1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: IP Address not Assigned by DHCP server. Eh? No Internet Connection...

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Pity_the_PCfool, Nov 19, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Pity_the_PCfool

    Pity_the_PCfool Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Hello

    I hope you guys can help me, sorry this is very long and clueless. I am not techy at all.

    I have 2 PC's connected via ethernet cable to a router provided by my ISP (Orange Livebox). One PC has Windows XP (hubby's) and one has Windows 7 (mine).

    Until about 2 weeks ago both PC's were working fine and no internet connection problems. We lost our connection one Friday night along with thousands of other people in our area. It was fixed on Saturday but ever since then my PC has been dropping it's internet connection but my husband's PC is working normally.

    My internet connection drops and will only come back on if I unplug the router and leave it off for a minute then plug it back in. Connection then works for a few hours (usually up to 7 or 8 hours) before dropping again.

    I get this error in the Event Viewer when it happens:

    "Your computer was not assigned an address from the network (by the DHCP server) for the network card with network address xxlong number herexx. the following error occurred: 0x79. Your computer will continue to try and obtain an address on it's own from the network address (DHCP) server."

    Have contacted the ISP "support" who sent a new Livebox and ethernet cables. I thought this had worked but lost the connection again the next day. Phoned them again and they say they will test the line and get back to me (they also said this last time). They are useless and I would change ISP but my husband is the account holder and his PC is fine, so....

    When I installed the new router it came with a CD which worked on my PC, but wouldn't play on XP so hubby's PC is working OK but has no software for the new router. I have tried to access the configuration pages from his PC but it won't work (pages open very slowly and config parts are missing).

    So far I have tried without success:

    changing ethernet cables for known working ones
    opening up PC case and checking network adapter isn't loose
    ipconfig /release and renew, which gives an error message when I try to renew
    the winsock fix that starts with netsh something (sorry can't remember it all and am not on my own PC obv.)
    checking for newer driver for network adapter (windows says I already have it)

    Device Manager shows no problems with anything.

    Sorry this is so long, but I have been trying various things for nearly 2 weeks now. My useless ISP support have asked me not to re-start my router until they finish "checking the line" so I am using hubby's PC when i get the chance. He will not stand for me turning the router off and on at night as he plays poker and doesn't want his PC disconnected.

    I have tried turning off the firewall too, but now have Windows telling me that my anti-virus app is managing the firewall even though I've asked it to turn off. I don't actually know if it's on or off at the moment. This is a 6 month old Dell machine and has McAffee which I don't really understand how to use.

    I have been fiddling with the network settings in desperation and have no doubt caused more problems for myself, but can't seem to find anyone at my ISP support who can help. I'm frustrated beyond belief by this!

    There are other error messages too, mostly DHCP and DNS stuff.



    Here is the ipconfig /all from both PC's:


    This is my (the non-working connection) results:

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]

    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Windows\system32>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration
    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Home-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    System Quarantine State . . . . . : Not Restricted (this line just appeared today! WTF?)

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom NetLink (TM) Gigabit Ethernet
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : A4-BA-DB-E2-B6-74
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::e55a:28e7:1971:a033%11(Preferred)
    Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.160.51(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 245676763
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-13-7F-AC-50-A4-BA-DB-E2-B6-74

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{4576D4B7-948E-4479-A524-4435DB832931}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    C:\Windows\system32>


    END OF



    Here is the one that is working (hubby's XP):


    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\General>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : EVESHAM
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Hawking Technologies HWPG1 Wireless-
    G PCI Card
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0E-3B-08-59-82

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-16-17-6E-0F-DB
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.78
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 19 November 2010 09:39:21
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 20 November 2010 09:39:21

    C:\Documents and Settings\General>

    END OF

    The settings that are showing on hubby's used to be the same as mine except his address was 192.168.1.78 and mine was 192.168.1.79. I have tried to manually enter these settings but nothing changed (not sure if I did it right though) and also this new router seems to have different settings to the old one, but as I can't access the configuration pages for it, I could be wrong.

    I am confused.

    Any thoughts?

    Apologies for length and ramblingness.
     
  2. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,761
    Press the Windows key + R to open a Run box.

    Type services.msc

    Click OK.

    Locate the DHCP Client service.

    Double-click it.

    Make sure it's Started and the Startup Type is set to Automatic.

    If the service is already Started, try Stopping and Restarting it.
     
  3. Pity_the_PCfool

    Pity_the_PCfool Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Thanks for your reply :)

    It was already started and set to Automatic, but I stopped and started it again and all I got was a couple of information entries in the Event Viewer saying it had stopped and started. No change to my connection.
     
  4. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,761
    Try rebooting the computer.


    If no luck,

    Try the following (again if you have already tried it):

    Click Start > Programs > Accessories > right-click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    In the Command Prompt, type in the bold text, one command after the other, pressing Enter between each of them:

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults: netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults: netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the computer.
     
  5. Pity_the_PCfool

    Pity_the_PCfool Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Darn, just when I find someone willing to help i have to get off this computer :(

    I won't be able to use this one for a few hours now due to poker, but I'll do what you suggest and come back as soon as I can. (or maybe get on my own one if it works).

    Thanks again.
     
  6. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,761
    You're welcome!
     
  7. Pity_the_PCfool

    Pity_the_PCfool Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Back again.

    I did all those netsh commands and got OK's until I got to the ipv6 one, it said "There's no user specified settings to be reset". That was in the cmd window itself, not the Event Viewer.

    I re-booted after but no change to my connection.

    If my ISP doesn't get back to me by tomorrow evening I'm going to re-start the router again to get some internet access. It's too inconvenient to keep trying to use this machine when my husband is using it. It's 11pm here now and I've got an early start tomorrow so we're off to bed shortly.

    If I had internet access, would it make troubleshooting harder?
     
  8. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,761
    What's the error message?

    Is your router set with DHCP?
     
  9. Pity_the_PCfool

    Pity_the_PCfool Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    This is the whole thing:

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
    C:\Windows\system32>ipconfig /release
    Windows IP Configuration
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::e55a:28e7:1971:a033%11
    Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.160.51
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{4576D4B7-948E-4479-A524-4435DB832931}:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

    C:\Windows\system32>ipconfig /renew

    Windows IP Configuration

    An error occurred while renewing interface Local Area Connection : unable to contact your DHCP server. Request has timed out.

    C:\Windows\system32>

    Thanks :)
     
  10. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,761
    Is your router configured to use DHCP?
     
  11. Pity_the_PCfool

    Pity_the_PCfool Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Doh, I don't know. I can't access the router configuration pages unless I have an internet connection. Is there any other way to check?

    Although this PC is working, I can't access the configuration pages on it - they just don't load properly. I can check tomorrow on my own computer if I unplug the router and plug it back in.
     
  12. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,761
  13. Pity_the_PCfool

    Pity_the_PCfool Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Can't access the pages on my PC. Firefox says server not found, IE says Cannot Display Page.

    On hubby's PC I finally got access, but it was so slow I thought it was about to crash. Under Network configuration it says DHCP Enabled.

    The settings for ADSL and Network are different addresses, is that right?
     
  14. Pity_the_PCfool

    Pity_the_PCfool Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    I cut and pasted these settings from the router pages:

    Network

    Enable DHCP Server: Enabled

    LAN IP address: 192.168.1.1
    Broadcast LAN IP address: 192.168.1.255
    Subnet mask: 255.255.255.0
    DHCP start address: 192.168.1.9
    DHCP server end address 192.168.1.200

    ADSL

    WAN IP address: 95.145.56.185
    Gateway: 217.47.207.250
    Primary DNS server: 193.36.79.101
    Secondary DNS server 193.36.79.100

    I also noticed under "Dynamic DNS" it says "Server Status: Off". Is that right?
     
  15. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,761
    Have you tried uninstalling and reinstalling your network adapter driver?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/963475

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice