Solved: Internet only in safe mode after Skyrim graphics update

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

widz51

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 1, 2011
Messages
28
Hello.

1) I only have internet in Safe mode with networking.
2) I get a black screen in normal mode if my graphics card has its drivers installed.

Acer Aspire was working. After installing 11.11b update for AMD 5670 graphics card, Skyrim crashed my laptop. I got a black screen at the enter your password screen.
I have removed drivers in safe mode and can then get into normal mode. However once I did so my Norton 360 was inactive, like it had never been setup and I cant access the internet; specifically the wireless adapter wont enable.

I have since uninstalled Norton, turned off all uneccessary programs through msconfig-startup and still have no internet in normal mode. The icon at the bottom right wont refresh or show any net connections. IIn properties of my wireless adapters the drivers are showing as working, but I cant access 'status' or enable the card. Back in safe mode I can enable the card. My Graphics card drivers automically install but then I need to remove them to get back into normal mode.

Help needed to a) get net in normal mode

so I can re-install my norton and b) install some drivers that will allow me to play my games and re-start my laptop without a black screen.

Thanks in advance
Windows 7
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,486
have you tried a system restore
start>programs>accessories>system tools>system restore
choose a date before the update

as we are dealing with a couple of issues - see if we can take one at a time

1) remove norton using the norton removal tool - see how below
2) run a tcp/ip reset and post the results
3) Goto device manager and roll back the driver for the graphics card - display adapter

--------------------------------------------------------------

Norton Removal Tool
I would recommend that you restart the PC and run the removal tool for a second time - I have found instances where the removal tool needs to be run twice to fully remove all traces of norton and symantec from the PC
http://us.norton.com/support/kb/web_view.jsp?wv_type=public_web&docurl=20080710133834EN

All Versions - The Norton Removal Tool uninstalls all Norton 2010/2009/2008/2007/2006/2005/2004/2003 products, Norton 360 and Norton SystemWorks 12.0 from your computer.
http://majorgeeks.com/Norton_Removal_Tool_SymNRT_d4749.html

--------------------------------------------------------------

------------------------------------------------------------------------

TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista/Windows 7

Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

Note: Type only the text in bold for the following commands.

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log
and press enter

Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log
and press enter

Reboot the machine.

If you receive the message
The requested operation requires elevation.
Then please open the command prompt as administrator - as requested above
Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

Please note and post back - if you receive the message
Access is Denied

Post back the results here - we need to know these commands worked correctly
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

widz51

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 1, 2011
Messages
28
Valis; Thanks for re-opening
Etaf; thankyou v.much for the reply

So,

-I have restored to an earlier point with a different graphics driver-I get the same problem.
-In the uninstall a program table I cant see any Norton to do a 2nd uninstall as you suggested..?

This is a screenshot of the instructions you said to type



What happened is;

I restarted and got into normal mode. The internet is still not working and the laptop did an auto driver install for the graphics card which I couldnt stop(how do you prevent this?) and so Im guessing the computer switched from the internal graphics card the AMD one and the laptop crashed so Im back in safe mode.

If I can get back to normal mode with internet I need to turn off the auto detect feautre to give me time to ??(load an earlier driver).

Advice welcomed.
 

widz51

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 1, 2011
Messages
28
Have completed the Norton Internet removal tool procedure and still the same situation.

Here is a pic of my wireless adapters in normal mode;

 

widz51

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 1, 2011
Messages
28
Here is a pic of my wireless adapters in safe mode with networking(which Im using now);



In normal mode right clicking shows the drivers are fine/working, I cant select 'status' or enable or disable.

Help needed! :S
 

widz51

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 1, 2011
Messages
28
Etaf;

read the link thanks. Ive already done that and its not working. The article says if it fails to work, remove drivers and manually install. However I dont know which drivers to use... Im currently on this driver;

25/08/2010 8.741.1.5000

...which is not working/causing a black screen on normal loading.

Further help needed please
 

widz51

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 1, 2011
Messages
28
Posting photo of results which are slightly different AFTER using the norton removal tool.

 

widz51

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 1, 2011
Messages
28
Other info that may help someone help me;

-Have downloaded new vga and bluetooth drivers from Acer. They need to run through free arc but wont.
-Have identified in the devices section a yellow warning triangle next to Consumer IR reciever. Have disabled that driver and no improvement
-Cant see a new Consumer IR reciever driver to download for Acer aspire 5943g
-Have looked at Task-Manager-processes- nothing with high uses
-Unsure what to delete form the startup process to eliminate the problem (internet works in safe mode)
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,486
the computer switched from the internal graphics card the AMD one
do you have two graphic cards on the PC ?

in safe mode its using the VGA basic drivers and NOT the graphic drivers for the device - and that appears to be the issue
in device manager - can we see a screen shot of the display adapters
Unsure what to delete form the startup process to eliminate the problem (internet works in safe mode)
using start>run> msconfig>startup tab
look up each entry against this database
http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/startups/
and then turn off
OR
you could do a clean startup
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/331796
 

widz51

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 1, 2011
Messages
28
Morning,

This is a screenshot of the 2 graphics cards. The top one normally reads as ATI HD 5670 Radeon.



 

widz51

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 1, 2011
Messages
28
Etap;

I had to do a restore again last night so Norton was back on my laptop.

I ran the autorun (which kept freezing). About 50% of the names werent found on the bleepingcomputer site or another similar one.
However I deleted what I could (glad to get rid of the ultra annoying java updater) and re-used the norton uninstaller.

Restarted and SURPRISE! The normal mode works with a picture and the net is running on it :)

Im going to re-install Norton, do a re-start and run my programs, so fingers crossed nothing crops up.

For now below are 2 screenshots to show you how the devices are now theyre running.





I will post back a final status. For now Ive learnt a lot more about procedures etc I can do and do do more system restore points definately.
 

widz51

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 1, 2011
Messages
28
Almmost there. Computer restarts fine after Norton install. Issue is now the graphics driver (see below) which has gone from a score of 5.9 to 4.2



Please can you help with this.

As it so far I owe you one. Cheers!(y)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top