1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Invalid MAC Address

Discussion in 'Networking' started by omsoft, Apr 23, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. omsoft

    omsoft Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    I have a Linksys WAP55AG access point and a Dell Latitude E4300 laptop. The laptop has wireless 1510 wireless-n wlan mini-card.

    I do MAC filtering on the access point. This works well with another laptop and Blackberry and such. But when I enter the MAC address of the E4300, I get an Invalid MAC address error. The only difference I noticed between all other MAC addresses and this one is that this address starts with first number as c4. All others are 00 .
    hanks.
    Could that be the reason? Dell website seems to imply that the card is backward compatible with 802 G.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks.
     
  2. schang626

    schang626

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    447
    this happened to me once on a linksys router. what i did was i changed the first number to 00 and it worked. It might work for u too.
     
  3. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
  4. omsoft

    omsoft Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    I tried putting 00 instead of c4 and that does not do the trick.

    I also checked the MAC address database, but none of mine are recognized. May be it is not uptodate.
     
  5. omsoft

    omsoft Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    ON further checking,c417fe belongs to Hon Hai Precision Ind. Co.,Ltd. and I assume a legit vendor.

    How do I tell the access point that it is a valid address? I also tried a firmware upgrade on the access point. But no difference.

    Thanks.
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    I'd have to assume that a firmware upgrade for the WAP and/or driver updates for the adapter are about the only avenues here.
     
  7. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,817
    First Name:
    Terry
    Is there some reason you have to use MAC Address filtering instead of encryption?
     
  8. omsoft

    omsoft Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    I am using PSK TKP and MAC filtering as an additional layer of deterrent.

    Do you have any other suggestions?

    Thanks.
     
  9. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,817
    First Name:
    Terry
    I assume that you mean WPA(2)-PSK encryption with TKIP. That has not yet been broken (with a strong passphrase), so it is sufficient. I don't know why you are getting the error message, and my only suggestion is to read The ABCs of securing your wireless network, or similar information, and see if it changes your mind about continuing to fight this issue.
     
  10. omsoft

    omsoft Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Thanks I will look at the link. I was just hoping an extra layer. I know it can be spoofed.
     
  11. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    The addition of MAC filtering only makes it harder for you to use your network, as you have already discovered. ;) It adds precious little to real security. I run WPA2/AES, and I don't lose any sleep worrying about people cracking my wireless network.
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved Invalid Address
  1. Kaizerwulf
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    1,557
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/918803

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice