1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: internet explorer home page doent change

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by dindan, Aug 9, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. dindan

    dindan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    33
    my homepage was in use blank. now all of a sudden it changed to http://www.microsoft.com/isapi/redir.dll?prd=ie&clcid=0x0409&pver=6.0&ar=home . i cant change it back to use blank . ran ewido and spybot . ewido showed it clean . spybot detected microsoft windows security.antivirus overide. i fixed the problem but still homepage wont change .

    hjt log

    Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.1
    Scan saved at 4:40:24 PM, on 8/9/2006
    Platform: Windows XP SP2 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP2 (6.00.2900.2180)

    Running processes:
    E:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
    E:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
    E:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
    E:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
    E:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    E:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    E:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
    E:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
    E:\Program Files\McAfee\McAfee VirusScan\Avsynmgr.exe
    E:\Program Files\ewido anti-spyware 4.0\guard.exe
    E:\Program Files\McAfee\McAfee VirusScan\VsStat.exe
    E:\Program Files\McAfee\McAfee VirusScan\Vshwin32.exe
    E:\Program Files\Common Files\Network Associates\McShield\Mcshield.exe
    E:\WINDOWS\system32\GSICON.EXE
    E:\WINDOWS\system32\dslagent.exe
    E:\Program Files\ewido anti-spyware 4.0\ewido.exe
    E:\Program Files\Common Files\Real\Update_OB\realsched.exe
    E:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
    E:\WINDOWS\system32\rundll32.exe
    E:\WINDOWS\system32\wuauclt.exe
    E:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe
    E:\Program Files\Zone Labs\ZoneAlarm\zlclient.exe
    E:\WINDOWS\system32\ZONELABS\vsmon.exe
    C:\hijackthis\HijackThis.exe

    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page =
    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Local Page =
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {0000CC75-ACF3-4cac-A0A9-DD3868E06852} - (no file)
    O2 - BHO: Yahoo! Toolbar Helper - {02478D38-C3F9-4EFB-9B51-7695ECA05670} - E:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Companion\Installs\cpn\yt.dll
    O2 - BHO: AcroIEHlprObj Class - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - E:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 7.0\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.dll
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {53707962-6F74-2D53-2644-206D7942484F} - C:\SPYBOT~1\SDHelper.dll
    O2 - BHO: Yahoo! IE Services Button - {5BAB4B5B-68BC-4B02-94D6-2FC0DE4A7897} - E:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Common\yiesrvc.dll
    O2 - BHO: SSVHelper Class - {761497BB-D6F0-462C-B6EB-D4DAF1D92D43} - E:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_07\bin\ssv.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: McAfee VirusScan - {ACB1E670-3217-45C4-A021-6B829A8A27CB} - E:\Program Files\McAfee\McAfee VirusScan\VSCShellExtension.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: Yahoo! Toolbar - {EF99BD32-C1FB-11D2-892F-0090271D4F88} - E:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Companion\Installs\cpn\yt.dll
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [GSICONEXE] GSICON.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [DSLAGENTEXE] dslagent.exe USB
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvCplDaemon] RUNDLL32.EXE E:\WINDOWS\system32\NvCpl.dll,NvStartup
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Zone Labs Client] "E:\Program Files\Zone Labs\ZoneAlarm\zlclient.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [!ewido] "E:\Program Files\ewido anti-spyware 4.0\ewido.exe" /minimized
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TkBellExe] "E:\Program Files\Common Files\Real\Update_OB\realsched.exe" -osboot
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [NVIEW] rundll32.exe nview.dll,nViewLoadHook
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [MSMSGS] "E:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe" /background
    O8 - Extra context menu item: &Yahoo! Search - file:///E:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Common/ycsrch.htm
    O8 - Extra context menu item: E&xport to Microsoft Excel - res://E:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~2\Office10\EXCEL.EXE/3000
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Yahoo! &Dictionary - file:///E:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Common/ycdict.htm
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Yahoo! &Maps - file:///E:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Common/ycmap.htm
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Yahoo! &SMS - file:///E:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Common/ycsms.htm
    O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - E:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_07\bin\ssv.dll
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Sun Java Console - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - E:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_07\bin\ssv.dll
    O9 - Extra button: Yahoo! Services - {5BAB4B5B-68BC-4B02-94D6-2FC0DE4A7897} - E:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Common\yiesrvc.dll
    O9 - Extra button: Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - E:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Windows Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - E:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
    O16 - DPF: {0EB0E74A-2A76-4AB3-A7FB-9BD8C29F7F75} (CKAVWebScan Object) - http://www.kaspersky.com/kos/eng/partner/default/kavwebscan_unicode.cab
    O16 - DPF: {30528230-99f7-4bb4-88d8-fa1d4f56a2ab} (YInstStarter Class) - E:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Common\yinsthelper.dll
    O16 - DPF: {6414512B-B978-451D-A0D8-FCFDF33E833C} (WUWebControl Class) - http://update.microsoft.com/windowsupdate/v6/V5Controls/en/x86/client/wuweb_site.cab?1133354241576
    O16 - DPF: {9A9307A0-7DA4-4DAF-B042-5009F29E09E1} (ActiveScan Installer Class) - http://acs.pandasoftware.com/activescan/as5free/asinst.cab
    O16 - DPF: {B38870E4-7ECB-40DA-8C6A-595F0A5519FF} (MsnMessengerSetupDownloadControl Class) - http://messenger.msn.com/download/MsnMessengerSetupDownloader.cab
    O17 - HKLM\System\CCS\Services\Tcpip\..\{3FCFE790-9CD8-4906-A658-8D83F388DC51}: NameServer = 202.9.145.6 202.9.145.7
    O18 - Protocol: msnim - {828030A1-22C1-4009-854F-8E305202313F} - "E:\PROGRA~1\MSNMES~1\msgrapp.dll" (file missing)
    O20 - Winlogon Notify: WRNotifier - WRLogonNTF.dll (file missing)
    O23 - Service: AVSync Manager (AvSynMgr) - Network Associates, Inc. - E:\Program Files\McAfee\McAfee VirusScan\Avsynmgr.exe
    O23 - Service: ewido anti-spyware 4.0 guard - Anti-Malware Development a.s. - E:\Program Files\ewido anti-spyware 4.0\guard.exe
    O23 - Service: McShield - Unknown owner - E:\Program Files\Common Files\Network Associates\McShield\Mcshield.exe
    O23 - Service: NVIDIA Driver Helper Service (NVSvc) - NVIDIA Corporation - E:\WINDOWS\system32\nvsvc32.exe
    O23 - Service: TuneUp WinStyler Theme Service (TUWinStylerThemeSvc) - TuneUp Software GmbH - E:\Program Files\TuneUp Utilities 2006\WinStylerThemeSvc.exe
    O23 - Service: TrueVector Internet Monitor (vsmon) - Zone Labs, LLC - E:\WINDOWS\system32\ZONELABS\vsmon.exe
     
  2. dindan

    dindan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    33
  3. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Not sure why you asked for a move to web and email :confused:
     
  4. sekirt

    sekirt

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,998
    Spybot might be at fault.

    Check in advanced mode->Tools. Uncheck Browser Pages and IE Tweaks

    sekirt
     
  5. dindan

    dindan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    33

    has i dint receive any reply for 4 days . i thought might be that i posted in the wrong forums . so i asked for moving it . sorry if its wrong .
     
  6. dindan

    dindan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    33
    my browser pages was already unchecked

    it dint work .

    also 1 of the members in wilder security forum had the same problem . i ll post the link below

    http://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread....homepage+change
     
  7. sekirt

    sekirt

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,998
    Sorry, your wilder link gives this result

    The url specified was not found.

    sekirt
     
  8. dindan

    dindan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    33
  9. sekirt

    sekirt

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,998
    Your Hijack This Log does not show MSN for a start page...
    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page =
    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Local Page =


    What exactly happens when you go to IE->Tools->Internet Options->General Tab and click the Use Blank button?

    What if you go to Google, then go to the above location and click Use Current button?

    Are those "greyed out" so when clicked nothing at all happens? Or can you change your home page and then at some later time, it reverts back to MSN?

    Regarding the Wilder link...do you think yours is the exact same problem?
    Do you have a file on your computer called IE.EXE? Run search and be sure to check for all files including hidden to see if you can locate such a file.

    Again, your Hijack This Log does not show such a file.

    Did you go to the Sophos site that was linked at Wilder? Did you follow the recovery directions? If so, what happened? Did you find the registry entry? Did you remove it?
    Has anything changed since doing these things?

    sekirt
     
  10. dindan

    dindan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    33
    i dint follow anything that was written in the wilder and sophos site. it was jus checkin in wider security to see any one was havin same problem has me . thought this was same . never did research like the person in the wilder did. i ran a search and dint find any ie.exe file including hidden files and folders.

    and wen i go to the internet options button and click use blank it changes to use blank for that particular moment . as soon has i close the windows not the explorer only the internet option window it changes back .

    and this link is always greyed out http://www.microsoft.com/isapi/redir...er=6.0&ar=home
     
  11. cybertech

    cybertech Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    72,115
    Zonealarm could be the problem. Try uninstalling it, change your homepage, reboot and if it's ok reinstall zonealarm.
     
  12. dindan

    dindan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    33
    thk u v. much for u r help cybertech. looks like zone alarm was the problem. i uninstalled and changed my home page and reinstalled it . everything is running fine now . wat happened to sekirt .

    but y was zone alarm causing the problem ?
     
  13. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    It probably was doing its job by not allowing you to change the home page :D
     
  14. sekirt

    sekirt

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,998
    Zone Alarm version 6.5.722.000 (6.5.7xx) seems to have a bug. It locks the homepage and there is no way to change the homepage. You can go back to an older version and everything should work.

    One post suggested that maybe checking to NOT allow Internet Explorer access to the net will allow making a change to the homepage, otherwise only uninstalling Zone Alarm will allow a change.

    Maybe cybertech has additional information that she will post?

    sekirt
     
  15. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Cybertech is a she :D :D
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/490719

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice