1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

[SOLVED] internet connection causes crash

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by trabi11, Dec 20, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. trabi11

    trabi11 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2001
    Messages:
    7
    I'm a rookie with computers and I don't know where to start with this. I have an older Dell latitude and whenever I am connected to the internet, different applications stop responding until eventually windows explorer stops responding and I have to reboot. the strange thing is that the computer runs fine when it is not connected to the LAN. I can normally surf for a few minutes and then things start crashing. any suggestions?
     
  2. SavvyLady

    SavvyLady

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    2,218
  3. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Since you say everything works fine unless you are connected to the LAN, I'm thinking there may be a conflict with the LAN card and another device.

    Would you post your IRQ listing?

    Start button, run, then type msinfo32 and hit ok...go to hardware, IRQs, edit, select all, edit, copy, and come back and paste.
     
  4. trabi11

    trabi11 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2001
    Messages:
    7
    IRQ 0 System timer OK
    IRQ 1 Standard 101/102-Key or Microsoft Natural Keyboard OK
    IRQ 2 System board extension for ACPI BIOS OK
    IRQ 3 Psion Dacom Gold Card Global 56K+Fax (V.90) OK
    IRQ 4 Communications Port (COM1) OK
    IRQ 5 NeoMagic MagicMedia 256AV Audio Driver (WDM) OK
    IRQ 5 ACPI IRQ Holder for PCI IRQ Steering OK
    IRQ 6 Standard Floppy Disk Controller OK
    IRQ 7 ECP Printer Port (LPT1) OK
    IRQ 8 System CMOS/real time clock OK
    IRQ 9 SCI IRQ used by ACPI bus OK
    IRQ 10 3Com 3C920 Integrated Fast Ethernet Controller (3C905C-TX Compatible) OK
    IRQ 10 ACPI IRQ Holder for PCI IRQ Steering OK
    IRQ 11 NeoMagic MagicMedia256AV OK
    IRQ 11 Texas Instruments PCI-1225 CardBus Controller OK
    IRQ 11 Texas Instruments PCI-1225 CardBus Controller OK
    IRQ 11 Intel 82371AB/EB PCI to USB Universal Host Controller OK
    IRQ 11 ACPI IRQ Holder for PCI IRQ Steering OK
    IRQ 11 ACPI IRQ Holder for PCI IRQ Steering OK
    IRQ 12 PS/2 Compatible Mouse Port OK
    IRQ 13 Numeric data processor OK
    IRQ 14 Intel 82371AB/EB PCI Bus Master IDE Controller OK
    IRQ 14 Primary IDE controller (dual fifo) OK
    IRQ 15 Intel 82371AB/EB PCI Bus Master IDE Controller OK
    IRQ 15 Secondary IDE controller (dual fifo) OK

    also worthy of note: I had normal internet access w/ no problems for about two months, then this last month or so I've been having the problems
     
  5. beach51

    beach51

    Joined:
    May 18, 2001
    Messages:
    1,199
    Hi trabi11,might also help to list your startup programs.Go to Start>Run>type in msinfo32>click ok>click on the + sign next to software environment>click startup programs>click edit>select all>click edit,copy and paste the page back here.
     
  6. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Hmmm, I think the problem is here with your video card and the PCMCIA card on the same IRQ.....I'm doing some research right now.....

    Are you using the com port on IRQ 4 for anything?
     
  7. trabi11

    trabi11 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2001
    Messages:
    7
    *StateMgr c:\windows\system\restore\statemgr.exe All Users HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices
    CSINJECT.EXE c:\program files\norton systemworks\norton cleansweep\csinject.exe All Users HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices
    ICSMGR icsmgr.exe All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
    LoadPowerProfile rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,loadcurrentpwrscheme All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
    LoadPowerProfile rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,loadcurrentpwrscheme All Users HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices
    LoadQM loadqm.exe All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
    Machine Debug Manager c:\windows\system\mdm.exe All Users HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices
    Microsoft Works Update Detection c:\program files\microsoft works\wkdetect.exe .DEFAULT HKU\.DEFAULT\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
    Norton Auto-Protect c:\progra~1\norton~1\norton~2\navapw32.exe /loadquiet All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
    Norton eMail Protect c:\program files\norton systemworks\norton antivirus\poproxy.exe All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
    NPROTECT c:\program files\norton systemworks\norton utilities\nprotect.exe All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
    NPROTECT c:\program files\norton systemworks\norton utilities\nprotect.exe All Users HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices
    PCHealth c:\windows\pchealth\support\pchschd.exe -s All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
    ScanRegistry c:\windows\scanregw.exe /autorun All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
    SchedulingAgent mstask.exe All Users HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices
    SSDPSRV c:\windows\system\ssdpsrv.exe All Users HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices
    SymTray - Norton SystemWorks c:\program files\common files\symantec shared\symtray.exe "norton systemworks" All Users HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices
    SystemTray systray.exe All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
    TaskMonitor c:\windows\taskmon.exe All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

    I don't know exactly how to find out if i'm using irq 4 for anything; how do I find that out?
     
  8. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    Hi,

    Allow me to advise you on these startup programs. You've got a couple of things running that are better disabled:

    Go to Start/Run, and type Msconfig.
    Go to the startup tab, and uncheck EVERYTHING, except the following items:

    StateMgr
    ICSMGR
    LoadPowerProfile (2x)
    on\RunServices
    Norton Auto-Protect
    Norton eMail Protect
    PCHealth
    ScanRegistry
    SchedulingAgent
    SymTray -
    SystemTray


    Click OK, close Msconfig, and reboot.

    Good luck,
     
  9. trabi11

    trabi11 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2001
    Messages:
    7
    I believe the problem is fixed, thank you so much for your help everyone.
     
  10. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Did disabling your startup items appear to solve the problem?
     
  11. trabi11

    trabi11 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2001
    Messages:
    7
    I believe so. I have another quick question though, I just tried to change my background to a wallpaper that requires my "active desktop" to be enabled and the recovery warning screen came up right away and the window stopped responding. what would have caused that because that was actually my initial problem two months ago.
     
  12. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Did you enable active desktop?
     
  13. trabi11

    trabi11 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2001
    Messages:
    7
  14. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    I don't think that would have anything to do with your internet connection, but if you continue to have problems with the wallpaper, open a new thread under windows.......you'll get better assistance as I don't believe that would be a hardware issue or if it ends up being hardware related, more than likely it'll be video/display adapter related........have a great day! :)
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/62374

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice