[SOLVED] internet connection causes crash

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

trabi11

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 20, 2001
Messages
7
I'm a rookie with computers and I don't know where to start with this. I have an older Dell latitude and whenever I am connected to the internet, different applications stop responding until eventually windows explorer stops responding and I have to reboot. the strange thing is that the computer runs fine when it is not connected to the LAN. I can normally surf for a few minutes and then things start crashing. any suggestions?
 
Joined
Oct 14, 2001
Messages
2,218

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Since you say everything works fine unless you are connected to the LAN, I'm thinking there may be a conflict with the LAN card and another device.

Would you post your IRQ listing?

Start button, run, then type msinfo32 and hit ok...go to hardware, IRQs, edit, select all, edit, copy, and come back and paste.
 

trabi11

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 20, 2001
Messages
7
IRQ 0 System timer OK
IRQ 1 Standard 101/102-Key or Microsoft Natural Keyboard OK
IRQ 2 System board extension for ACPI BIOS OK
IRQ 3 Psion Dacom Gold Card Global 56K+Fax (V.90) OK
IRQ 4 Communications Port (COM1) OK
IRQ 5 NeoMagic MagicMedia 256AV Audio Driver (WDM) OK
IRQ 5 ACPI IRQ Holder for PCI IRQ Steering OK
IRQ 6 Standard Floppy Disk Controller OK
IRQ 7 ECP Printer Port (LPT1) OK
IRQ 8 System CMOS/real time clock OK
IRQ 9 SCI IRQ used by ACPI bus OK
IRQ 10 3Com 3C920 Integrated Fast Ethernet Controller (3C905C-TX Compatible) OK
IRQ 10 ACPI IRQ Holder for PCI IRQ Steering OK
IRQ 11 NeoMagic MagicMedia256AV OK
IRQ 11 Texas Instruments PCI-1225 CardBus Controller OK
IRQ 11 Texas Instruments PCI-1225 CardBus Controller OK
IRQ 11 Intel 82371AB/EB PCI to USB Universal Host Controller OK
IRQ 11 ACPI IRQ Holder for PCI IRQ Steering OK
IRQ 11 ACPI IRQ Holder for PCI IRQ Steering OK
IRQ 12 PS/2 Compatible Mouse Port OK
IRQ 13 Numeric data processor OK
IRQ 14 Intel 82371AB/EB PCI Bus Master IDE Controller OK
IRQ 14 Primary IDE controller (dual fifo) OK
IRQ 15 Intel 82371AB/EB PCI Bus Master IDE Controller OK
IRQ 15 Secondary IDE controller (dual fifo) OK

also worthy of note: I had normal internet access w/ no problems for about two months, then this last month or so I've been having the problems
 
Joined
May 18, 2001
Messages
1,199
Hi trabi11,might also help to list your startup programs.Go to Start>Run>type in msinfo32>click ok>click on the + sign next to software environment>click startup programs>click edit>select all>click edit,copy and paste the page back here.
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Hmmm, I think the problem is here with your video card and the PCMCIA card on the same IRQ.....I'm doing some research right now.....

Are you using the com port on IRQ 4 for anything?
 

trabi11

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 20, 2001
Messages
7
*StateMgr c:\windows\system\restore\statemgr.exe All Users HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices
CSINJECT.EXE c:\program files\norton systemworks\norton cleansweep\csinject.exe All Users HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices
ICSMGR icsmgr.exe All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
LoadPowerProfile rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,loadcurrentpwrscheme All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
LoadPowerProfile rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,loadcurrentpwrscheme All Users HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices
LoadQM loadqm.exe All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
Machine Debug Manager c:\windows\system\mdm.exe All Users HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices
Microsoft Works Update Detection c:\program files\microsoft works\wkdetect.exe .DEFAULT HKU\.DEFAULT\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
Norton Auto-Protect c:\progra~1\norton~1\norton~2\navapw32.exe /loadquiet All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
Norton eMail Protect c:\program files\norton systemworks\norton antivirus\poproxy.exe All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
NPROTECT c:\program files\norton systemworks\norton utilities\nprotect.exe All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
NPROTECT c:\program files\norton systemworks\norton utilities\nprotect.exe All Users HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices
PCHealth c:\windows\pchealth\support\pchschd.exe -s All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
ScanRegistry c:\windows\scanregw.exe /autorun All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
SchedulingAgent mstask.exe All Users HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices
SSDPSRV c:\windows\system\ssdpsrv.exe All Users HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices
SymTray - Norton SystemWorks c:\program files\common files\symantec shared\symtray.exe "norton systemworks" All Users HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices
SystemTray systray.exe All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
TaskMonitor c:\windows\taskmon.exe All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

I don't know exactly how to find out if i'm using irq 4 for anything; how do I find that out?
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
Hi,

Allow me to advise you on these startup programs. You've got a couple of things running that are better disabled:

Go to Start/Run, and type Msconfig.
Go to the startup tab, and uncheck EVERYTHING, except the following items:

StateMgr
ICSMGR
LoadPowerProfile (2x)
on\RunServices
Norton Auto-Protect
Norton eMail Protect
PCHealth
ScanRegistry
SchedulingAgent
SymTray -
SystemTray


Click OK, close Msconfig, and reboot.

Good luck,
 

trabi11

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 20, 2001
Messages
7
I believe the problem is fixed, thank you so much for your help everyone.
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Did disabling your startup items appear to solve the problem?
 

trabi11

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 20, 2001
Messages
7
I believe so. I have another quick question though, I just tried to change my background to a wallpaper that requires my "active desktop" to be enabled and the recovery warning screen came up right away and the window stopped responding. what would have caused that because that was actually my initial problem two months ago.
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
I don't think that would have anything to do with your internet connection, but if you continue to have problems with the wallpaper, open a new thread under windows.......you'll get better assistance as I don't believe that would be a hardware issue or if it ends up being hardware related, more than likely it'll be video/display adapter related........have a great day! :)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top