1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

(Solved) Internet Error

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by MyName, Dec 5, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. MyName

    MyName Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    316
    Hey. After I am done on the internet, I close the screen and then I get an error (im on Win98 by the way). The error is:

    A runtime error has occurred
    Do you wish to debug?

    Line: 541
    Error: THe callee [server[not server application]] is not available and has disappeared; all connections are invalid. The call did not execute.

    Any solutions????
     
  2. jbcalg

    jbcalg

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2001
    Messages:
    2,056
    run the ad aware / spyware scan, sounds like something is connected you don't know about

    or if you're connected to a games server or something like that, check the settings to make sure it closes when you close the browser
     
  3. MyName

    MyName Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    316
    Ok, this might sound stupid, but what is spyware? Oh yeah, this was the same computer with the Nimda virus on it, that have anything to do with it??
     
  4. Davey7549

    Davey7549

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2001
    Messages:
    11,584
    MyName
    jbcalg is correct you probably have some Spyware script that is trying to phone home. If by chance you do not you can remove the runtime error messages through internet options\advanced.
    Just check "disable script debugging" and uncheck "display notification about every script error".
    Dave
     
  5. jbcalg

    jbcalg

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2001
    Messages:
    2,056
    if you cleaned nimda properly, shouldn't be a problem still

    spyware - go to the site i linked, they can describe it much better than i - you get a lot of it with some freeware software

    ...and there's no stupid or dumb questions, we're all learning :)
     
  6. MyName

    MyName Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    316
    Kazaa Media Desktop is installed on this computer. Ive heard that this contains Spyware. Do you think this is the problem? Also, I used the Ad-aware and it found 78 files!! But, I tried to remove them and it keeps saying that on 6 of them that Access is denied and to make sure the disk is not full or write-protected and the file is not currently in use, and also on the other four or so that the specific file is being used by Windows. How can I get rid of these, or should I just leave them??
     
  7. beach51

    beach51

    Joined:
    May 18, 2001
    Messages:
    1,199
    Hi myname,kazaa is loaded with spyware as you just found out.The ones that ad-aware won't remove what are they.Also might be a good idea to post your startup page back here.Go to Start>Run>type in msinfo32,click ok,click on the + sign next to software enviroment>click on startup programs>click on edit,select all>edit>copy and paste the page here.Kazaa has been known to install some real nasty spyware componets,namely newdotnet and webhancer.
     
  8. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,135
    Hiya

    kazaa is spyware. Uninstall it via AddRemove and see if you can remove the files. Also, there may be some other programs that you have that you didn't realise were spyware. Go to Run and type MSINFO32. On the left choose Software Enviroment, then Startup programs. Copy/paste the list here.

    Ah, beach, ya beat me :p

    Regards

    eddie
     
  9. MyName

    MyName Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    316
    Microsoft Office Startup Group "C:\Program Files\Microsoft
    Office\Office\OSA9.EXE" -b -l
    HP Printer Scanner Copier 300 StartUp Startup Group "C:\Program
    Files\HP
    Printer Scanner Copier\bin\HPOstr02.exe"
    load Win.ini c:\oplimit\ocraware.exe
    AIM Registry (Per-User Run) C:\PROGRAM FILES\AIM95\aim.exe
    -cnetwait.odl
    ScanRegistry Registry (Machine Run) C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
    SystemTray Registry (Machine Run) SysTray.Exe
    AudioHQ Registry (Machine Run) C:\Program
    Files\Creative\SBLive\AudioHQ\AHQTB.EXE
    Creative Launcher Registry (Machine Run) C:\Program
    Files\Creative\Launcher\CTLauncher.exe
    SaveNow Registry (Machine Run) C:\Program Files\SaveNow\SaveNow.exe
    New.net Startup Registry (Machine Run) rundll32
    C:\WINDOWS\NEWDOT~2.DLL,NewDotNetStartup
    TaskMonitor Registry (Machine Run) C:\WINDOWS\taskmon.exe
    LoadPowerProfile Registry (Machine Run) Rundll32.exe
    powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    NAV Agent Registry (Machine Run) C:\PROGRA~1\NORTON~1\NAVAPW32.EXE
    LoadPowerProfile Registry (Machine Service) Rundll32.exe
    powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    SchedulingAgent Registry (Machine Service) C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mstask.exe
    Machine Debug Manager Registry (Machine Service)
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MDM.EXE
    ScriptBlocking Registry (Machine Service) "C:\Program Files\Common
    Files\Symantec Shared\Script Blocking\SBServ.exe" -reg
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    sorry about the order and its not nice and neat for ya, im actually doing this for a friend, and she sent it to me in an email so. thanks guys, you're awesome!
     
  10. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,135
    Ah ha. Found you. You have new.net in there, as well as SaveNow.

    Okay, lets sort out new.net first.

    Have a look here: http://www.cexx.org/newnet.htm

    You need to remove the program via AddRemove before you use AddAware on it.

    The Add/Remove dialogue is available by clicking Start -> Settings -> Control Panel -> Add/Remove Programs. To remove the plug-in, select new.net from the list and click Add/Remove. Rebooting the computer will complete the removal

    Let us know how you get on with this part.

    eddie
     
  11. Davey7549

    Davey7549

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2001
    Messages:
    11,584
    MyName
    Looks as if you are in good hands and on the right track.
    Follow the directions and you should resolve the runtime error upon exit.
    Keep in mind though as long as you have "script debugging"active and "alert you to errors" you will occasionally get an error wil surfing. These errors are generally due to faulty script at the website you are viewing.
    Thanks Beach and Eddie.
    Dave
     
  12. beach51

    beach51

    Joined:
    May 18, 2001
    Messages:
    1,199
    Your welcome Dave:D .Well i see Eddie has you removeing Newdotnet.For Savenow,go to start>run>type in msconfig,click ok.Click on the startup tab,remove the check mark next to Savenow,click ok,and let the computer re-boot.Now go back to Add and remove programs in control panel and remove Savenow.Re-boot the computer again.That will take care of Savenow.Am sure Eddie will be back and have you remove some of these other programs you dont need running at startup.

    Let us know how you make out.
     
  13. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,135
    Hiya

    Looks like beach has sorted the spyware out so lets have a look at the startup programs.

    Microsoft Office Startup: Resource hog that launches common Microsoft Office components to help speed up the launch of Office programs. Osa9.exe is the Office 2000 equivalent. Some users claim there's no difference with our without it but it isn't required anyway

    HP Printer Scanner Copier 300: your printer/scanner. Not sure. maybe

    load Win.ini c:\oplimit\ocraware.exe: Optical Character Recognition software as part of OmniPage Limited Edition - supplied with most scanners. Scan directly into most word processor applications, such as Word, WordPerfect, etc. Available via Start -> Programs - not required

    AIM: AOL Instant Messager. If connected to the internet, automatically runs up AIM. Convenience more than anything. AIM can be started from Start -> Programs

    ScanRegistry: keep

    SystemTray: keep

    AudioHQ: For Creative Soundblaster Live! series soundcards. System tray application for SB Live! functions. Available via Start -> Programs - not required

    Creative Launcher: For Creative Soundblaster Live! series soundcards. Adds a quick-launch bar to the top of the display and a System Tray icon. Available via Start -> Programs - not required

    TaskMonitor: The Task Monitor the disk-access patterns of programs when they are started and stores this information in log files in the Applog folder. Task Monitor also records the number of times you use a program. The Disk Defragmenter tool uses this information to optimize your hard disk so that programs that you use frequently are loaded faster. Not required - but can be useful

    LoadPowerProfile: Power management specifics such as monitor shut-off, system standby, etc. keep

    NAV Agent: Introduced with Norton Anti-Virus 2002 to replace Norton Auto-Protect and Norton eMail Protect. With the amount of E-mail borne viruses and those around the web you need it if you're connected. Leaving "Auto-Protect", "E-mail Scanning" and "Script Blocking" enabled doesn't seem to slow the system down.

    SchedulingAgent: Microsoft Scheduling Agent displayed as a box with a stopwatch in the System Tray - only needed if you have regular scheduled disk defragmenting, ScanDisk, etc. Recommend you run these at regular intervals anyway so not needed as they can interrupt other programs

    Machine Debug Manager: Used by developers for debugging. Those who have encountered it have unchecked it with no degradation in performance. Not required

    ScriptBlocking: Update to Norton AntiVirus 2001. Detects certain types of script-based viruses without the need for specific virus definitions - such as JavaScript and VBScript. This will help protect you from these viruses even before virus definitions are available


    Okay, for the ones you don't want, go to Run and type MSCONFIG. Startup tab. Uncheck all that you don't want, apply and restart. If you're unsure, do each seperately, but apply and restart after each one.

    Regards

    eddie
     
  14. MyName

    MyName Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    316
    hey, i did what you guys said and, of course, it worked to perfection. no more problems!!! know that i know kazaa contains spyware, is there a similar program that doesnt contain spyware, yet is free?? also, i just wanted to say that all you guys helping out other people is awesome, as a programmer in college i really look up to you guys and one day maybe i'll be a senior member of this fine site. thanks again!!!
     
  15. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,135
    Hiya

    Great to hear its working okay. the removing of the programs at startup is also a big thing. They tend to get rather clogged up there.

    Okay, another program would be Morpheus

    http://download.cnet.com/downloads/0-1896420-108-76172.html?bt.48575.185

    And just hang around this place. You said you're a programmer? Have you looked in the Development part of TSG yet?

    eddie
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/60785

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice