Solved: Internet Problems

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

squadalaah

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 8, 2011
Messages
3
Just a few days ago, my father brought by some old PCs from his office, and asked me to reformat them and get a fresh install of XP on them. One of the PCs was giving me "limited or no connectivity" before the reformat, and I assumed that wiping the hard drive would help fix that. Since reformatting the only thing I've put on the computer was the driver for the wireless card (which works with our router, tested on every other computer in the house).

The limited or no connectivity problem persisted, and after the troubleshooter tripped up on renewing my IP address I tried "ipconfig/renew" as well as "netsh int ip reset" in command prompt which didn't help any. then I tried manually configuring my IP address to 192.168.0.2 and subnet mask to 255.255.255.0, which got me fully connected. Still, no pages will load, i just keep getting "The page cannot be displayed" in IE.

Anybody have any idea what could be interfering with my internet connection? Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,456
what are you using for XP , are all the PCs using a genuine copy of windows ?
 

squadalaah

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 8, 2011
Messages
3
XP Professional, service pack 3. Also yeah, they're genuine.

Another update, if I plug in an ethernet cable and then unplug it again, everything works perfectly until I restart the computer, at which point it goes back to being difficult.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,456
is it only the one PC

try removing and then re updating the driver
also post back the following when working and again when it disconnects

------------------------------------------------------------------------
{ipconfig /all}
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here
We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results here
-> Start
-> (XP - enter the following in the RUN box)
cmd /k ipconfig /all
-> (Vista or Windows 7 - enter the following in the Search box)
cmd /k ipconfig /all

A black box will appear on the screen -
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy

then reply here and
control key + V to paste
------------------------------------------------------------------------
{Ping Tests}
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

Start> Run {search bar in Vista}> CMD to open a DOS window and type:

Type the following command
Ping {plus the number thats shown against the default gateway shown in above ipconfig /all}
Post back the results
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

Type the following command
Ping google.com
Post back the results
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

Type the following command
Ping 209.183.226.152
post back results
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste
------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

squadalaah

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 8, 2011
Messages
3
I had forgotten to manually update several of my drivers after the reformat, and after updating my chipset and network drivers the problem resolved itself. I have restarted several times since and had no further problems. Thanks for your helpful suggestions, though.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,456
You can mark your own threads solved using the
button at the top of the page of the thread in the upper left corner.
:)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top