1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Is HughesNet satellite service router compatible?

Discussion in 'Networking' started by redoak, Mar 15, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. redoak

    redoak Gone but never forgotten Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    6,782
    I am now using HughesNet satellite service. Can a router be used in conjunction with HN?

    I am totally unfamiliar with routers. I assume the feed from the HN modem that now goes to my computer would go directly into the router, if using a router is possible. Is this correct?

    I sure would appreciate any comments that will gain me some sophistication in the employment of routers, esp. with satellite service.

    Thanks, {redoak}
     
  2. Saga Lout

    Saga Lout

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    3,791
    A router has to have some sort of handle on an Internet connection and I've yet to see one that can do that wirelessly, Red. They ship data wirelessly, of course, and can exchange it between wireless transmitters but the only way to contact a satellite service - in the UK anyway - is by using a wireless dongle and cutting the router stage out completely. What equipment does the service you're buying offer you?

     
  3. Hughv

    Hughv

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    8,450
  4. redoak

    redoak Gone but never forgotten Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    6,782
    Thanks for the response "SL". Go to the link below to see the actual HN modem that is now installed. It is the white one in the upper left.

    There re two cables that come from the dish to this modem- outgoing and incoming modes have separate cables.

    From the modem there is a cable to my computer's LAN port. Nothing is wireless at this time.

    I have thought of wireless so that I could take a laptop outdoors on an hospitable day, rather than working in the stuffy indoors. If you go to my website (see 'sig') you will see why I would want to be outdoors!

    {redoak}

    http://welcome.hughesnet.com/select_modem.cfm
     
  5. redoak

    redoak Gone but never forgotten Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    6,782
    Hughv: Your post came along as I was composing my reply to "SL." Thanks for that link! I do have the HN9000 Hughes modem.

    {redoak}
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    If that satellite modem has an Ethernet output, I can't imagine why it won't work with a standard router.
     
  7. redoak

    redoak Gone but never forgotten Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    6,782
    It is abundantly clear that I can construct a wireless arrangement. Therefore, I have declared the Thread "Solved>"

    Thanks for the responses, as always.

    {redoak}
     
  8. Saga Lout

    Saga Lout

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    3,791

    Sorry for my misleading comments - you folks are way ahead of us Brits if you have ethernet links from a satellite dish. :mad:

     
  9. Hughv

    Hughv

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    8,450
    That's why they called it a "revolutionary" war.:)
     
  10. redoak

    redoak Gone but never forgotten Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    6,782
    It appears that I may be in the "same boat" as another OP who had a DLink modem that had no "WAN" port. Here is the concluding statement on that Thread (http://forums.techguy.org/networking/912205-connecting-dlink-router-satellite-modem.html):
    Hi John, [JohnWill- redoak]

    Thank you so much. It turns out that router doesn't even have a WAN port! Can you believe it? It has a DSL port for a phone line plug and 4 LAN ports - that's it.

    I went and purchased a new DLink DIR625 router that has the WAN port for the ethernet cable and now I'm writing to you via wireless connection. Hooray!
    - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -- - - - - - - - -- -
    HOWEVER, I have a DIR-625 router. I do not find any port marked "WAN". I have sent a "PM" to the othe "OP" to ask that the model of the replacement router be checked, The actual physical router I have, forget the label, has one port marked "Internet," which does accommodate the ethernet cable from the HughesNet router, and four with the "LAN" label. Is it possible that DLink has changed the labeling along the way and my "Internet" port is a "WAN" port?

    My problem is exactly that of the other "OP"- excellent connection between my computer and the router, but no Internet connection. The several browsers I have tried all come back with the generic error message 'can't find the page.' Hopefully, my problem will not require the purchase of a different router.

    Your help with this will be greatly appreciated.

    {redoak}
     
  11. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,547
    The WAN port on a router is sometimes labeled WAN, sometimes Modem and sometimes Internet; so, no worries there.

    This HN9000 User Guide I have been reading is pretty confusing and may have been written by somebody from another planet--or maybe a satellite. Anyhow, it appears that it can be configured as a modem/router (if you have a "private IP plan") or as a modem only although they do not use that language. When configured as a modem/router the default LAN address is 192.168.0.1. The default LAN address of a D-Link router is (typically) 192.168.0.1, so that conflict is probably why you do not get internet access through the D-Link.

    If you show an ipconfig /all for a connection directly to the HN9000 we can determine whether it has that LAN address (by the Default Gateway address).

    If I'm right about the conflict the easiest thing for you to do is probably to change the LAN address of the D-Link to something else; say, 192.168.3.1.

    Please show for a connection directly to the HN9000 ...

    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
    (For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    [Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
     
  12. Saga Lout

    Saga Lout

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    3,791

    I wish I had a pound - or even just a dollar :D - for every time I've seen that message then watched while the AV toddles off and successfully updates itself. Have you got something you can send off for an update to see if the system is actually connected to the Net?

     
  13. redoak

    redoak Gone but never forgotten Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    6,782
    Below is the diagnostic info. Added info re what I did to set up the router: I followed the DLink Wizard's instructions, as was urged by DLink. There were questions re some ID/settings/etc. info that I did not understand, so I didn't do anything. {redoak}

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\CGS- Administrator>IPCONFIG /ALL

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : self
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Networ
    k Connection
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-18-DE-A1-99-0C
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.255
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%4
    fec0:0:0:ffff::2%4
    fec0:0:0:ffff::3%4

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 6:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Generic Marvell Yukon 88E8056 based
    Ethernet Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1B-FC-9A-AA-41
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.2
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::21b:fcff:fe9a:aa41%6
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 67.142.160.8
    67.142.160.9
    fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, March 27, 2010 4:08:31 AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, March 27, 2010 5:08:31 AM

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 80-00-FB-F2-9E-B6-7B-2A
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e76:8000:fbf2:9eb6:7b2a

    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::ffff:ffff:fffd%5
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    Tunnel adapter Automatic Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Automatic Tunneling Pseudo-Interface

    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : C0-A8-00-02
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::5efe:192.168.0.2%2
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    C:\Documents and Settings\CGS- Administrator>
    [NOTE: This line repeated itself numerous times. I deleted all the duplicates. – redoak]
     
  14. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,547
    That is with a connection directly to the HN9000, right? The rest of this post assumes so.

    I will refer to the DIR-625 Product Manual. If you have Rev. C of the router, there may be slight differences, but they often don't bother changing the manual.

    Reset the D-Link router to factory default settings (p. 7 and p. 73 under "What can I do if I forgot my password."

    With a computer connected to a LAN port, but with the WAN port not connected, login to the router (p. 12),
    click on Manual Configuration if necessary to avoid the "Wizard,"
    click on Network Settings in the left pane,
    enter 192.168.3.1 for the "Router IP address" (p. 27),
    if the 3rd digit of the "DHCP IP Address Range" does not automatically change from 0 to 3 then you make that change,
    click on "Save settings" at the top of the page.

    You can now connect the HN9000 to the D-Link's WAN port, and you should have internet access. Note that you will now use 192.168.3.1 to access the D-Link and 192.168.0.1 will access the HN9000.
     
  15. redoak

    redoak Gone but never forgotten Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    6,782
    "TN": It appears that the changes you had me make have put me in business. However, not all the sites I try to connect with work. Instead I am sent to-
    http://dir-625.bsecure.com/registra....168.3.199&deviceid=5&brandid=1&appid=7000101

    This is a DLink page! I tried several browsers with the same result. I can't even reach TSG! I am posting directly thru the HughesNet modem.

    In the case of trying to update AVG 9 anti-virus, I was told the page could not be reached, that my firewall might be a problem. But that doesn't happen when I go directly thru the HN modem.

    Below is a new diagnostics report. I thought perhaps this would help find the cause of this NEW problem.

    Many thanks for you continuing assistance, {redoak}

    p.s. Yesterday I tried to post an intermediate report, but the TSG server was out of business. I was given an "error 404" message.
    - - - - - - - - - - - - - -- -

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\CGS- Administrator>IPCONFIG /ALL

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : self
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Networ
    k Connection
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-18-DE-A1-99-0C
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.3.199
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::218:deff:fea1:990c%4
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.3.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.3.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.3.1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::1%4
    fec0:0:0:ffff::2%4
    fec0:0:0:ffff::3%4
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, March 28, 2010 3:41:54 AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Monday, March 29, 2010 3:41:54 AM

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 6:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Generic Marvell Yukon 88E8056 based
    Ethernet Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1B-FC-9A-AA-41
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.2
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::21b:fcff:fe9a:aa41%6
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 67.142.160.8
    67.142.160.9
    fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, March 28, 2010 7:41:54 AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, March 28, 2010 8:41:54 AM

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::ffff:ffff:fffd%5
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    Tunnel adapter Automatic Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Automatic Tunneling Pseudo-Interface

    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : C0-A8-00-02
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::5efe:192.168.0.2%2
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    Tunnel adapter Automatic Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Automatic Tunneling Pseudo-Interface

    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : C0-A8-03-C7
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::5efe:192.168.3.199%2
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%4
    fec0:0:0:ffff::2%4
    fec0:0:0:ffff::3%4
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    C:\Documents and Settings\CGS- Administrator>
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/910188