1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Internet is connected, but browser doesn't load

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Veaon, Jul 26, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Veaon

    Veaon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Maybe someone here can help me, because I'm stumped at this. :confused:

    My laptop is recieving an wired internet connection, but none of my programs seem to be connecting to the signal. For example, Internet Explorer isn't loading pages (just blank), things aren't updating, and my "Weather App" says "Service not available." When I open Safari, it can't open the page and says "The error is: 'There was a problem communicating with the web proxy server (HTTP).' (CFURLErrorDomain: 306)"

    The problem isn't in the router, because the desktop I'm using to post this is working fine. The problem isn't in the ethernet cable, because I tried using it to connect the desktop and it still worked fine.

    Network and Sharing Center confirms that This Computer is connected to the Network connected to the Internet. When I "Diagnose and repair," the message comes up "Widnows did not find any problems with your internet connection."

    I've tried disabling the connection, restarting, and enabling again, to no effect. I haven't tried restarting in Safe Mode yet, because I'm not sure how.

    The problem is on my Dell laptop with Windows Vista. We get internet from Comcast, connected to my computer through a Scientific Atlanta modem and one each Cisco and Linksys routers. Again, though, my mystery is that the computer says it's recieving a connection, but it's somehow not being used by any programs.
     
  2. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    Hi>Welcome to TSG.
    Let's see this from the failing laptop.
    Will hopefully tell us a lot about the environment.And we can go from there.
    From a Johnwill post on the Networking Forum


    Try these simple tests.

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD (COMMAND for W98/WME) to open a command prompt:

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands one at a time, followed by the Enter key:

    NOTE: For the items below surrounded with < >, see comments below for the actual information content, they are value substitutions from the previous IPCONFIG command output! Do NOT type <computer_IP_address> into the command, that won't work. Also, the < and > in the text is to identify the parameters, they are also NOT used in the actual commands.

    Do NOT include the <> either, they're just to identify the values for substitution.

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    PING <computer_IP_address>

    PING <default_gateway_address>

    PING <dns_servers>

    PING 74.125.45.100

    PING yahoo.com

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    <computer_IP_address> - The IP Address of your computer, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above. (For Vista/Win7, the IPv4 Address)

    <default_gateway_address> - The IP address of the Default Gateway, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.

    <dns_servers> - The IP address of the first (or only) address for DNS Servers, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
    Also,did this ever work?If so,any hardware/software changes ?
    Safe mode with networking,probably a bit different on all pc's but I might try PF8 on boot up.
    Or check it out in your user's guide.
     
  3. Veaon

    Veaon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    This problem just started last night after I pulled my cable because I was picking up hundreds of malware items from some pop-up website. I ran a system cleaner and full-system malware scan before trying the internet again, which is when is didn't work. (Could some spyware have been able to affect my connectivity?) The only other hardware/software changes I've made are disconnecting/connecting the ethernet cable and disabling/enabling the connection.

    I'm still trying to figure out how to restart in Safe Mode, but here's the results of the Command prompts:

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
    C:\Users\Andy>IPCONFIG /ALL
    Windows IP Configuration
    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Edison_2
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Mixed
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : hsd1.in.comcast.net.
    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) WiFi Link 5100 AGN
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-22-FB-90-F6-6C
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hsd1.in.comcast.net.
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom NetLink (TM) Gigabit Ethernet
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-22-19-F6-C3-CB
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::f9df:a7d9:4bba:3c8a%11(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.102(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, July 26, 2010 3:36:01 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, July 27, 2010 3:36:01 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 251666969
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-11-D7-6F-D5-00-22-19-F6-C3-CB
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 68.87.72.134
    68.87.77.134
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{49951BF3-0FB6-4E97-8993-F7AEDE9C6
    9F7}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 12:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hsd1.in.comcast.net.
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    C:\Users\Andy>PING 192.169.1.102
    Pinging 192.169.1.102 with 32 bytes of data:
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Ping statistics for 192.169.1.102:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),
    C:\Users\Andy>PING 192.168.1.1
    Pinging 192.168.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=150
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=150
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=150
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=150
    Ping statistics for 192.168.1.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 1ms, Maximum = 1ms, Average = 1ms
    C:\Users\Andy>PING 68.87.72.134
    Pinging 68.87.72.134 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 68.87.72.134: bytes=32 time=26ms TTL=55
    Reply from 68.87.72.134: bytes=32 time=19ms TTL=55
    Reply from 68.87.72.134: bytes=32 time=17ms TTL=55
    Reply from 68.87.72.134: bytes=32 time=17ms TTL=55
    Ping statistics for 68.87.72.134:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 17ms, Maximum = 26ms, Average = 19ms
    C:\Users\Andy>PING 74.125.45.100
    Pinging 74.125.45.100 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 74.125.45.100: bytes=32 time=29ms TTL=53
    Reply from 74.125.45.100: bytes=32 time=32ms TTL=53
    Reply from 74.125.45.100: bytes=32 time=28ms TTL=53
    Reply from 74.125.45.100: bytes=32 time=29ms TTL=53
    Ping statistics for 74.125.45.100:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 28ms, Maximum = 32ms, Average = 29ms
    C:\Users\Andy>PING yahoo.com
    Pinging yahoo.com [209.191.122.70] with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 209.191.122.70: bytes=32 time=53ms TTL=53
    Reply from 209.191.122.70: bytes=32 time=54ms TTL=53
    Reply from 209.191.122.70: bytes=32 time=55ms TTL=53
    Reply from 209.191.122.70: bytes=32 time=53ms TTL=53
    Ping statistics for 209.191.122.70:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 53ms, Maximum = 55ms, Average = 53ms
    C:\Users\Andy>
     
  4. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    A failure to ping is generally a firewall issue.Disable all firewalls,including windows default and any av suites that you have running.See if that helps.The ping that failed is the one to your pc.All others worked,so from the network level you seem to have a good network connection.(no dns type errors etc)
    Now,when you said you ran a system cleaner,did that in any way mess with your registry entries ?
     
  5. Veaon

    Veaon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks for the analysis; I don't what all of that means. :)

    The only registry change that I remember it asked for my confirmation was a value added that I denied, because I was in the middle of the malware scan and didn't want to interrupt anything.

    I have to leave for work now, though, so I'll have to try the firewall thing and post the result(s) later. Thanks again for the suggestion, though.
     
  6. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    Ok: Disable all firewalls and for good measure any antivirus suites(Norton/Symantec/ AVG etc) that you have running
     
  7. Veaon

    Veaon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Apparently, my Windows Firewall has been off the whole time. (Turning it on didn't help, so I went back to off.) My Sophos antivirus won't open because it can't establish a connection, so I'm not sure if it's active or not. I'm pretty sure that those are the only firewall and antivirus I should have to worry about.
     
  8. Veaon

    Veaon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    I don't want to be rude, but I'm going to try bumping this thread, because I really need to get this resolved and have no idea what I should try next.
     
  9. TehWicked

    TehWicked

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    29
    It looks like you have ping the wrong IP address.192.169.1.102 isn't a valid private IP. If you could please open up command prompt and ping 127.0.0.1 and then post the results again.
     
  10. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    Good eyes.Should be 192.168.1.102
    Thanks.

    Also.When did this start.Any hardware/software changes ?
    Also,take a look at this:
    The 306 error is related to issues with your proxy connections. A number of different things may potentially be causing the troubles, but a good place to start with your troubleshooting is adjusting your proxy connection settings in your Internet Options control panel.

    (1) In your Start menu, select Control Panel.
    (2) Open the Internet Options control panel. (If you are using Windows XP or Windows Vista you may need to select Classic View on the left before you can see Internet Options. If you are using WIndows 7 you may need to change "View by" to either Large icons or Small icons before you can see Internet Options.)
    (3) Click the Connections tab.
    (4) Click the LAN Settings button.
    (5) Uncheck "Use a Proxy Server for your LAN". (If that option is already unchecked, try checking and then unchecking it.)
    (6) Click OK to exit the LAN Settings dialog.
    (7) Click OK to exit the Internet Options control panel.
    (8) Restart the PC and try connecting to the Store again.
     
  11. Veaon

    Veaon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Here are the results of both pings:

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
    C:\Users\Andy>PING 127.0.0.1
    Pinging 127.0.0.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 127.0.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 127.0.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 127.0.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 127.0.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Ping statistics for 127.0.0.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms
    C:\Users\Andy>PING 192.168.1.102
    Pinging 192.168.1.102 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 192.168.1.102: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 192.168.1.102: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 192.168.1.102: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 192.168.1.102: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Ping statistics for 192.168.1.102:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms
    C:\Users\Andy>

    Unchecking 'Proxy Server' seems to have solved the problem, but do you have any idea why there was a problem so I can avoid doing it again?
     
  12. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    Ok:Glad we could get it sorted out.And thanks for the feedback.
    No,I don't know how it happened but maybe someone here can shed some light on some of the possibilities.
    When you are satisfied that your issue is resolved,please mark your thread solved using the button top left.
     
  13. TehWicked

    TehWicked

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    29
    hijack was the first thing that came to my mind when you said you're internet is opening up with a blank page. If i were you, i would go to security & HJT section of the forums and read up on how to clean an affected computer. You can also readhttp://forums.majorgeeks.com/forumdisplay.php?f=35, you may have some infected files still lingering around on your computer.
     
  14. Veaon

    Veaon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Sorry for taking so long to reply. I finally got this issue fixed and I appreciate everyone's advice. I'm not sure how, but from setup I managed to start a full system diagnostic, which allowed my to run my full antivirus program. After taking care of the quarantined items and running my malware checkers and cleaner, I was finally back to normal.
    Thank you again for your time and advice.
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/938528