1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: IPv6 not working

Discussion in 'Networking' started by tucalipe, Jul 11, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. tucalipe

    tucalipe Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    > Hi. Title says all. I have a Windows XP Dekstop and a Windows 7 Laptop. The desktop is linked to a TP-Link TL-WR340GD Router via Ethernet cable, while the laptop is linked to the router via wireless connection. The router is, in turn, connected to a PPPoE modem to acces the internet.

    > Even though the connection on my laptop has IPv6 enabled, I can't access any IPv6 adresses (nor use Messenger's Remote Assistance - it says Teredo has been deactivated) like http://www.ipv6.sixxs.net/ .

    > How can I enable IPv6 on my computers/router/modem?
    > Well... How can I use the Remote Assistance? would be a more accurate question. Accessing IPv6 adresses isn't quite a priority right now.

    > If it helps: Here's my laptop ipconfig (translated, as I'm using a brazilian OS):

    Code:
    Windows IP config
    
    Host name: Kelutrel
    Primary DNS Suffix:
    Node type: Hybrid
    IP Routing activated: no
    WINS Proxy activated: no
    
    Ethernet Network Adapter for Bluetooth Connection
    
    Media state: unknown media
    Connection Specific DNS sufix:
    Description: Bluetooth Device (Personal Network)
    Physical Adress: 00-26-5E-93-8B
    DHCP Enabled: Yes
    Automatic Config Enabled: Yes
    
    Wireless Network Adapter
    
    Connection Specific DNS suffix: 
    Description: Dell Wireless 1397 WLAN Mini Card
    Physical Adress: 0C-60-76-2E-B6-26
    DCHP Enabled: No
    Automatic Config Enabled: Yes
    IPv4 Adress: 192.168.1.101 (preferential)
    Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway: 200.204.0.10
    DNS Servers: 200.204.0.10 and 200.204.0.138
    NetBIOS on Tcpip: enabled
    
    Ethernet Local Connection Adapter:
    
    Media state: unknown media
    Connection Specific DNS suffix:
    Description: Realtek PCIe FE Family Controller
    Physical Adress: A4-BA-DB-A9-6F-62
    DCHP Enabled: Yes
    Automatic Config: Yes
    
     
  2. centauricw

    centauricw

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    444
    Is your ISP supporting IPv6 yet? You can only use IPv6 if your ISP supports it.

    My understanding is that most ISPs in the Americas (North and South) have yet to roll out IPv6. Asia, particularly Japan, seems to be the only area where IPv6 is gaining acceptance.
     
  3. tucalipe

    tucalipe Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    > Problem is, how can I use Remote Assistance if I don't have IPv6 activated? I get a "The machine's administrator has de-activated Teredo locally" error when I try offering assistance.
     
  4. centauricw

    centauricw

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    444
    Teredo is a protocol to tunnel IPv6 over IPv4 and would used only if you have a remote IPv6 system to connect to through a Teredo server. In most cases, it's not needed.

    Since you don't have access to an IPv6 network, you can't access IPv6 addresses. You need use IPv4 for Remote Assistance since that's the network you are on. If fact, you could disable IPv6 on your laptop without causing any problems.
     
  5. tucalipe

    tucalipe Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    > Then how can I set up RA to use IPv4? When I try giving assistance, I get a "Could not connect" error. And after clicking "Try Troubleshooting", this is the report I get:

    [​IMG]
    > Again, it's in portuguese, and translated below.
     
  6. chrisklinton

    chrisklinton

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    I think, Most ISPs have yet to roll out IPv6 in america.....So it's best option to go with other one....
     
  7. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Configure for IPv4.
     
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,592
    What computer is requesting RA? By what method? What computer is trying to offer the requested RA?
     
  9. tucalipe

    tucalipe Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    > Requestee: Compaq Laptop running Windows Vista. Direct DSL connection (no router).
    > Requested: Dell Laptop running Windows 7. PPPoE connection behind a Wireless Router

    > RA request method is via Live Messenger's Activity Menu -> Request Remote Assistance.

    > How, may I ask?
     
  10. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,592
  11. tucalipe

    tucalipe Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    > Aha... That makes sense. Thanks.
     
  12. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,592
    You've verified that was the issue? And can connect now?
     
  13. tucalipe

    tucalipe Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    > Yes. Works perfectly now. Thanks.
     
  14. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,592
    You're welcome. :)
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/935031