1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Internet disconnects

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Siouxzq, Dec 29, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Siouxzq

Siouxzq Thread Starter

My main desktop is Win XP Pro SP3 with a Linksys router. Through the router, my husband connects with his desktop, and I connect with my laptop. However, my main desktop just loses the internet connection spontaneously.

I have replaced the Ethernet cable with no luck. Sometimes if I switch out the ends of the cable, the internet connection will stay on for a few minutes and then disappear; however, I can still connect through my laptop, and my husband can connect through his desktop without problems.

I have limited knowledge of how routers, etc., work, but it seems to me that if it was a router problem the two peripheral computers would not connect. My Ethernet card is affixed to my motherboard, and I have thought about just putting in a new Ethernet card; but without knowing what the problem might be, I don't want to do that without some help first.

Any help you can give me would be much appreciated. Thank you in advance.

2. warrior19

warrior19

Can you tell us the make/model of router?

And if possible please post back in this forum a reply with the results of the following:

From Start [COLOR=#05408F ! important][COLOR=#05408F ! important]menu [COLOR=#05408F ! important]choose[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR][​IMG]
    Run and type command and hit enter...
    Then type the ipconfig /all command.

Have you tried your cable in all the available ports of the router? Have you swapped you cable for husbands one or laptop?

To see if problem follows the port on the router or the cable?