Solved: Internet is connected but can't browse

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

uraharajuku

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 16, 2013
Messages
12
Hello,
Please i really need someone help. i'm having difficulties with my internet connection.. My internet is plugged in and it says it works. But I can't browse any websites, it's like i didn't have internet. I can play online games, i can go on steam and talk or play online and I could ping in cmd as well. I'm running window 7 64bit.

I have already trying to fix with :

1) reset tcp/ip with netsh thing
2) flush dns
3) uncheck proxy in internet explorer
4) run avira antivirus, malwarebyte, spybot, cccleaner, tuneup utilities
5) try to connect with mozilla, chrome, internet explorer but fail.
5) trying to connected in safe mode with networking but still fail.
none of this solution work:confused:

Could anyone help me? I'd appriciate it greatly. I'll give you some of my computer info and if you need more, just ask.

Thanks in advance!.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
What firewall / security suite or anti-virus do you currently have on the PC - or you have ever had on the PC in the past - any trial ware - like Norton, Mcafee , AVG , Webroot etc
 

uraharajuku

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 16, 2013
Messages
12
hi thanks for your reply. i'm currently using avira free antivirus. but before i use esetnod32 which already expired. i already uninstall it and delete all file that related.
 

uraharajuku

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 16, 2013
Messages
12
ok i have use all the tool u given.. but still no luck.. the removal tool didn't find any suspicious..
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
can we see an ipconfig /all and three ping tests

If you do not have another PC - do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply ( note you will see entries named Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface: = we dont need to see that information - JUST the infomation above those entries


------------------------------------------------------------------------
ipconfig /all
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

We would like to see the results from an ipconfig /all - post back the results in a reply here.

This should also work for windows 8
Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box
(A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
to do that:
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
all the text will now be highlighted
Next
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy

Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
------------------------------------------------------------------------

------------------------------------------------------------------------
Ping Tests
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

Start> Run {search bar in Vista/W7}> type CMD to open a command prompt box
(A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

For Windows 8
to open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop. Use Win + X and choose Command Prompt or Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.

Type the following command
Ping {then a space and then add the number that is shown against the item labelled "default gateway" shown in the results from the ipconfig /all}
Post back the results in a reply here
right click in the command prompt box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

Type the following command
Ping google.com
Post back the results in a reply here
right click in the command prompt box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

Type the following command
Ping 209.183.226.152
Post back the results in a reply here
right click in the command prompt box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste
For your information only
these tests will check various stages of the connection, the first ping test, ping default gateway checks to see if you still have a connection to the router.
The next two Ping google.com & Ping 209.183.226.152 tests the connection to internet. google is to test by name and the ping test using a number is checking that a connection exists without DNS.
these tests then confirm if there is a dns issue on the connection.

------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

uraharajuku

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 16, 2013
Messages
12
hello sir, thanks for replying. this is my result..
............................................................................................................................


Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Win7-PC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR8151 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet Controller (NDIS 6.20)
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 54-04-A6-D6-04-B6
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::4c55:27bf:c663:7608%11(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.3(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, 17 January, 2013 7:15:41 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Friday, 18 January, 2013 7:15:41 PM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 240387238
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-17-8E-A6-F5-54-04-A6-D6-04-B6
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 8.8.8.8
8.8.4.4
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Tunnel adapter isatap.{9926C778-F009-4C8E-B673-CB546DF2C077}:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes


C:\Users\Win7>ping 192.168.1.1

Pinging 192.168.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64

Ping statistics for 192.168.1.1:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 1ms, Average = 0ms



C:\Users\Win7>ping google.com

Pinging google.com [58.27.108.183] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 58.27.108.183: bytes=32 time=22ms TTL=59
Reply from 58.27.108.183: bytes=32 time=21ms TTL=59
Reply from 58.27.108.183: bytes=32 time=21ms TTL=59
Reply from 58.27.108.183: bytes=32 time=21ms TTL=59

Ping statistics for 58.27.108.183:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 21ms, Maximum = 22ms, Average = 21ms



C:\Users\Win7>ping 209.183.226.152

Pinging 209.183.226.152 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=283ms TTL=52
Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=281ms TTL=52
Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=283ms TTL=52
Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=283ms TTL=52

Ping statistics for 209.183.226.152:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 281ms, Maximum = 283ms, Average = 282ms
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
that is showing a perfect connection to the internet

would you run this tool please
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Services - Fabar Service Scanner, free

We would like to see some status information for each of the services on the PC goto

http://www.technibble.com/fabar-service-scanner/

and download the free scanner tool

Theres a Direct link to the program here
http://download.bleepingcomputer.com/farbar/FSS.exe

Now "double click" on the downloaded file to run the scanner , the scanner program will now open

tick all the options. and then click on scan

the scan results will open automatically in a seperate window in the notepad program.

Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results to a reply here
to do that:
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
all the text will be highlighted
Next
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy
Now go back to the forum - reply and then right click in the reply box and paste

if you have any issues. A log file called FSS.txt will be created in the same directory as the program is run from.

------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

uraharajuku

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 16, 2013
Messages
12
hello sir, this is the result.. :)
.....................................................................................................................

Farbar Service Scanner Version: 16-01-2013
Ran by Win7 (administrator) on 17-01-2013 at 20:22:17
Running from "H:\"
Windows 7 Ultimate Service Pack 1 (X64)
Boot Mode: Normal
****************************************************************

Internet Services:
============

Connection Status:
==============
Attempt to access Local Host IP returned error: Localhost is blocked: Other errors
LAN connected.
Attempt to access Google IP returned error. Other errors
Attempt to access Google.com returned error: Other errors
Attempt to access Yahoo IP returned error. Other errors
Attempt to access Yahoo.com returned error: Other errors


Windows Firewall:
=============

Firewall Disabled Policy:
==================


System Restore:
============

System Restore Disabled Policy:
========================


Action Center:
============

Windows Update:
============

Windows Autoupdate Disabled Policy:
============================


Windows Defender:
==============
WinDefend Service is not running. Checking service configuration:
The start type of WinDefend service is set to Demand. The default start type is Auto.
The ImagePath of WinDefend service is OK.
The ServiceDll of WinDefend service is OK.


Windows Defender Disabled Policy:
==========================
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows Defender]
"DisableAntiSpyware"=DWORD:1


Other Services:
==============


File Check:
========
C:\Windows\System32\nsisvc.dll => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\System32\drivers\nsiproxy.sys => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\System32\dhcpcore.dll => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\System32\drivers\afd.sys
[2010-11-21 11:24] - [2010-11-21 11:24] - 0499712 ____A (Microsoft Corporation) D31DC7A16DEA4A9BAF179F3D6FBDB38C

C:\Windows\System32\drivers\tdx.sys => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\System32\Drivers\tcpip.sys
[2010-11-21 11:24] - [2010-11-21 11:24] - 1924480 ____A (Microsoft Corporation) 509383E505C973ED7534A06B3D19688D

C:\Windows\System32\dnsrslvr.dll
[2010-11-21 11:24] - [2010-11-21 11:24] - 0183296 ____A (Microsoft Corporation) CD55F5355D8F55D44C9F4ED875705BD6

C:\Windows\System32\mpssvc.dll => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\System32\bfe.dll => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\System32\drivers\mpsdrv.sys => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\System32\SDRSVC.dll => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\System32\vssvc.exe => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\System32\wscsvc.dll => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\System32\wbem\WMIsvc.dll => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\System32\wuaueng.dll => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\System32\qmgr.dll => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\System32\es.dll => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\System32\cryptsvc.dll => MD5 is legit
C:\Program Files\Windows Defender\MpSvc.dll => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\System32\ipnathlp.dll => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\System32\iphlpsvc.dll => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\System32\svchost.exe => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\System32\rpcss.dll => MD5 is legit


**** End of log ****
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
would you do another tcp/ip reset - see all the commands below

also post back the status of the following services

------------------------------------------------------------------------
Status of Services

We would like to see some status information for each of the services listed below.

To do this goto

Start> Run {search bar in Vista/W7}> type CMD to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

Type the following command
SERVICES.MSC

OR
Control Panel>
Administrative Tools>
Services>

then for each of the services listed below - Please post back the following status information;
If the service is set to Started or Stopped
and
If the service is set to Automatic or Manual

  • COM+ Event System (for WZC issues)
  • Computer Browser
  • DHCP Client
  • DNS Client
  • Network Connections
  • Network Location Awareness
  • Remote Procedure Call (RPC)
  • Server
  • TCP/IP Netbios helper
  • Wireless Zero Configuration (XP wireless configurations only)
  • WLAN AutoConfig (Windows 7 & Vista wireless configurations only)
  • Workstation


If any of those services are not started/running,
then right click on the service
then from the menu choose properties and now check the dependencies.

for each dependency entry - Check each of one of the dependencies and see which one is preventing the service from running/starting.


------------------------------------------------------------------------

TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista/Windows 7

Start> Programs> Accessories> and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt box
(A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on the screen ):

In the command prompt window that opens, type the following commands:

Note: Type only the text in bold and red for the following commands.

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog and press enter

Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log and press enter

Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log and press enter

ReStart (reboot) the machine.

If you receive the message
The requested operation requires elevation.
Then please open the command prompt as administrator - as requested above
Start> Programs> Accessories> and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt box
(A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

Please note and post back - if you receive the following message :-
Access is Denied

please post back the results in a reply here - its important we know that these commands have worked correctly and not produced any errors
right click in the command prompt box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

Details also here
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/299357


------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

uraharajuku

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 16, 2013
Messages
12
This is the result.. Thanks for the quick reply :)
........................................................................................................

COM+ Event System (for WZC issues) = AUTOMATIC

Computer Browser = MANUAL

DHCP Client = AUTOMATIC

DNS Client = AUTOMATIC

Network Connections = MANUAL

Network Location Awareness =AUTOMATIC

Remote Procedure Call (RPC) =AUTOMATIC

Server = AUTOMATIC

TCP/IP Netbios helper = AUTOMATIC

Wireless Zero Configuration (XP wireless configurations only) = (NOT IN THE LIST)

WLAN AutoConfig (Windows 7 & Vista wireless configurations only) = MANUAL

Workstation = AUTOMATIC

.....................................................................................................


C:\Windows\system32>netsh winsock reset catalog

Sucessfully reset the Winsock Catalog.
You must restart the computer in order to complete the reset.


C:\Windows\system32>netsh int ipv4 reset reset
Reseting Global, OK!
Reseting Interface, OK!
Restart the computer to complete this action.


C:\Windows\system32>netsh int ipv6 reset reset
Reseting Interface, OK!
Restart the computer to complete this action.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
i'm out of ideas at the moment , but suspect maybe a virus/malware is on the PC - hopefully, someone may be able to help further
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top