1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Internet doesn't work after spyware removals!

Discussion in 'Networking' started by kelphoy, Jul 9, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. kelphoy

    kelphoy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Hi,
    I'm trying to reconnect my computer to the internet which stopped working after i ran spyware.
    IT seems to of stuffed up the tcp/ip stuff.
    I tried the netsh ip interface reset cmds.
    when i try to repair my connection it says unable to renew ip address.
    It also says i'm running on no or limited connection with the yellow triangle with exclamation mark.

    Then when i try to run ipconfig release i get the error something like pipe is closed unable to query ip interface table.
    I can see the router is there when i run the nesth ip diag router cmd. But i can't ping my router's ip address which should be 192.168.1.1
    The only ip i can find is 169.258.#.# which seems to be my computer.
    I'm running windows xp with sp2 my router is a V2600 which is connected by adsl broadband, just 1 computer.
    I've also tried resetting my router to factory default.
    Can someone help please, i'm very frustrated and just don't understand want i'm doing all need to do!

    Cheers
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,609
    First Name:
    Terry
    Does Device Manger show the ethernet adapter as 'working OK'?

    Does Network Connections show the ethernet (LAN) connection as enabled?

    Show us the following.

    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
     
  3. kelphoy

    kelphoy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Yes ethernet adapter is ok.
    Yes enabled but with limited or no connection yellow triangle box with exclamation mark.
    I'm on a work computer other computer is at home i will do that and have to show you tommorow.
    Is their anything else i can do get for you, or try?
    I did run the ipconfig /all cmd last night and i think i off the top of my head I got the following but can't be sure:
    dhcp enabled YES
    autoconfigeration enabled YES
    ip address 169.258.?.?
    subnet mask 255.255.0
    default gateway, dhcp server, dns server all blank
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2.

    For these commands, Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ip reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.
     
  5. kelphoy

    kelphoy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    I did the ipconfig last night and received the below error:

    Internal error occured the pipe is being closed.
    contact microsoft support.
    additional information: Unable to query tcpip interface table.

    I have already done the netsh int ip reset reset.log command before but haven't done the winsock reset command. i can try them both again tonight.
    Any other ideas?
    Thanks.
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Those are my first step, because trying to do other stuff without having the registry entries correct will be an exercise in futility. :)
     
  7. kelphoy

    kelphoy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Fair enough,
    I'll run those things tonight and get back to you.
    But will they have an effect on the ipconfig command and not give that error?
     
  8. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    They may, or there may be something else wrong. We need to take the steps in sequence.
     
  9. kelphoy

    kelphoy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Messages:
    14
  10. kelphoy

    kelphoy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    I ran the reset cmds and reset the PC. IPCONFIG still doesn't work same error as previously.
    What now.
     
  11. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Removing the spyware may have damaged more than the registry entries for the TCP/IP stack. You may need to consider a repair installation over the existing Windows installation.

    How to Perform a Windows XP Repair Install
     
  12. kelphoy

    kelphoy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    G'day again,
    I tried the windows repair which didn't solve this problem.
    I also tried ringing my internet provider who could not see my modem connected at all.
    He had no idea all suggestions except to get a new network card!

    Please tell me anything else i can do?
    Cheers,
     
  13. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    It would help if you posted the requested information. :rolleyes: I'll ask one more time.

    Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  14. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,609
    First Name:
    Terry
    From your post #5: "Internal error occured the pipe is being closed."

    Did you use a slash (/) or the vertical bar (|) in ipconfig /all? That is a slash before the 'all.'
     
  15. kelphoy

    kelphoy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Alright it worked this time for some stupid reason, heres what IPconfig said:

    Windows ip configuration

    Host name.................: LEIGH
    Primary DNS Suffix.....:
    Node Type.................: UNKNOWN
    IP Routing Enabled......: No
    WINS Proxy Enabled....: No

    Ethernet Adapter Local Area Connection 4:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix.:
    Desription..............................: VIA compatable Fast Ethernet Adapter
    #2
    Physical Address....................: 00-0D-61-42-0E-40
    Dhcp Enabled.........................:Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled.......:Yes
    Autoconfiguration IP Address...:169.254.25.41
    Subnet Mask..........................:255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway.....................:
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/593812

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice