1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: IP is stuck in a wireless network, how to reset it?

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by HipHoper, Aug 22, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. HipHoper

    HipHoper Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    108
    Hi everybody,
    I'm having an ethernet card to go online and I tried everything to connect my computer to the internet but they all failed. After several attempts with the internet support guy to connect my computer, he finally told me that the ip that shows up in my computer is a wireless router ip that I used somewhere sometime and it is stuck. So, it's preventing the new ip from taking its place. How can remove the stuck ip from my ethernet card? I hope I'm making sense and there's actually a way to do that because that what I've basically understood from the support guy after checking the signal that reaches the modem and turned to be high. When I connect the computer from the wireless connection from the neighbor is working. Any questions or suggestions are welcome.
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,636
    First Name:
    Terry
    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
     
  3. HipHoper

    HipHoper Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    108
    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\HIP>config /all
    'config' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    operable program or batch file.

    C:\Documents and Settings\HIP>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : your-a2ca088d02
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : Yes
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8169/8110 Family Gigabit
    Ethernet NIC
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-03-0D-38-28-5C

    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 2200BG Network
    Connection
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-15-00-12-7D-FB
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.101
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 204.127.203.135
    216.148.225.135
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, August 22, 2007 8:17:07 P
    M
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, August 23, 2007 8:17:07 PM


    C:\Documents and Settings\HIP>
    -----------------------------------------

    thanks for ur prompt response. by the way the results above are not from the cable that I have it is for a neighbors wireless router. because when i connected mine what i got was "the operation failed as no adapter is in the state permissible for this operation".
     
  4. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    Your wired adapter shows it as disconnected:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8169/8110 Family Gigabit

    Are you sure the cable and port it is connected to are known working ones.
     
  5. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,636
    First Name:
    Terry
    I never heard of getting that error with "ipconfig"!

    Your problem may have to do with having ICS enabled. Disable it. Then in Network Connections - right click on the ethernet - Properties - Internet Protocol (TCP/IP) - Properties - select 'obtain IP auto' and 'obtain DNS' auto.
     
  6. HipHoper

    HipHoper Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    108
    Hi Bob,
    The cable as I was taking to the company rep, he said that there is a high signal going to my modem. I assume that it is working as about the port I seriously don't know but is there a way to find out if it is working or not?

    hey TerryNet would you please tell me how to enable ICS so I can begin to do the properties work with the ethernet card.
     
  7. The Hound

    The Hound

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,235
  8. The Hound

    The Hound

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,235
    Try start, control panel (classic view), network connections, right click your wireless connection, and left click disable from the menu. Close control panel

    Click start, run, type cmd and click ok.
    Type ipconfig /flushdns and press enter
    Type ipconfig /release and press enter.
    Type icponfig /renew and press enter.
    Type exit, press enter, and see how you're doing...
     
  9. HipHoper

    HipHoper Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    108
    Hi Hound,

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    Windows IP Configuration

    Could not flush the DNS Resolver Cache: Function failed during execution.


    C:\Documents and Settings\THAMER>ipconfig /release

    Windows IP Configuration

    No operation can be performed on Wireless Network Connection while it has its me
    dia disconnected.

    C:\Documents and Settings\THAMER>ipconfig /renew

    Windows IP Configuration

    No operation can be performed on Wireless Network Connection while it has its me
    dia disconnected.
     
  10. The Hound

    The Hound

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,235
    The cable that Bob Cerelli was talking about--that's from the ethernet card on your computer to the cable modem. From what the cable people said, your modem is getting a signal, but the signal is not getting from the modem to your ethernet card.
     
  11. HipHoper

    HipHoper Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    108
    YES YES YES!! HOORAY! Thanks for the help guys. I just wanna meet the company's rep guy and kick his butt so hard because he wanted me to buy another ethernet card. After saying that the ICS is enabled and has to be disabled I checked all the networks that I have and I found the wireless connection is enabled to allow other users to connect through my computer so unchecked it and now it is working like it is supposed to.

    love this forum and love the intelligence in here.

    BEST REGARDS
     
  12. The Hound

    The Hound

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,235
    Glad it worked out---I don't think the cable guy gains much by getting you to buy another fifteen dollar ethernet card...Please use the thread tools at the top right to mark this one solved...
     
  13. HipHoper

    HipHoper Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    108
    he just sounded so sure that the problem is not an option that u change but it was a hardware problem. he made me believe that.
     
  14. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,636
    First Name:
    Terry
    Glad you got it working!

    We have to keep in mind that ISP tech support people are trained and paid to solve issues with the ISP's service and equipment. When they try to reach out and help with other stuff (such as a computer) they are just trying to be helpful, and may not have the expertise.

    Here you don't get the specialized knowledge of your particular ISP, but you get several people who have a variety of experiences and, together, wide knowledge.

    The secret to getting help is to be able to describe your problem and to use both specialized tech support and this forum.
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/613823

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice