1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: IP address lost after power cut

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Polly757, Dec 8, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Polly757

    Polly757 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Yesterday we had a powercut and when I restarted one of the computers on our network (LAN) afterwards it could not connect to the internet. The on-screen message was that it was 'acquiring IP address', and then 'unable to find IP address' and sometimes 'There is an IP address conflict with another system on the network'.
    The IP address now reads 0.0.0.0. and the subnet mask reads 0.0.0.0. Typically, I had not written down the IP address before the crash.

    The computer in question is an AMD Athlon (tm) 64 processor running Windows XP (2002)

    I have no idea what to do. Any suggestions would be very welcome.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. daveh24706

    daveh24706

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    what is the os of the computer, describe your lan setup in more details(dhcp etc?). if windows xp go into command prompt ipconfig/release then ipconfig/renew. Win 7 just renew command will do.
     
  3. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,411
    First Name:
    Wayne
    post an ipconfig /all

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    From a Johnwill post

    IP addresses of all zeros are normally caused by one of the following.

    Diagnosis:

    1. DHCP Service not running.
    2. Duplicate IP address on the network.
    3. Bad NIC card drivers.
    4. Defective NIC hardware.

    Resolution:

    1. Check Control Panel, Administrative Tools, Services. The DHCP Client service should be Started and its Startup Type should be Automatic.
    2. Turn off ALL of the computers and other network connected devices, restart (power cycle) the router, then restart all the computers and other network devices.
    3. Check for upgraded drivers and/or reload the Network drivers.
    4. Replace the Network Interface Card.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

    We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results in a reply here

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results to notepad and then automatically open notepad.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results to a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy
    Now go back to the forum - reply and then right click in the reply box and paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  4. Polly757

    Polly757 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Many thanks for the various replies. I have to admit to not understanding them all and was about to start Googling the various phrases however I have just switched on the problematic computer (there has been another power cut today while I was out) and as if by magic, it is all working again! Most peculiar.
     
  5. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,411
    First Name:
    Wayne
    (y) its all working
    i would get some surge protectors if not already fitted otherwise you may have more issues and electrical devices damaged
     
  6. Polly757

    Polly757 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    yes, good idea.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1030272

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice