1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Internet keeps disconnecting every 10 mins or so

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Question2, Jan 10, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Question2

    Question2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    Got a problem with my connection, it keeps disconnecting every 10 minutes or so, usually at the same time every day. Lasts for a few seconds but does not show as an interruption to the line's uptime, nor is there a warning sign in the system tray (like what usually happens when there's a disconnection).

    -ISP says they do not see any problems on their end
    -Updated router firemware, no dice
    -Router is a Netcomm NB6PLUS4W modem/router
    -Tried with both wired and wireless connections, same problem.
    -I keep getting error 400 bad request while browsing the router setup page.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,421
    First Name:
    Wayne
    Is this the only PC that disconnects - do other devices connected work OK

    buts just for a very short period and logs straight back in and works again - you dont need to do anything to get it to work again - correct
    are you using internet explorer to access the router - I know some can be fussy

    try this program
    http://code.google.com/p/internetconnectivitymonitor/
    and ping google.com - that should show if a discconect occurs

    we could use ping -t google.com -but this is a free program and can just run on the PC
     
  3. Question2

    Question2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    Unfortunately i have no other devices to test with. But i just moved into this apartment and my internet worked fine in the old apartment.

    Correct, i do not need to do anything to reconnect.

    Im using firefox to access the router setup page.

    What do i do with the program? Just run it? Or do you want me to paste something?
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,421
    First Name:
    Wayne
    put in the address www.google.com and also the time and then it will just continously test the connection to google and see if it disconnects

    then we need to try an ip address of a site
    and see if that works OK and if thats ok ,then its a dns issue

    i would suggest yahoo.com - to find out the IP address

    Start> Run {search bar in Vista/W7}> type CMD to open a command prompt box
    (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    For Windows 8
    to open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop. Use Win + X and choose Command Prompt or Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.

    Type the following command
    Ping yahoo.com

    make a note of the IP number you get back - and then use that in the application


    post back some screen shots


    To post a screen shot of the active window.
    1) hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application (Start> All Programs> Accessories> Paint) and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    OR
    2) if you are using Vista/Windows 7 you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool

    To upload the screen shot to the forum, open the full reply window ("Go Advanced" button) and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    Full details are available here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot
     
  5. Question2

    Question2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    I ran the logger but it doesnt detect any disconnections even though i was getting disconnected from IRC, i had my downloads interrupted, etc, etc.

    I then tried the yahoo IP and here are the results :

    Monitoring started
    Fri Jan 11 03:13:18 http://98.139.183.24 OK
    Fri Jan 11 03:14:22 http://98.139.183.24 NOT CONNECTED
    Fri Jan 11 03:14:24 http://98.139.183.24 NOT CONNECTED
    Fri Jan 11 03:14:26 http://98.139.183.24 NOT CONNECTED
    Fri Jan 11 03:14:29 http://98.139.183.24 NOT CONNECTED
    Fri Jan 11 03:14:31 http://98.139.183.24 NOT CONNECTED
    Fri Jan 11 03:14:33 http://98.139.183.24 NOT CONNECTED
    Fri Jan 11 03:14:35 http://98.139.183.24 NOT CONNECTED
    Fri Jan 11 03:14:38 http://98.139.183.24 NOT CONNECTED
    Fri Jan 11 03:14:40 http://98.139.183.24 NOT CONNECTED
    Fri Jan 11 03:14:42 http://98.139.183.24 NOT CONNECTED
    Fri Jan 11 03:14:45 http://98.139.183.24 NOT CONNECTED
    Fri Jan 11 03:14:47 http://98.139.183.24 NOT CONNECTED
    Monitoring stopped by user

    Monitoring started
    Fri Jan 11 03:14:50 http://98.139.183.24 NOT CONNECTED
    Fri Jan 11 03:14:52 http://98.139.183.24 NOT CONNECTED
    Monitoring stopped by user

    However my internet is active and i can access the web just fine....
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,421
    First Name:
    Wayne
    have you downloaded the driver from the manufacturers website and installed - not just do an update

    also that IP should reply OK
    What firewall / security suite or anti-virus do you currently have on the PC - or you have ever had on the PC in the past - any trial ware - like Norton, Mcafee , AVG , Webroot etc
     
  7. Question2

    Question2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    No, i haven't tried downloading any drivers, what drivers are yo ureferring to?

    I have microsoft security essentials, spybot search and destroy, and malware anti bytes. Problem only started when i moved into this apartment though.


    Any trialware...i may have, but if i did, it was a long time aog.
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,421
    First Name:
    Wayne
    yes, but still needs to be removed, last year we saw issues of trailware Norton, which had been uninstalled in 2007 still cause issues and the removal tool is needed.

    the network adapter drivers

    whats the make and model of the PC
    can we see an ipconfig /all
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    We would like to see the results from an ipconfig /all - post back the results in a reply here.

    This should also work for windows 8
    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box
    (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will now be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy

    Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
    The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  9. Question2

    Question2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    It's a lenovo y460p. I haven't installed any trialware between moving out of my old apartment and into this one, and the problem only started occuring at this apartment.

    Ipconfig :

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Question-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : home

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : TAP-Win32 Adapter V9
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-FF-05-3F-00-CB
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : home
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR928X Wireless Network Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : C0-CB-38-21-4D-7D
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : home
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom NetLink (TM) Gigabit Ethernet
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 60-EB-69-96-77-8D
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::d0bf:f67:98fb:3aed%12(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.2(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Friday, 11 January, 2013 8:58:45 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, 12 January, 2013 8:58:45 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 291564393
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-14-86-CA-3D-60-EB-69-96-77-8

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Hamachi:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Hamachi Network Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 7A-79-05-99-F0-ED
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2620:9b::599:f0ed(Preferred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::6040:b6cb:bb5d:b4a3%14(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 5.153.240.237(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.0.0.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Friday, 11 January, 2013 3:31:10 AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, 11 January, 2014 3:33:17 AM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 2620:9b::500:1
    25.0.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 5.0.0.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 578451956
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-14-86-CA-3D-60-EB-69-96-77-8

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter Reusable Microsoft 6To4 Adapter:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter 6TO4 Adapter:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter #3
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 19:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter #5
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 21:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter #6
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{5C016608-A521-444C-BE3C-61311639C160}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #4
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 18:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter #4
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.home:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : home
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{053F00CB-B8AE-4FC8-A893-49207F77533C}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 24:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
     
  10. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,421
    First Name:
    Wayne
    we have seen unrelated changes, that have suddenly meant an old version on the PC and part of the pre-installed software - suddenly cause issues - so its worth looking into

    we are looking for the driver for the
    Broadcom NetLink (TM) Gigabit Ethernet
    adapter

    the driver is here
    http://support.lenovo.com/en_US/downloads/default.page?

    three versions on the site for different windows version

    XP =
    http://download.lenovo.com/UserFiles/Driver/en/Downloads and Drivers/Y460pY560p/XP/IN8ETN04WW1.exe

    W7 64bit = http://download.lenovo.com/UserFiles/Driver/en/Downloads and Drivers/Y460pY560p/IN3ETN41WW6.exe

    W7 32bit =
    http://download.lenovo.com/UserFiles/Driver/en/Downloads and Drivers/Y460pY560p/IN3ETN41WW5.exe

    download the file and do an installation - dont use the update facility on the device manager - adapter - properties screen
     
  11. Question2

    Question2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    Turns out i already have the most updated version (14.2.0.7)...

    How do i check if i have trialware on my PC messing things up?
     
  12. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,421
    First Name:
    Wayne
    look in programs for things like

    Norton or Synamtec, Mcafee, Kaspersky = are the most common security suites that are supplied and running on the PC
    others to look for would be

    AVG,
    Webroot,
    zonealarm
    trendmicro
     
  13. Question2

    Question2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    Just checked, got nothing like those.
     
  14. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,421
    First Name:
    Wayne
    with the ethernet cable connected
    - try safemode with networking
    as the PC starts keep tapping F8 - a menu appears - choose
    safemode with networking - see if that works
     
  15. Question2

    Question2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    It was pretty stable last night, but i rebooted into safe mode and started up IRC to see if i would still get disconnections. I still got two overnight.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1084540

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice