1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

[SOLVED] internet explorer script error

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by smookie, Dec 1, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. smookie

    smookie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2001
    Messages:
    36
    when i try to go to my internet explorer a screen comes up internet explorer script error line 1, char1, error object expected, code 0, url about blank can you please help me?
     
  2. beach51

    beach51

    Joined:
    May 18, 2001
    Messages:
    1,199
    Hi smookie,Have you tried the repair option for IE.If not go to Start>settings>control panel>add and remove programs>Highlight IE and internet tools>click the remove tab>when the dialog box comes up put a tick in repair Ie>then hit ok.Let us know if you get a clean repair.
     
  3. Signature

    Signature

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2001
    Messages:
    650
    <font face="comic sans ms" color="#577ac6">And, there's this: <a href=http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;EN-US;q181698>How to Troubleshoot Script Errors in Internet Explorer</a></font>
     
  4. smookie

    smookie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2001
    Messages:
    36
    in the control panel their is no ie & internet tools I have a msn explorer is that it. I don't want to remove the wrong one
     
  5. beach51

    beach51

    Joined:
    May 18, 2001
    Messages:
    1,199
    Hi smookie,ok try and get to IE this way,Go to Start>run>type in Msinfo32 .When that window opens,click on tools and and you should see Internet explorer repair tool,click on it and that will bring up the dialog box so you can repair IE
     
  6. smookie

    smookie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2001
    Messages:
    36
    i had to right cl. on start> click on search, search results are, Msinfo chm,msinfo32.dill,msinfo32.lgc,msinfo32.exe, msinfo32.cnt, msinfo32.help, i went to the help and thier are no ie repair tools
     
  7. brianF

    brianF

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1999
    Messages:
    12,041
    try this once.

    open IE, go to tools, internet options, advanced, scroll down a little and make sure the disable script debugging is checked.
     
  8. beach51

    beach51

    Joined:
    May 18, 2001
    Messages:
    1,199
    Hi smookie,sorry maybe i wasnt clear.When i said go to start,i mean click on the start button,then go to run,click on run>then type in msinfo32 then it ok.Then the window will open,there you will see tools,click on the tools tab>you should find internet explorer repair tool there>click on that and the repair dialog box will open>put a tick in repair Ie>then ok.Should you get a message that ie cant be repaired because of a missing dll or anything else,let us know what it says.Also try brianF suggestion,that might be all you have to do to fix the problem.

    let us know
     
  9. smookie

    smookie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2001
    Messages:
    36
    i followed your directions to the letter when i type in msinfo 32 and click ok. it brings me to micro soft help & support left pain has system summary;>+ hardware resource> +componts> +software>+internet explorer under this thire is not a repair tool is thire another way to find ie. tool thanks for your help so far
     
  10. beach51

    beach51

    Joined:
    May 18, 2001
    Messages:
    1,199
    Hi smookie,ok your on the right page.Go back to that window,and at the top you should see File>edit>view>tools>help.Click on tools and you should see internet explorer repair tool from the dropdown menu.Just ckick on it,and a dialog window should open,put a tick in repair.
     
  11. smookie

    smookie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2001
    Messages:
    36
    yes ive did that, under tools is> system restore> fault log> network diagnostic tool> update wizard uninstall> signature verification> registry checker> auto skip driver angeny> dr. watson> system config utility> scan disk> wmi control thire is no internet explorer repair tool
     
  12. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    Sometimes it just isn't there.
    If it isn't, go to Add-Remove software, choose MS Internet Explorer, choose 'remove', and see whether a window pops up giving you the option to 'Repair IE'.

    If it doesn't try pasting the following bold text in the 'Run' box:

    rundll32 setupwbv.dll,IE5Maintenance "C:\Program Files \Internet Explorer\Setup\SETUP.EXE" /g "C:\WINDOWS\IE Uninstall Log.Txt"

    See whether the window comes up then.

    Good luck,
     
  13. smookie

    smookie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2001
    Messages:
    36
    DO YOU MEAN ADD & REMOVE PROGRAMS IN THE CONTROLE PANEL IF SO IT SAYS THIS MAY DISABLE YOUR ABILITY TO CONNECT TO THE INTERNET
     
  14. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
  15. smookie

    smookie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2001
    Messages:
    36
    it says unable to open this internet shortcut the protcol res does not have a registered program nice try any way
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/60346

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice