1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Internet has started disconnecting and reconnecting intermittently

Discussion in 'Networking' started by willdubery, Jul 17, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. willdubery

    willdubery Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Ok so my internet connection has recently started disconnecting and reconnecting every 5 mins or so. It has never done this before and has started doing it out of the blue. It doesn't even appear to have cut out by the icon at the bottom but it does stuff like stop youtube videos from loading or when I am playing online poker or online gaming it will cut out for about 30 seconds before reconnecting again. It is quite frustrating and I am yet to have found any help anywhere online so any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance.
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,856
    First Name:
    Wayne
    would you post the following tests when its working OK and then repeat ALL the tests when it disconnects and make sure you also tells which tests posted are for what condition

    if you are also connected by wireless include the xirrus screen shots

    Please post back here the make and exact model of the router and if separate, the make and exact model of the modem

    Also please make a note of the status of the light on the modem and on the router when working normally - post back here and then when disconnected post the status of the lights here again if changed

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

    We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results in a reply here

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results to notepad and then automatically open notepad.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results to a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy
    Now go back to the forum - reply and then right click in the reply box and paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Ping Tests
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    Start> Run {search bar in Vista/W7}> type CMD to open a DOS window and type:

    Type the following command
    Ping {plus the number thats shown against the default gateway shown in above ipconfig /all}
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping google.com
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping 209.183.226.152
    post back results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
    Download and install

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.


    http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector.aspx
    Direct link to the program is here http://wpc.475a.edgecastcdn.net/00475A/XirrusWiFiInspectorSetup.1.2.0.exe

    {If the above link does not work heres another link http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file_download/fid,77196-order,4/download.html}

    Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
    if you get an error - You need NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.

    Run the program

    A user guide is available here http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector/xirruswifiinspectorguide1-2-0.aspx

    post a screen shot of the program running - if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information, and also post which network "Adapter Name" (1st column) is yours on the list

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window ("Go Advanced" button) and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    Full details are here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot

    Or if you are using Vista/Windows 7 you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in
    Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool

    Note:
    For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better.

    If you are using the Mac OS then use http://www.istumbler.net/ or
    if you want to optimise base station position and signal strength / dead spots use
    http://www.chimoosoft.com/products/apgrapher/ which has a graph function to monitor signal
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. willdubery

    willdubery Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Just so you know the disconnection only lasts usually for about 10 seconds or so so I don't know how much different the results of ipconfig/all will be. Anyway these first posts are for when all is working perfectly.

    ipconfig whilst connected:
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Louis>ipconfig/all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Louis-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : Belkin

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Belkin
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 802.11n Network Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : C0-F8-DA-A6-9E-60
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::355c:4064:2a07:92eb%15(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.8(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 17 July 2012 14:16:34
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 19 January 2038 04:14:07
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 381745370
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-15-7A-E7-70-B8-70-F4-07-66-46

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 194.168.4.100
    194.168.8.100
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR8152/8158 PCI-E Fast Ethernet C
    ontroller (NDIS 6.20)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : B8-70-F4-07-66-46
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Bluetooth Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Bluetooth Device (Personal Area Network)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : C0-F8-DA-C5-2C-36
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.Belkin:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Belkin
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 13:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:5ef5:79fb:3808:2c90:3f57:fdf7(Pref
    erred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::3808:2c90:3f57:fdf7%16(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    C:\Users\Louis>

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Louis>ping 192.168.2.1

    Pinging 192.168.2.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 192.168.2.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.2.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.2.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.2.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64

    Ping statistics for 192.168.2.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 1ms, Maximum = 2ms, Average = 1ms

    C:\Users\Louis>
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Louis>ping google.com

    Pinging google.com [173.194.41.110] with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 173.194.41.110: bytes=32 time=22ms TTL=55
    Reply from 173.194.41.110: bytes=32 time=17ms TTL=55
    Reply from 173.194.41.110: bytes=32 time=23ms TTL=55
    Reply from 173.194.41.110: bytes=32 time=21ms TTL=55

    Ping statistics for 173.194.41.110:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 17ms, Maximum = 23ms, Average = 20ms

    C:\Users\Louis>

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Louis>ping 209.183.226.152

    Pinging 209.183.226.152 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=102ms TTL=52
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=102ms TTL=52
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=105ms TTL=52
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=110ms TTL=52

    Ping statistics for 209.183.226.152:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 102ms, Maximum = 110ms, Average = 104ms

    C:\Users\Louis>

    These next ones are whilst it is disconnecting
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Louis>ipconfig/all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Louis-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : Belkin

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Belkin
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 802.11n Network Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : C0-F8-DA-A6-9E-60
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::355c:4064:2a07:92eb%15(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.8(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 17 July 2012 14:16:34
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 19 January 2038 04:14:07
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 381745370
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-15-7A-E7-70-B8-70-F4-07-66-46

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 194.168.4.100
    194.168.8.100
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR8152/8158 PCI-E Fast Ethernet C
    ontroller (NDIS 6.20)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : B8-70-F4-07-66-46
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Bluetooth Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Bluetooth Device (Personal Area Network)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : C0-F8-DA-C5-2C-36
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.Belkin:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Belkin
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 13:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:5ef5:79fb:3808:2c90:3f57:fdf7(Pref
    erred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::3808:2c90:3f57:fdf7%16(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    C:\Users\Louis>ping 192.168.2.1

