Solved: Invalid MAC Address

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

omsoft

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 23, 2010
Messages
10
I have a Linksys WAP55AG access point and a Dell Latitude E4300 laptop. The laptop has wireless 1510 wireless-n wlan mini-card.

I do MAC filtering on the access point. This works well with another laptop and Blackberry and such. But when I enter the MAC address of the E4300, I get an Invalid MAC address error. The only difference I noticed between all other MAC addresses and this one is that this address starts with first number as c4. All others are 00 .
hanks.
Could that be the reason? Dell website seems to imply that the card is backward compatible with 802 G.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2010
Messages
447
this happened to me once on a linksys router. what i did was i changed the first number to 00 and it worked. It might work for u too.
 

omsoft

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 23, 2010
Messages
10
I tried putting 00 instead of c4 and that does not do the trick.

I also checked the MAC address database, but none of mine are recognized. May be it is not uptodate.
 

omsoft

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 23, 2010
Messages
10
ON further checking,c417fe belongs to Hon Hai Precision Ind. Co.,Ltd. and I assume a legit vendor.

How do I tell the access point that it is a valid address? I also tried a firmware upgrade on the access point. But no difference.

Thanks.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
I'd have to assume that a firmware upgrade for the WAP and/or driver updates for the adapter are about the only avenues here.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,408
Is there some reason you have to use MAC Address filtering instead of encryption?
 

omsoft

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 23, 2010
Messages
10
I am using PSK TKP and MAC filtering as an additional layer of deterrent.

Do you have any other suggestions?

Thanks.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,408
I assume that you mean WPA(2)-PSK encryption with TKIP. That has not yet been broken (with a strong passphrase), so it is sufficient. I don't know why you are getting the error message, and my only suggestion is to read The ABCs of securing your wireless network, or similar information, and see if it changes your mind about continuing to fight this issue.
 

omsoft

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 23, 2010
Messages
10
Thanks I will look at the link. I was just hoping an extra layer. I know it can be spoofed.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
The addition of MAC filtering only makes it harder for you to use your network, as you have already discovered. ;) It adds precious little to real security. I run WPA2/AES, and I don't lose any sleep worrying about people cracking my wireless network.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top