1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: internet connected but browser doesnt work?

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by clutzyinnocence, Mar 6, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. clutzyinnocence

    clutzyinnocence Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Ok so around the 20th, my laptop that runs on vista started this problem.
    then the next week, my desktop that runs on XP started to go on the fritz. I know it's not my internet on the laptop because i can access the internet through MSN. and I have another laptop and it works fine, no problems with it. but on my desktop, not even MSN works.
    I've tried the ip renew stuff and all like netsh int......

    can anyone help me???
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,592
    What does "around the 20" mean, please?

    Describe your network and your problem(s).
     
  3. clutzyinnocence

    clutzyinnocence Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    around feb. 20th

    laptop:
    browser doesn't work. msn does. no error messages. nothing out of the ordinary that popped up. network?? whats that?
    vista. rollback didnt have an effect. netsh...done

    desktop:
    browser doesnt work. msn doesnt work. no error messages. netsh...done. wins xp

    is there anything else i need?

    edit1: rogers service provider.
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,592
    The devices you have, such as the brand and model of modem and router. How things are connected; e.g., PC1 by ethernet, PC2 wireless, etc.

    Since your "browser doesn't work" it would be good to tell us what browser(s) and exactly what "doesn't work" means.

    Please also show for the laptop and desktop ...

    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
    (For Vista type CMD in the Search box after Start)

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    [Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
     
  5. clutzyinnocence

    clutzyinnocence Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    this is the desktop that is running on windows xp, the browser cannot "find the server" msn troubleshoot "proxy" all my computers are connected to a router wireless and cable also which connects to the modem. the desktop runs on cable, i have switched the cables before and it didn't seem to do much help. it is connected the network says that i am connected to Local area network 100.0 mb/s...i think but for sure it is connected to the router.

    router: SMC barricade : SMC7004AWBR
    modem: Scientific Atlanta: DPC2100R2


    Microsoft(R) Windows DOS
    (C)Copyright Microsoft Corp 1990-2001.

    C:\DOCUME~1\COMPAQ~1>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : COMPAQ
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : WorkGroup

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : WorkGroup
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Eth
    ernet NIC
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-16-17-2E-58-6D
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.17
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::216:17ff:fe2e:586d%4
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : March 6, 2009 1:52:25 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : January 18, 2038 10:14:07 PM

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : FF-FF-FF-FF-FF-FF-FF-FF
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::ffff:ffff:fffd%5
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    Tunnel adapter Automatic Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : WorkGroup
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Automatic Tunneling Pseudo-Interface

    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : C0-A8-02-11
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::5efe:192.168.2.17%2
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    C:\DOCUME~1\COMPAQ~1>


    This is the computer that runs on vista and the browser "cannot find the server" but the msn works like a charm. it connects to the internet through i think bluetooth? this laptop is an hp tablet.

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6000]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Windows\system32>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : JenniferLing-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : WorkGroup

    Ethernet adapter Bluetooth Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Bluetooth Device (Personal Area Network)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1A-6B-87-0A-2E
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : WorkGroup
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 4321AG 802.11a/b/g/draft-n Wi-Fi
    Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1A-73-6E-49-C5
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::ed2e:4e49:fd2b:db75%9(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.16(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : March-06-09 8:55:35 AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : April-12-45 8:36:09 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 151001715
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : WorkGroup
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1B-24-F6-39-9C
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{C295C1CD-C6C3-4DB0-8C63-C0ADE983D
    FF5}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 10:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : WorkGroup
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.WorkGroup
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::5efe:192.168.2.16%13(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e50:2c46:b29:9c11:6487(Prefe
    rred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::2c46:b29:9c11:6487%12(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    C:\Windows\system32>

    is there anything else that is needed? thanks for taking time to help me =)

    the browsers that i use are IE7 and firefox. I have tried netscape too but they all give methe same message.
     
  6. huggie54

    huggie54

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,631
    on your vista laptop go to control panel>user accounts and turn off User account control worked on mine.
     
  7. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,592
    On the XP get rid of ipv6 with this:

    Start - Run - ipv6 uninstall - OK

    Then run the following repairs on the respective computers. If browsers still have a problem consider the possibility that you have a non-Windows firewall blocking them.

    (From a JohnWill post)

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2 or SP3.

    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ip reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.


    (From a JohnWill post)

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista.

    Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.
     
  8. clutzyinnocence

    clutzyinnocence Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    for the vista, when i did the reset ipv4, its gave me a "echo request denied", but interface was done and after rebooting it, the browsers are still "page load error" i havent had the time to get to my xp but i will get back to you

    thanks =)

    edit 1: in firefox, it says failed to connect
    firefox can't establish a connection to the server at google.com
    though the site seems valid, the browser was unable to establish a connection

    edit 2: on the xp, i uninstalled the ipv6 but it still doesnt work and in the msn troubleshooter, it says that there are problems with the proxy and the key ports....(what's a proxy?)
     
  9. clutzyinnocence

    clutzyinnocence Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    hey i just wanted to tell you that my desktop work now!!!! thanks =D
     
  10. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,592
    And the Vista still has a problem?
     
  11. clutzyinnocence

    clutzyinnocence Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    yes the vista still has problems and i don't know why but the xp just lapsed back into it too but it might be that i have a personal firewall from norton or sysmatic(?)
     
  12. clutzyinnocence

    clutzyinnocence Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    hiiiiiii i just wanted to tell you that the vista works and all that was wrong were the anti-virus programs so i uninstalled a bunch of the anti-viruses and after symatic was uninstalled, it worked and now its my desktop that doesn't work...=D
     
  13. clutzyinnocence

    clutzyinnocence Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    and now my desktop is working because i disabled the personal firewall in norton thanks =D
     
  14. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,592
    You're welcome. :) If you want to use the Norton firewall you can try reconfiguring it. If that doesn't work uninstall it (search for and use their Norton Removal Tool), and then reinstall and configure it.
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/806874