    Pinging 192.168.2.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 192.168.2.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.2.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.2.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.2.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64

    Ping statistics for 192.168.2.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 1ms, Maximum = 1ms, Average = 1ms

    C:\Users\Louis>ping google.com

    Pinging google.com [173.194.41.100] with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 173.194.41.100: bytes=32 time=22ms TTL=55
    Reply from 173.194.41.100: bytes=32 time=40ms TTL=55
    Reply from 173.194.41.100: bytes=32 time=21ms TTL=55
    Reply from 173.194.41.100: bytes=32 time=25ms TTL=55

    Ping statistics for 173.194.41.100:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 21ms, Maximum = 40ms, Average = 27ms

    C:\Users\Louis>ping 209.183.226.152

    Pinging 209.183.226.152 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=104ms TTL=52
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=108ms TTL=52
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=103ms TTL=52
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=100ms TTL=52

    Ping statistics for 209.183.226.152:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 100ms, Maximum = 108ms, Average = 103ms

    C:\Users\Louis>

    The router is a Belkin wireless G plus MIMO router and from what I've seen the lights on the router were the same when disconnected

    Thank You for your help
     

    Attached Files:

  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,856
    First Name:
    Wayne
    ok that all shows a good connection , but as you say maybe inconclusive ,

    the wireless is on channel 7 and may interfere - so I would change the channel on the router to use channel 1

    the graph looks like there is no spikes or drops - so that is good

    do you have any other pcs connected wirelessly ? do they also lose connection

    I would on the PC try using open DNS - see if that helps


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Google public DNS

    Google public DNS
    http://code.google.com/speed/public-dns/

    Theres also a link on how to setup those DNS IP address
    http://code.google.com/speed/public-dns/docs/using.html

    How to set XP here
    http://techie-buzz.com/how-to/google-public-dns-on-win7-and-winxp.html

    Then once you have set up those DNS entries

    Flush & register DNS
    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):
    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following commands:

    Ipconfig/flushdns
    ipconfig/registerdns



    ------------------------------
     
  5. willdubery

    willdubery Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Having just tested I can say that the connection on other computer does seem to be experiencing the same problems. How do you change the channel on the router? If it is by logging in to the routers configuration page I am having troubles with that too as it says I require a password to login to it but don't seem to remember ever having set one. Regardless I will try using an open DNS too to see if it helps.

    Thank You
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,856
    First Name:
    Wayne
    ok - see how that goes on one PC

    any PCs connected to the router by cable -if so are they having the issue - if no pcs connected by cable - can you connect a pc by cable and see if it works ok

    make and exact model of the router and we can find the default username and password
     
  7. willdubery

    willdubery Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    The previous computer wasn't connected by cable but I just tried it and when it was connected via the cable it didn't seem to make any difference. Same intermittent disconnecting and reconnecting. The router is a Belkin wireless G plus MIMO router I think thats the exact make? Still setting up the public DNS
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,856
    First Name:
    Wayne
  9. willdubery

    willdubery Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    the model number is F5D9230-4. There is a signally looking light flashing very rapidly. A light showing that it is connected via an ethernet cable to a computer which is constantly on. 'Power' light constantly on. A light below a telephone constantly on, and a light flashing fairly quickly (~5 times per second) below a miniature earth.

    When it disconnects the miniature earth light switches off for roughly a second before returning to normal.

    Also when I did the ipconfig/registerdns after setting up the google public DNS it said 'The requested operation requires elevation'??? So I don't know whats really happened?
     
  10. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,856
    First Name:
    Wayne
    try this
    Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    user manual here
    http://cache-www.belkin.com/support/dl/p74880ea_a_f5d9230_4_man.pdf

    miniature earth
    Thats the issue - its losing the connection to the internet

    thats the WAN connection to the modem

    whats the make and model of the modem and whats the light status on that unit
     
  11. willdubery

    willdubery Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    The make of the modem is an 'ntl :250' and the model number is E08C007. At least I think that is what it is, it is quite old and quite unhelpful at clearly stating what it is.
     
  12. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,856
    First Name:
    Wayne
    NTL - now thats virgin media service - looking for a manual for the lights etc - cant find one
    found this
    http://community.virginmedia.com/t5...roblems-on-a-modem-model-E08C007/td-p/1162241

    if you connect by cable directly to the modem - do a powercycle - do you get disconnects


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    How to power cycle

    “power cycle” process to reboot or reset the modem/router
    • Switch off all the devices modem, router and computers also unplug their power cables.
    • Wait at least 1 to 5 minutes,
    • Plug the power cords back in, but don’t switch them on.
    • First turn on the modem and then wait for a few minutes for it to settle and all the lights to become stable.
    • Next switch on the router (if a seperate device ) and then wait for a few minutes for it to settle and all the lights to become stable.
    • Now turn on your computer, You should now be able to access the Internet.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  13. willdubery

    willdubery Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    I can't connect directly to the modem as it only has one ethernet cable port and it is already connected to the router?
     
  14. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,856
    First Name:
    Wayne
    disconnect from the router - so you only have the modem connected to a PC - then if that is fine we know its the router - use the same cable then at least we can see if the cable is OK - if it still disconnects try a different cable - BUT you may need to powecycle each time you make a change
     
  15. willdubery

    willdubery Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    I just did a powercycle connecting the modem straight to the PC and the internet seems to be in perfect working order now. Nothing is going wrong. I am assuming that that means that it is definitely the router that is the problem?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1061361

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice