1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Internet Start

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by tsmith777, Jan 1, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. tsmith777

    tsmith777 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    I am running Windows XP SP3, Dell 720. When I start or restart the computer all of the Internet programs, Firefox, Thunderbird IE etc. take a very long time to start, ie: 2-4 minutes. Once they have started all is well and they work fine until I restart the computer and then the problem arises again and again. Any suggestions? Thanks
     
  2. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    77,253
    Download and run ATF. That should dump your internet temp files and let us know how it's working then.

    thanks,

    v
     
  3. tsmith777

    tsmith777 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    I already use ATF and that does not help. I have Comcast High Speed Cable
     
  4. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    77,253
    when was the last time you defragged, and have you checked your startup list in msconfig?
     
  5. tsmith777

    tsmith777 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    I defrag daily, yes msconfig shows only 2 programs starting.
     
  6. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    77,253
    ouch........shouldn't defrag daily, that stresses out the hard drive. Once or twice a year is plenty.

    All other apps start up fine after a reboot?

    Have you checked your event log after a reboot? start > run > eventvwr.msc right click and empty both application and system folders, then reboot and see if you are getting any errors in there.
     
  7. tsmith777

    tsmith777 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    I just talked to comcast and they reset the modem and discovered the downstream and upstream are in the red so they are coming out tomorrow to fix the problem. Thanks
     
  8. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    77,253
    cool, I'll mark this solved. thanks.

    v
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/972032

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice