Solved: internet connection problems

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

dale01

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 3, 2011
Messages
70
atm my computer (main) recieves internet from my new router (cisco linksys e3000) with the cable and wireless so no problems with mine reciving internet either way

hers da prob....
my bro tries to connect to my router but only recieves internet through the cable directly from the router
when he connects to the wireless connection with the password i set for it he only gets local only unidentified network (network name)

internet protocol v4 and v6 set to...
obtain an ip address automaticly
obtain a DNS server address automaticly

stats show his computer (windows vista (toshiba)) is sending the signals but not recieving any
tried turnin off then unplug router fer 10-15 sec then replug and turn bak on
also tried diagnosing the wireless connection multiple times still nothing

following is his ipconfig then the other is his ipconfig/all hope this helps

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : eastlink.ca
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2002:40b2:89d8:0:bc5c:a092:1714:f974
Temporary IPv6 Address. . . . . . : 2002:40b2:89d8:0:bd09:de9a:6595:1210
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::bc5c:a092:1714:f974%11
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.102
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : fe80::c2c1:c0ff:fe05:3c82%11
192.168.1.1

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : eastlink.ca

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 13:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : eastlink.ca

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 16:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

===========================================================
===========================================================


Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Tyler-PC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : eastlink.ca

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : eastlink.ca
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR5007EG Wireless Network Adapter

Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-21-63-1E-DE-87
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2002:40b2:89d8:0:bc5c:a092:1714:f974(Pref
erred)
Temporary IPv6 Address. . . . . . : 2002:40b2:89d8:0:bd09:de9a:6595:1210(Pref
erred)
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::bc5c:a092:1714:f974%11(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.102(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : January-04-11 10:08:31 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : January-05-11 10:11:47 PM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : fe80::c2c1:c0ff:fe05:3c82%11
192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 268444003
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-10-62-87-2D-00-1E-33-4C-44-8F

DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 64.178.142.10
24.207.0.167
192.168.1.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : eastlink.ca
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8102E Family PCI-E Fast Ethern
et NIC (NDIS 6.0)
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1E-33-4C-44-8F
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2002:40b2:89d8:0:65d3:9838:7a2b:a06e(Pref
erred)
Temporary IPv6 Address. . . . . . : 2002:40b2:89d8:0:c5bc:ffa:49da:b05d(Prefe
rred)
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::65d3:9838:7a2b:a06e%10(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.100(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : January-04-11 10:14:58 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : January-05-11 10:14:58 PM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : fe80::c2c1:c0ff:fe05:3c82%10
192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 167779891
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-10-62-87-2D-00-1E-33-4C-44-8F

DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 64.178.142.10
24.207.0.167
192.168.1.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{5C7AFE19-9ED7-47C1-B090-A573505F8
A95}
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 13:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : eastlink.ca
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.eastlink.ca
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 16:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 6TO4 Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

any ideas on what i should do/try to get the wireless from my router to work on his computer
if you need my ipconfig report also or ipconfig/all id be glad to get it
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
we are seeing issues with the Atheros AR5007EG Wireless Network Adapter

take the security off the router and see if it now connects

Does the PC have a firewall on the PC or ever had - Norton, McAfee - they can block like this

lets see

------------------------------------------------------------------------
{run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector} Download and install
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC

http://www.xirrus.com/library/wifitools.php
Direct link to the program is here http://www.xirrus.com/library/wifi_download_redirect.php
Then run and install the program
if you get an error - You need NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.

Run the program

post a screen shot of the program running - if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information, and also post which network "Adapter Name" (1st column) is yours on the list

To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

dale01

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 3, 2011
Messages
70
wow looks like u no wat ur talking about lol
thnx for the info ill give it a try once he gets home from work
 

dale01

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 3, 2011
Messages
70
o ya fergot 2 mention he does have norton and not 100% if his came with mcafee
mine came with mcaffee but i completly removed it from my computr while back
antivirus i use is avira suit version (2nd best avaliable from them) works very well from geting it from the internet :D
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
Norton could also easily be the issue here - often even when uninstalled it still causes issues and needs to have the norton removal tool used

On your PC did you use the McAfee removal tool - again same issue can block even when unistalled - BUT not as often reported here as norton,


Mcafee RemovalTool
http://service.mcafee.com/FAQDocument.aspx?id=TS100507
http://majorgeeks.com/McAfee_Consumer_Product_Removal_Tool_d5420.html

Norton Removal Tool
http://us.norton.com/support/kb/web_view.jsp?wv_type=public_web&docurl=20080710133834EN

And often reported here, after using the Norton removal tool the PC needs to be rebooted and then the tool run a 2nd time and PC rebooted
 

dale01

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 3, 2011
Messages
70
i used programs and features to remove mcafee
never new bout a special tool for removal
is there a tool to check if i still have it(or any traces) in my system?

my brothers aparently nevr came with mcafee but still has norton360 (but expired) still installed
there a special tool to remove it or can he just uninstall it?

he will try the above in a couple days since he is very busy working
 

dale01

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 3, 2011
Messages
70
lol nvm norton tool thing dnt see it in ur last post
ill get em to use that once he gets a chance
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
OK - we will be here waiting - also would like to see the screen shot
then try updating the wireless adapter driver
 

dale01

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 3, 2011
Messages
70
apparently my bro wont b home fer bout around a week so itl all have 2 w8 tll he gets back

ive recently used "registery mechanic" tool to clean my pc and repair programs

i also used both removal tools (norton and mcafee) on my computer so now i no they no longer exist :)

only antivirus program i have is avira(Avira Premium Security Suite) and i think windows defender(came with computer also)
would it b a good idea to use a removal tool to remove windows defender also since i have everything disabled on it anyways and it always "unable to update" every time i tried updating it
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
YES you may as well remove wimdows defender if you are not using it to protect the PC from spyware , i dont know how good Avira is on spyware and if you should be using defender as i'm not one of this forum spyware specialist - you could post a question in the security forum

Windows Defender is included with all versions of Windows Vista and is available to download for genuine copies of Windows XP Service Pack 2 or later, or Windows Server 2003 Service Pack 1 or later.
I use MSE
http://www.microsoft.com/security_essentials/
 

dale01

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 3, 2011
Messages
70
alright sounds good, ill look on google for the windows defender removal tool

avira(avira.com) is a downloadable antivirus apperently best u can get for free virus scans
but mines bout the best ive used/found
it picks up any virus/trogens etc auto even saved my computer couple years ago when i had a bad virus slowing down my computer drasticly and ocasionly opened random web pages
as soon as i done first scan it detectected it and asks me wat to do with it like overwrite and delete(which 1 i always use)
every time it detects any virus it tels me immidatly especially when i scan my computer

i was referd to try it by a computer repair place used it ever since
completely risk free to download avira and works great :D

try it urself if u like
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
yes, i know its good for virus, but as i'm no expert did not know about malware
 

dale01

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 3, 2011
Messages
70
alright well guess ill go get the removal tool for windows defender and w8 for bro to get back
so will see ya round when he gets back ;)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top