1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Internet Connection not steady

Discussion in 'Networking' started by chefdimo, Dec 22, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. chefdimo

    chefdimo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Messages:
    164
    Hi.

    I have a wireless linksys router BEFW11S4 supporting a laptop and a pc. I have noticed that recently U lose connection once every 2-3 munites. For instance my yahoo messenger keeps on getting logged out/in. When I take out the router and directly connect to the cable modem, this problem no longer exists.

    Any ideas? I have updated the firmware. oh and the wierd thing is that I have vonage and vonage gave a linksys router (RT31P2) and even when I only use that router, the same problem exists. I contacted vonage, they are going to replace my router. But it is just wierd that I have the same problem with my other linksys router too.

    So If I have either router or both connected, I lose connections periodically.

    Do I have two defected linksys routers? or ....

    thnx
     
  2. SiLvER_BuLLet

    SiLvER_BuLLet

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    31
    Are you only losing yahoo instant messenger? When yahoo disconnects can you still open internet explorer and see a webpage?
     
  3. chefdimo

    chefdimo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Messages:
    164
    I lose connection on everything, including IE and yahoo messenger.
     
  4. SiLvER_BuLLet

    SiLvER_BuLLet

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    31
    anything weird happening with the lights on the router?
     
  5. chefdimo

    chefdimo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Messages:
    164
    I don't think so. The Ethernet and Internet lights blink very fast (which always have been like this) and power is steady on. Is tha tnormal?
     
  6. SiLvER_BuLLet

    SiLvER_BuLLet

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    31
    You mean the WAN link light right? I dont think that model actually has a light that says internet does it? Are you connecting through wireless?
     
  7. chefdimo

    chefdimo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Messages:
    164
    ok, I don't know what you mean by WAN light. Both routers have Power, Internet and Ethernet lights. The wireless (non-vonage) router, has the Ethernet lights (the ones that connects the router to my computers) blink fast, and then stay steady. It goes through this fast cycle of fast blinking and steady light constantly.

    as for the vonage router, it has both the Intenet light (connecting router to the cable modem) and the Enthernet light (connecting router to computers) blink fast all the time.

    Does that asnwer your question?

    thnx
     
  8. SiLvER_BuLLet

    SiLvER_BuLLet

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    31
    Are you wired to the router? or are you connecting through wireless?
     
  9. chefdimo

    chefdimo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Messages:
    164
    now wired. but this happens when I use wireless also.
     
  10. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,558
    Good chance that it is wireless interference; e.g., from 2.4Ghz cordless phone or another wireless network on the same or close channel.

    If you have the cordless you can unplug the base station and remove the handset's battery to test. Another way to test is to disable the router's wireless and see if the disconnects go away.

    Sometimes changing the channel resolves the issue.
     
  11. chefdimo

    chefdimo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Messages:
    164
    well, terry,

    as I said, the problem exists, whether I am using wireless router, or the other one that is not wireless.
     
  12. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,558
    Sorry, you hadn't said, and I assumed that the other router was wireless.

    Try cloning your computer's MAC address to one of the routers.

    Some people have problems with the MTU value. You might consider the following.

    On your router there should be an option for mtu. use this formula.

    To find the proper MTU Size, you'll have to do a special ping of the
    destination you're trying to go to. A destination could be another
    computer, or a URL.


    1. Click on the Start button, then select the Run option.

    2. In the "Open" field type in command (If you're using Windows
    2K/NT/XP use CMD instead)

    3. Once the window opens, you'll need to do a special ping. It
    should be formatted:

    ping [-f] [-l] [MTU value] [Enter] an e... MTU settings on the router. Or on the modem.
     
  13. chefdimo

    chefdimo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Messages:
    164
    Terry,

    thnx for the reply.

    I found mtu in my router (wireless) and it was disabled. I enabled it and followed your formula. I got results back just at 1472. So I set the max myu to 1500.

    I am going to use the router today. I will let you know the results.

    Thnx
     
  14. chefdimo

    chefdimo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Messages:
    164
    Ok,

    I did try and I still lost connection few times a day, not as much as before. I asked vonage to send me a new router (not wireless). I am using it and the problem is resolved.

    thnx guys
     
  15. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    You can mark your own threads solved using the thread tools at the upper right of the screen.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/528698