Solved: Internet explorer

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

kngsdk

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 13, 2006
Messages
45
I am having problems with internet explorer opening webpages. I get an error message saying that it can't show the webpage, and an option of checking for connectivity issues, when one isn't found and I close the trouble shooter, the page opens. It is doing this with most all pages. I have dial-up (net zero) at home, but also have dsl at work, and it is doing this both places, tho maybe more often with the dialup. Any solution? I have downloaded Opera, and can use it some, but don't seem to have much luck with it either. I have a simple, inexpensive HP laptop, and probably a tiny memory, and don't know beans about anything technical. I have tried to do some things on my own, and may have goofed it up more. Thanks
 

kngsdk

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 13, 2006
Messages
45
I don't believe so, I don't recall ever hearing of that, and doing a search didn't find anything of that name on my computer. I did try to install a NetZero PC tune-up disk, but tho I downloaded, was not successful in getting it to install, so removed it. I also do have CallWave installed.
 

Phantom010

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
34,801
Click Start > Programs > Accessories > right-click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

In the Command Prompt, type in the bold text, one command after the other, pressing Enter between each one of them:

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults: netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults: netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

Reboot the computer.


===================================================================

If no luck,

Press the Windows key + R to open a Run box.

Type CMD.

Click OK.

In the Command Prompt, type ipconfig /all.

Press Enter.


Copy (right-click and Select All > press Enter) the entire content of that window and paste it into your next reply.

 

kngsdk

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 13, 2006
Messages
45
Thank you so much, I will print these instructions,and do these things. So appreciate the help!
 

kngsdk

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 13, 2006
Messages
45
wow, I don't have those options after clicking start. The only "programs" I get is "add and delete programs" and no accessories anywhere. I don't even have 'run' under start. I don't know what I have done. Putting 'programs' in the search box also brings up add and delete programs. I don't know how long it has been this way, sorry. Should I go ahead and try the second step?
Thanks
 

kngsdk

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 13, 2006
Messages
45
Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Shannon>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Shannon-PC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe FE Family Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1F-16-E6-35-28
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Virtual WiFi Miniport Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 06-26-5E-90-64-3D
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR9285 802.11b/g/n WiFi Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-26-5E-90-64-3D
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::95a6:7106:21e0:88a5%10(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.2(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, November 28, 2011 5:24:22 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Monday, November 28, 2011 11:24:23 PM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 301999710
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-12-8A-0E-CC-00-1F-16-E6-35-28

DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Tunnel adapter isatap.{B0183C2E-FA1A-424F-AFD8-BD000DC8F888}:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 12:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e76:241c:2458:3f57:fefd(Pref
erred)
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::241c:2458:3f57:fefd%75(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

Tunnel adapter isatap.{2192EE86-7926-46A2-88A3-4A7354B8FCA0}:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

C:\Users\Shannon>
 

Phantom010

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
34,801
Here are other ways to open an Elevated Command Prompt:

http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/783-elevated-command-prompt.html

Then,

In the Command Prompt, type in the bold text, one command after the other, pressing Enter between each one of them:

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults: netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults: netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

Reboot the computer.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top