Solved: Internet connection problems on a single computer

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

tkdchick218

This is my first time asking for help with network problems online, so bear with me.

We've (we=family) been having internet connection problems with one of our computers. The computer with the problem happens to be our desktop, the only computer in the network that is using a LAN connection. All laptops/iPods/TVs/etc. connected to the wifi network are working properly.

The connection problems have been steadily getting worse over the last few months. The first problem was with an online classroom. Although the computer appeared to have no other connection issues, I would be disconnected from the classroom server several times throughout the class. It was as if there was a short break in the internet connection every 10 minutes or so. Eventually, we noticed that links wouldn't always work the first time we clicked on them, and this began happening more often. Now, we're lucky if we can get a page to open on the first try. It often takes multiple attempts to get a page to load.

As further proof of a connection problem, YouTube videos only buffer about 5 seconds. After the 5 seconds of video have played, we have to click beyond what has buffered in order for the video to reload and buffer another 5 seconds. The same problem happens with downloads. After about 5 seconds of downloading, the downloaded amount stops increasing, and the estimated time remaining begins quickly increasing. In order to get a file to download, I have to click the download link, wait until the file stops downloading, cancel the download, click the download link again (the download picks up where it left off in Google Chrome), allow it to download for another 5 seconds, and repeat the process until the file is completely downloaded.