1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Internet Connection Frequently Disconnects

Discussion in 'Networking' started by kungfuturtle, Jul 21, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kungfuturtle

kungfuturtle Thread Starter

Hi I have a Belkin G+ MIMO Router F5D9230-4 connected to a Linksys AM200. Was suppose to buy a G+ MIMO with built in modem... :( My ISP is TalkTalk Broadband 8Meg. The router connects 4 PCs on 1 network. Basically everyone loses connection frequently and they are starting to get annoyed All the PCs do not uses static IP addresses :( Im not very good at setting up routers and modems correctly and would like some help. These are the reasosn I believe im gettign disconnected frequently:

1) Power Supply - Original power supply will not work.. worked once then all lights went off. Using a Multi-Volt adaptor. on the Belkin router output reads 12V 0.5A. The multi-volt adaptor is selected at 15V which is the minimum and says this is 4.5A max is this incorrect and can it cause the dilemma im having. All the lights are on and blink/stay solid as they should.

2) Mixed Cards - Although the router is MIMO 1 computer has a G+ card 2 computers have a G card and the other computer uses an ethernet cable. The ethernet card is built in and is 10/100Mbps. Am thinking of upgrading so all are G+ and the same cards. Have been told its bad to mix cards.

3) Bad Setup - I currently have the router set at PPPoE and same with the modem. However I have other setups and am not sure I have the correct one. Isn't bridge mode what I need? The router's setups are Dynamic, Static, PPPoE, PPTP and Telstra BigPond. The modem's setups are PPPoE, PPPoE, Bridged Mode, Half Bridge. Not sure which one to use and how to configure correctly.