1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Internet trouble shooting!

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by badb24, Feb 10, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. badb24

    badb24 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Last night I went to bed and my internet was working fine, however i woke up this morning to find that I could not get on the internet! For some reason around 30 tries or so I somehow got to weather on google but that has been the only page ive gotten on the internet with and havent been able to get back to the page since! After restart I was able to communicate threw skype but still could not access any web browser... After a restart I was unable to even connect to skype and now I am unable to have any kind of internet accessibility!

    I tried system restore.. twice, but that didnt work!
    I made sure I didnt have a proxy server coming between my internet browser and connection!

    My computer says im connected!
    When i open the router page it shows me connected to the router, but the router is not connected to the internet.

    I tried restarting the router but to no success!
    My brother also uses this router and he has had no troubles getting on the internet so im pretty sure its a computer problem!

    Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,965
    First Name:
    Wayne
    What firewall / security suite or anti-virus do you currently have on the PC - or you have ever had on the PC in the past - any trial ware - like Norton, kaspersky or Mcafee or any free security suites like zonealarm, AVG , Webroot etc

    if you are connected by wireless, please include the xirrus screen shots for both conditions - see how below.


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    If you do not have another PC - do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply
    Note: you will see entries named Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface: we dont need to see that information - JUST the infomation above those entries

    We would like to see the results from an ipconfig /all - post back the results in a reply here.

    For Windows 8
    To open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop. Use Win + X and choose Command Prompt or Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.​

    For windows version, XP, Vista, W7
    Hold the Windows key and press R

    Now type CMD

    Now press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):​

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will now be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy

    Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
    The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
    Download and install

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and install the program.
    You will now need to take a screen shot and copy that back to the working PC and attach the screen shot in a reply on the forum here.

    If you do not have another PC - do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply

    http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector.aspx
    ( the site now appears to require a business email, and does not allow webbased emails like gmail,hotmail or yahoo etc )

    Use the links below

    http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file_download/fid,77196-order,4/download.html
    http://www.softpedia.com/progDownload/Xirrus-Wi-Fi-Monitor-Download-99109.html

    Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
    if you get an error - You need will need to have NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.
    On windows 8 - (i do not have windows 8) but, it would appear that, When you first try to run, you may get a message that .net framework is needed, and included in that message is a link to download/install.

    Run the program

    A user guide is available here
    http://www.xirrus.com/cdn/pdf/xirruswifiinspectorguide1-2-0

    post a screen shot of the program running.
    if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information.

    post which SSID name is yours, its located in the list, under network "Adapter Name" (1st column)


    Note:
    For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better. "A desirable signal level for a robust Wi-Fi connection will be green".
    note: the signal level is a negative number, so for example -88 is worst and -40 is better

    To post a screen shot of the active window.

    Windows XP
    Hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application (Start> All Programs> Accessories> Paint) and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.

    Vista or Windows 7
    you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool
    http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tutorials/how-to-use-the-windows-snipping-tool/

    Windows 8
    you can use the snipping tool > Open Snipping Tool (From the Windows 8 Start Screen, type "snip" and press enter.
    >Press the Esc. key.
    >go back to your Windows 8 start screen - Swipe from left or press Window Button
    >Press Ctrl+PrntScr button to use Snipping Tool
    see here
    http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk/opinion/windows/3415854/how-take-screenshot-in-windows-8/
    http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk/how-to/windows/3405830/how-take-screenshot-in-windows-8/


    To upload the screen shot to the forum, open the full reply window ("Go Advanced" button) and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    Full details are available here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot
     
  3. badb24

    badb24 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    I have captured a picture but am unable to put it on here, it only allows pictures with a URL! Any suggestions?
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,965
    First Name:
    Wayne
  5. badb24

    badb24 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    ok i think i got it!
     

    Attached Files:

  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,965
    First Name:
    Wayne
    do the following ping test please

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Ping Tests
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    If you do not have another PC - do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply

    For Windows 8
    To open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop. Use Win + X and choose Command Prompt or Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.​

    For windows version, XP, Vista, W7
    Hold the Windows key and press R

    Now type CMD

    then press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ): ​

    In the command prompt window that opens

    Type the following command
    Ping 192.168.2.1
    Post back the results in a reply here
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping google.com
    Post back the results in a reply here
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping 209.183.226.152
    Post back the results in a reply here
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste



    if you see on the results a
    "general Failure"
    This sometimes means a firewall issue
    What firewall / security suite or anti-virus do you currently have on the PC - or you have ever had on the PC in the past - any trial ware - like Norton, kaspersky or Mcafee or any free security suites like zonealarm, AVG , Webroot etc


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  7. badb24

    badb24 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    1- Ping 192.168.2.1 2- Ping google.com 3- Ping 209.183.226.152
     

    Attached Files:

  8. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,965
    First Name:
    Wayne
    that looks like a DNS issue

    i would suggest you setup google open DNS on the PC see below

    do a tcp/ip reset
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8

    For Windows Vista/Windows 7
    Start> Programs> Accessories> and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on the screen ):​

    For Windows 8
    To open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop. Use Win + X and choose Command Prompt or Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.​

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following commands:

    Note: Type only the text in bold and red for the following commands.

    • Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog and press enter
    • Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log and press enter
    • Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log and press enter
    ReStart (reboot) the machine.

    If you receive the message
    The requested operation requires elevation.
    Then please open the command prompt as administrator - as requested above
    Start> Programs> Accessories> and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):
    Please note and post back - if you receive the following message :-
    Access is Denied

    please post back the results in a reply here - its important we know that these commands have worked correctly and not produced any errors
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Details also here
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/299357
    also the link has a Microsoft Fix it , which will do the above for you

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------



    Google public DNS
    Note using google public DNS servers from outside the US may actually slow performace - so use the following as a test to identify DNS issues - if these resolve the issues , then we need to investigate further to optimise the use of DNS


    Google public DNS
    https://developers.google.com/speed/public-dns/

    Theres also a link on how to setup those DNS IP address up on a PC
    http://code.google.com/speed/public-dns/docs/using.html

    Then once you have set up those DNS entries

    Flush & register DNS

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):
    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following commands:

    Ipconfig/flushdns
    ipconfig/registerdns


    If you receive the message
    The requested operation requires elevation.
    Then please open the command prompt as administrator
    Start> All Programs> Accessories and then right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    now type the command again
     
  9. badb24

    badb24 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    The winsock, IPv4 and IPv6 entries all successfully reset defaults, after re-boot I did not recieve a message! I was unable to go to google for the puplic DNS because I am still unable to get online!
     
  10. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,965
    First Name:
    Wayne
    can we see another set of ipconfig /all and ping tests please
     
  11. badb24

    badb24 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Here is the new iconfig and Ping tests
     

    Attached Files:

  12. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,965
    First Name:
    Wayne
    will you put the number
    209.183.226.152
    into a web browser and see if it opens google

    The DNS servers have not changed on your ipconfig /all

    did you setup with google open DNS as per the instructions above ?
     
  13. badb24

    badb24 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    The 209.183.226.152 opend up techguy.org! it didnt fully open the page but looked more like a rough draft! I did not setup google open DNS because after typing it in the url the page said "Unable to open webpage" (which is the same thing it says whenever I type in any web address)
     
  14. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,965
    First Name:
    Wayne
    oh yea , sorry forgot that it was here

    so it is a dns issue

    how are you posting here ?

    can you open the page on another device to follow the instructions ?
     
  15. badb24

    badb24 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Im on a neighbors computer so im running between houses to get info!!! Yea I can probably open the info on this cpu!
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved Internet trouble
  1. Cartertribe
    Replies:
    9
    Views:
    381
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1119622

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice