1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Iomega USB HD does not show up in "My Computer"

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by cwwozniak, Aug 4, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    61,175
    First Name:
    Chuck
    I am setting up and upgrading a Dell Dimension 5150 for someone at work. It is running XP Home with all updates. I have added two internal hard drives,a Seagate 400 MB SATA drive and a Seagate 300 MB ATA drive, with no problems. It is running XP home with all updates as of a couple of days ago.

    I am running into a problem with trying to copy some backed up files from another computer to the new one. The files are on an 80 GB, FAT32 formatted Iomega USB 2.0 Drive like this one ( https://iomega-na-en.custhelp.com/c.../enduser/warranty_validator.php?sn=2PCC5001F6 ).

    When I plug it in, I get a "Safely Remove USB Mass Storage Device" icon in the system tray but the drive does not show up as a local drive or removable drive in "My Computer". It does show up in Device Manager as an "IC35L080 AVVA07-0 USB Device" under DisK drives and as a "USB Mass Storage Device" under USB Controllers. I think I followed all of the steps in this Iomega FAQ ( https://iomega-na-en.custhelp.com/c...ted=1072727206&p_sid=7NSWkeei&p_lva=500&p_li= ) but still no luck.

    I tried the drive on an older Gateway PC also running XP Home with a USB 1.1 port. The drive mounted without any problem and showed up in "My Computer" as a local drive. When I told the owner about the problem he said that he had the same problem using the Iomega drive on another computer and that I needed an adapter. The adapter turned out to be a bus powered 4 port Belkin USB 1.1 Hub. The drive showed up right away as soon as I added the Hub.

    I have seen a possible solution posted by John Will but I believe I may have a problem trying it because the keyboard and mouse are both USB.

    I have tens of GB to transfer over and using the USB 1.1 hub would take most of a day to copy everything. I would really like to get a USB 2.0 connection working.

    Here is a bit more information that may or may not help with finding a solution.

    1) Windows will not boot up if the computer is turned on with the Iomega drive plugged in without the Hub.

    2) Without the drive plugged in, the computer will not come out off power save mode by pressing any keys or moving the mouse. I had to hold in the front panel power button to power down and then power on again. I have since set power save to "Never".

    3) I plugged in a USB Flash drive after plugging in the Iomega drive but it did not show up in "My Computer". The Flash drive showed up as a removable drive as soon as I unplugged the Iomega drive.
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    As a wild guess, it sounds like there is some compatibility issue with the drive.

    You might try my USB cleaning procedure, but just remove all the disk related USB stuff. The purpose is to remove any incorrect parameters that are stored for the device signature being sensed from the device. If I had a USB keyboard/mouse system, I could play around and modify the instructions exactly. :)
     
  3. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    61,175
    First Name:
    Chuck
    Hi John,

    Thank you for the suggestion. I'll try it on Monday unless the computer's owner decides to take it home (He is a VP and it is his personal computer).
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    YOu might also consider putting the drive into a different case, a low risk operation. :)
     
  5. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    61,175
    First Name:
    Chuck
    We only have two other USB hard drives in the building. One is being used to backup files from one of our servers and the other is used as a backup and extra storage for a sales manager's laptop. I might have some unhappy people if wanted to borrow one of those units to swap drives.

    Getting files off the USB drive and onto the internal hard drive should be one time deal for me. All of the iTunes files have been copied over and I will let the owner know it will just take a lot of time to copy over any other large quantities of files and folders that he wants from the USB drive.

    I don't think I going to try messing with the USB configuration and drivers on this PC. It might take more of my work time to do it (and then try to fix any of my mistakes) than to just take the time to start a large trnasfer and then do other things.
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    A USB external case costs less than $30, I was actually suggesting a new one, not removing another drive from one. ;)
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/489335

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice