1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: internet/network on wireless broadband and wifi capable router

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Leinan, Jun 19, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Leinan

    Leinan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Messages:
    90
    hi pardon me if there's a relative post about my post but i want to point out my problem.

    i have an existing wifi capable router CDR King LP-8186 originally we use this to network 3 computers (1 Laptop and 2 Desktop) we use wired network and we have no problem until i purchased the Wireless Broadband (USB Dongle) in which i am using to connect to the internet.

    The Wireless Broadband is having a DNS error if i am wired to LP-8186 and i can't browse the internet but if i unplug the wire it can connect.

    Can anyone please help me to solve this problem. I Just want to use the Wireless Broadband (USB Dongle) to have an internet connection while am also wired to CDR King LP-8186 router (without buying new router that can accomodate both)

    Laptop - Win7 OS wifi capable
    2 Desktop - Win XP SP3 no wifi just LAN Card

    Thank you in advance.

    Leinan
     
  2. btop

    btop Guest

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    175
    The problem is that you are connected through two sources. Your computer doesn't know which one to use. Connect one or the other, not both.
     
  3. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,978
    First Name:
    Terry
    Use a static IP address on the network for which you do not want internet access. The IP needs to be in the router's subnet but outside the Dhcp server's address range; mask 255.255.255.0; leave the Gateway and DNS servers blank.
     
  4. Leinan

    Leinan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Messages:
    90
    hi thanks both for your reply.

    Terry will you guide me through step by step process? i have a little knowledge in configuring network especially if it pertains to IPs.

    Please be reminded that the CDR king LP-8186 is wifi capable so i still can see this to my available network connections and i am using this router as our wired connection.

    Thanks and hope to hear from you again.

    Leinan
     
  5. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,978
    First Name:
    Terry
    In Network Connections right click on the desired network (ethernet in your case) - Properties - Internet Protocol or Internet Protocol Version 4 - Properties - and set IP and mask as above.
     
  6. Leinan

    Leinan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Messages:
    90
    Thanks Terry for your help i was able to surf the internet now.
     
  7. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,978
    First Name:
    Terry
    You're welcome. :)

    You can mark this solved using the [​IMG] button at the upper left of the page.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1002996

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice