1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Is it OK to dicuss specific Internet servers?

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by Island Girl, Jan 18, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Island Girl

Island Girl Thread Starter

Here's the thing...I have a great nearly new P.C and it doesn't connect and/or surf the Web any faster then my old crappy one did! I'm soooo frustrated. I assume it's my server but everyone else I know with the same server isn't having problems...
    What to do??? Insist they come check the wires? Any suggestions? Any help appreciated!
    Will give server name when I have the go ahead :confused: :)
    P.S. I've been using this server for about six years and have never had "fast connections"

2. Bob Cerelli

Bob Cerelli

The Internet speed is more determined by the speed at which you connect to the Internet rather than the speed of the computer.

For example, if you have a 1 Ghz computer and a 3 Ghz computer, the 3 Ghz is not going to be 3 times faster connecting to the Internet. In fact you likely won't see much difference. Any difference will be from things like how fast is loads IE. But the connection speed is the same.

3. Island Girl

Thanks Bob...(y)
    Here are some visuals that might better explain my situation...
    Specs: Dell Dimension 9150 Intel Pentium D Processer(3.0GHz) w/Dual Core Technology.
    Hard Drive,320 G,S2#1
    Dual inline memory Module 1G, 2x512,533 1R,N-ECC
    Windows XP Media Edition

Attached Files:

4. TOGG

TOGG