1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Internet connection via safe mode, but none in normal

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Jalariel, Mar 30, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Jalariel

    Jalariel Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Hi Guys,

    Though I'd ask for some advice as it seems I've been banging my head against a brick wall!

    To cut it short, I do not appear to have an internet connection when in live. When running a browser, either Firefox (since uninstalled) or IE8, the tab that's opened is always left hanging at "connecting".

    I also can't log onto online games.

    Here's the annoying part.

    I can ping yahoo/google,and according to my netwok connection,I am indeed hooked up.

    When going into safe mode with netwroking the internet works fine.

    I've uninstalled both thunderbird and firefox and still have these issues. I've run virus scans/spyware and malware checks and checked my (wired) pc is on the same IP server as the router, and can't think of any thing else to look at!

    Anyone got any ideas? I'm running Win 7Home Premium if that helps
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,988
    First Name:
    Wayne
    i will move to networking forum

    what firewall / security suite do you have or ever had on the PC - Norton. Mcafee etc

    check to see if a proxy is set
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Remove any proxy settings
    Check your browser's settings, remove or uncheck any proxy settings if found
    http://www.library.kent.edu/page/14299

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Now lets see the following in normal mode

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

    We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results in a reply here

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results to notepad and then automatically open notepad.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results to a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy
    Now go back to the forum - reply and then right click in the reply box and paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Ping Tests
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

    Start> Run {search bar in Vista}> CMD to open a DOS window and type:

    Type the following command
    Ping {plus the number thats shown against the default gateway shown in above ipconfig /all}
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping google.com
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping 209.183.226.152
    post back results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. Jalariel

    Jalariel Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    My thanks for the response!

    Proxy settings now look exactly like in the above link






    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.


    C:\Users\Amit>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Amit-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR8132 PCI-E Fast Ethernet Contro
    ller (NDIS 6.20)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 6C-62-6D-04-68-89
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::2c8d:436a:e20c:a60f%11(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.2(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 30 March 2011 22:59:22
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 02 April 2011 22:59:22
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 241984109
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-14-8F-A6-CB-6C-62-6D-04-68-89

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{E44B65D1-7806-4350-A953-3025409F9765}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:5ef5:79fd:482:c4:a53f:c5d5(Preferr
    ed)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::482:c4:a53f:c5d5%13(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled




    Ping Tests:

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.



    C:\Users\Amit>ping 209.183.226.152

    Pinging 209.183.226.152 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=97ms TTL=50
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=98ms TTL=50
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=99ms TTL=50
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=97ms TTL=50

    Ping statistics for 209.183.226.152:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 97ms, Maximum = 99ms, Average = 97ms

    C:\Users\Amit>



    C:\Users\Amit>ping 192.168.0.1

    Pinging 192.168.0.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64

    Ping statistics for 192.168.0.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

    C:\Users\Amit>



    C:\Users\Amit>ping google.com

    Pinging google.com [209.85.229.99] with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 209.85.229.99: bytes=32 time=32ms TTL=55
    Reply from 209.85.229.99: bytes=32 time=30ms TTL=55
    Reply from 209.85.229.99: bytes=32 time=32ms TTL=55
    Reply from 209.85.229.99: bytes=32 time=31ms TTL=55

    Ping statistics for 209.85.229.99:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 30ms, Maximum = 32ms, Average = 31ms

    C:\Users\Amit>









    Hopefully that sheds some light!

    Cheers
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,988
    First Name:
    Wayne
    Are those results in normal mode ?

    well you have a good connection there to google - so you have an internet connection

    did you have to change anything?

    can you answer the above question please what firewall / security suite do you have or ever had on the PC - Norton. Mcafee etc
     
  5. Jalariel

    Jalariel Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    I had to uncheck the "automatically detect settings" box

    I've got Norton installed, it's been on here for 6 months, but the problems only started a week ago

    My thanks again for looking at this
     
  6. Jalariel

    Jalariel Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    sorry,and yes,in normal mode
     
  7. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,988
    First Name:
    Wayne
    I have seen issues here last year on the forum, quite a few where norton was uninstalled by windows in 2007 and it still blocked - so if you are NOT using norton or paying a subscription, then you need to uninstall with the removal tool

    Norton Removal Tool
    http://us.norton.com/support/kb/web_view.jsp?wv_type=public_web&docurl=20080710133834EN

    You actually may need to run twice and reboot the PC each time
     
  8. Jalariel

    Jalariel Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    hmm, I'm a paying customer,and running a new version of windows (7). still worth uninstalling? (the issue here is that norton can only be installed on 3 pcs, mine being the third. if i uninstall it, then i can't reinstall it later!)


    I've closed down the firewall for a few mins to see if i still had an issue, but seemed to make no difference
     
  9. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,988
    First Name:
    Wayne
    you should be able to re-install on the Same PC - The license is to install on three different PCs not install three times

    whats the version of norton,

    heres the contact info - and they have online chat - http://us.norton.com/support/contact/contact.jsp?pvid=cs - so you could just start chat and ask for details how
     
  10. Jalariel

    Jalariel Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    no worries, i'll uninstall and come back to you!
     
  11. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,988
    First Name:
    Wayne
    make sure you have all the product key and subscription key if applicable
     
  12. Jalariel

    Jalariel Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    yeah,got the disks and codes in front of me. just rebooting after uninstall now
     
  13. Jalariel

    Jalariel Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    okay, back in. no norton, but windows security essentials turned itself back on....and i have full use of the web. Blame Norton ? :)
     
  14. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,988
    First Name:
    Wayne
    Yep, it may work OK if you re-install it - also look to see if you can add the full range of your network IPs 192.168.0.1 to 192.168.0.254

    or
    you can use alternatives - like MSE , avast, etc
    the fire wall is reported as OK on windows 7
     
  15. Jalariel

    Jalariel Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    I'll try a resintall. I'll mark this as solved for now.

    My thanks for your help!
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/988900

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice