor...t=Norton Core&pvid=f-core-cur&version=current
    https://support.norton.com/sp/en/us...&ispid=&pvid=f-core-cur&q=Norton+Removal+Tool

    All Versions - The Norton Removal Tool uninstalls all Norton 2010/2009/2008/2007/2006/2005/2004/2003 products, Norton 360 and Norton SystemWorks 12.0 from your computer.
    http://majorgeeks.com/Norton_Removal_Tool_SymNRT_d4749.html

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista - Windows 7 - Windows 8 and Windows 10

    For Windows Vista through to Windows 10
    Start> Programs> Accessories> and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on the screen ):​

    For Windows 8
    To open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop. Use Win + X and choose Command Prompt or Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.​

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following commands:

    Note: Type only the text in bold and red for the following commands.

    • Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog and press enter
    • Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log and press enter
    • Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log and press enter
    ReStart (reboot) the machine.

    If you receive the message
    The requested operation requires elevation.
    Then please open the command prompt as administrator - as requested above
    Start> Programs> Accessories> and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):
    Please note and post back - if you receive the following message :-
    Access is Denied
    This often occurs with windows 8

    please post back the results in a reply here - its important we know that these commands have worked correctly and not produced any errors
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Details also here
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/299357
    also the link has a Microsoft Fix it , which will do the above for you

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  7. lawolfe

    lawolfe Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    Messages:
    15
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.3.9600]
    (c) 2013 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\WINDOWS\system32>netsh winsock reset catalog

    Sucessfully reset the Winsock Catalog.
    You must restart the computer in order to complete the reset.


    C:\WINDOWS\system32>netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log
    Resetting Global, OK!
    Resetting Interface, OK!
    Resetting Neighbor, OK!
    Resetting Path, OK!
    Resetting , failed.
    Access is denied.

    Resetting , OK!
    Restart the computer to complete this action.


    C:\WINDOWS\system32>netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log
    Resetting Interface, OK!
    Resetting Neighbor, OK!
    Resetting Path, OK!
    Resetting , failed.
    Access is denied.

    Resetting , OK!
    Resetting , OK!
    Restart the computer to complete this action.


    C:\WINDOWS\system32>

    ---------------------

    My internet is working again after these steps. Thank you so much!
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,371
    First Name:
    Wayne
    your welcome,
    did you run the removal tools - or just the TCP/IP reset - just interested

    you can also mark the post solved
    You can mark your own threads solved using the [​IMG] button at the top of the page of the thread in the upper left corner. :)
     
  9. lawolfe

    lawolfe Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    Messages:
    15
    I ran the Norton removal tool but not Macafee because I don't have an account to sign into.
     
  10. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,371
    First Name:
    Wayne
    Thanks for taking the time to reply
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1142478

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice