1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Internet often disconnects

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Atleti, Sep 3, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Atleti

    Atleti Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Hello, the last few weeks my internet is disonnecting every 30 minutes or so.

    The things I've tried so far are:
    - Up- and downgrade wifi drivers
    - Reset my router
    - Change the channel on my router
    - Change the wpa lease time on my router and disable it
    - Turn of the firewall of my router

    This problem only happens to my laptop. I can have my mothers laptop next to me and while mine is disconnected hers will still work. My laptop doesn't get hot either and it is running on maximum performance settings.

    Also:
    Pinging to the router gives a time out (4 packets send, 0 recieved).
    Pinging to localhost -n 20 gives 20 packets send, 20 recieved.

    Now I'm clueless as this proves I loose connection with my router, however the 2nd ping test tells me my wireless card is ok. So I honestly have no idea what else to try and how to solve this issue.

    I'd greatly appreciate your help, thanks.
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,965
    First Name:
    Wayne
    lets see an xirrus screen shot when its working and repeat when is disconnects - see below

    make and model of the PC

    Given all you have done, i would probably goto device manager and right click on the wireless network adapter and remove/uninstall and then restart the pc and allow windows to re-detect and reinstall


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
    Download and install

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and install the program.
    You will now need to take a screen shot and copy that back to the working PC and attach the screen shot in a reply on the forum here.

    http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector.aspx
    Direct link to the program is here http://info.xirrus.com/Wi-FiInspectorConfirmation.html

    {If the above link does not work heres another link http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file_download/fid,77196-order,4/download.html}

    Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
    if you get an error - You need will need to have NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.

    Run the program

    A user guide is available here http://www.xirrus.com/cdn/pdf/Xirrus-Wi-Fi-inspectorguide-1-2-1-RevB-6.aspx

    post a screen shot of the program running.
    if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information.

    post which SSID name is yours, its located in the list, under network "Adapter Name" (1st column)

    To post a screen shot of the active window.
    1) hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application (Start> All Programs> Accessories> Paint) and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    OR
    2) if you are using Vista/Windows 7 you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool

    To upload the screen shot to the forum, open the full reply window ("Go Advanced" button) and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    Full details are available here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot

    Note:
    For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better. "A desirable signal level for a robust Wi-Fi connection will be green".
    note: the signal level is a negative number, so for example -88 is worst and -40 is better

    If you are using the Mac OS then use http://www.istumbler.net/ or
    if you want to optimise base station position and signal strength / dead spots use
    http://www.chimoosoft.com/products/apgrapher/ which has a graph function to monitor signal
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. Atleti

    Atleti Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    1) SSID: Filtjens
    2) Sony Vaio VPCF22L1E
    3) I already tried that. However windows itself couldn't find the drivers, so I had to download them from Sony.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,965
    First Name:
    Wayne
    you dont have a strong enough signal
    Xirrus user guide suggests -70 and you have -84 and -81 (note the negative number)
    so you need to do something to improve that
    move the router a few feet can help
    or if it has an aerial move that through 90degrees
     
  5. Atleti

    Atleti Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    I will try that. Now to think of it the problems started when moving the router just a few feet. Didn't think that would make such a big difference, thanks.
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,965
    First Name:
    Wayne
    your welcome - lets us know how it goes - you can use xirrus to check the signal - on the graph
     
  7. Atleti

    Atleti Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Could it be something else? I moved the router to my room, so the signal is constantly under 60 in xirrus. However the problem still happens.
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,965
    First Name:
    Wayne
    Is this the only PC that disconnects - do other devices connected work OK - if so how are they connected to the router - wireless or wired

    would you post the following tests when the internet is working OK, and then repeat ALL the tests when the internet disconnects.
    Make sure you also indicate on the reply which tests are for what condition.

    please include the xirrus screen shots for both conditions
    Please post back here the make and exact model of the router and if you have a separate modem, the make and exact model of the modem.

    Please make a note of the status of the lights on the modem and on the router when working normally - post that light status here.
    Now when the internet disconnects make a note of the status of the lights for the modem and router here again. also note which have changed.


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    We would like to see the results from an ipconfig /all - post back the results in a reply here.

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box
    (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will now be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy

    Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
    The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Ping Tests
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    Start> Run {search bar in Vista/W7}> type CMD to open a command prompt box
    (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    Type the following command
    Ping {then a space and then add the number that is shown against the item labelled "default gateway" shown in the results from the ipconfig /all}
    Post back the results in a reply here
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping google.com
    Post back the results in a reply here
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping 209.183.226.152
    Post back the results in a reply here
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  9. Atleti

    Atleti Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Because my router was still in warranty I got a replacement and it's working great now.

    I'm sorry for wasting your time. Thanks for helping me.
     
  10. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,965
    First Name:
    Wayne
    your welcome (y) thanks for letting us know
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1067587

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice