1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Is my CPU on the blink?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by danskibee, Jan 9, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. danskibee

    danskibee Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    155
    Hiya,

    Had my PC for just over a year (prob about 18 months) and its been absolutely brilliant since I got it. I've upgraded just about everything, graphics card, RAM, hard drives and even the OS, however I'm still running off the same Pentium 4 HT CPU and wondering whether that should be the next on my list.

    It was running fine up until a few months ago, now it seems to stutter every sort of 30 seconds whilst in a game and I think I've got it narrowed down to the CPU by quickly ALT Tabbing to resource monitor when I notice the stuttering.

    Vista reports CPU as the lowest subscore on the experience index at only 4.3 - whereas my graphics and hard drive etc. is 5.3 and above.

    It's played games alright before, how come it is finding it difficult to cope with games only recently? Come to think of it, I did just get a new monitor before Christmas which meant a higher resolution in games, so I wonder if that's done it.

    If so, which CPU should I go for? I've not got a huge budget, looking for a mid-gaming one for sub-£100?

    Thanks!
     
  2. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    37,436
    CPUs generally work or they do not. They do not "Wear out"
    My first guess is that vista is much more hardware intensive than xp. When your games ran OK did you have xp and not vista?
    Next guess would be some type of spyware/malware that is taking up cpu cycles.
     
  3. danskibee

    danskibee Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    155
    I've had Vista pretty much since I got the PC. I upgraded from XP a number of months after I got it. It's only recently I got a new monitor and upgraded the RAM, apart from that there's nothing different.

    I'll do a thorough sweep and see if that comes up with anything.
     
  4. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    37,436
    One other item to checkout. When you installed the ram, do you now have all four slots on the board filled? If so, some boards downclock the ram to a slower speed with all four slots filled. I have a board here that does just that. No matter what speed is set in the bios when you restart, it runs @166 instead of the rated speed of 200.

    You might want to post a hijack log for a security person to checkout for you.
     
  5. danskibee

    danskibee Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    155
    I only have 2 RAM slots in my system, and I replaced one 512MB and one 1GB with 2 matched, dual-channel compatible 2GB sticks of same make and speed, which should technically put the speed up. I have noticed an increase in system performance in RAM respect, its just this CPU stuttering.

    Still doing a spyware sweep but looks clean so far. Hijack also came up with nothing incriminating as far as I could tell...
     
  6. Tumbleweed36

    Tumbleweed36

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2004
    Messages:
    736
    I must agree that the problem you are seeing is NOT coming from a failing or ailing CPU. That just rarely happens and as was mentioned, they work or they don't as a general rule.
     
  7. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    37,436
    Post the hijack log and we can have a security person check it for you.
     
  8. danskibee

    danskibee Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    155
    Ok, here it is -

    Logfile of Trend Micro HijackThis v2.0.0 (BETA)
    Scan saved at 08:06:47, on 11/01/2008
    Platform: Windows Vista (WinNT 6.00.1904)
    Boot mode: Normal

    Running processes:
    C:\Windows\system32\taskeng.exe
    C:\Windows\system32\Dwm.exe
    C:\Windows\Explorer.EXE
    C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.6.0_03\bin\jusched.exe
    C:\Program Files\Labtec\Desktop\V5.1\MOffice.exe
    C:\Program Files\Grisoft\AVG7\avgcc.exe
    C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 8.0\Acrobat\acrotray.exe
    C:\Windows\System32\CtHelper.exe
    C:\Windows\System32\rundll32.exe
    C:\Program Files\Windows Sidebar\sidebar.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Ahead\Lib\NMBgMonitor.exe
    C:\Windows\ehome\ehtray.exe
    F:\Program Files\Steam\Steam.exe
    C:\Program Files\Windows Media Player\wmpnscfg.exe
    C:\Windows\system32\wbem\unsecapp.exe
    C:\Windows\System32\rundll32.exe
    C:\Windows\ehome\ehmsas.exe
    C:\Program Files\Windows Sidebar\sidebar.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Ahead\Lib\NMIndexStoreSvr.exe
    C:\Program Files\Mozilla Thunderbird\thunderbird.exe
    C:\Program Files\MSN Messenger\msnmsgr.exe
    C:\Program Files\Last.fm\LastFMHelper.exe
    C:\Program Files\Windows Media Player\wmplayer.exe
    C:\Program Files\Last.fm\LastFM.exe
    C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe
    C:\Users\Danny\Downloads\HiJackThis_v2.exe

    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=54896
    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=69157
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=69157
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Search_URL = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=54896
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=54896
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=69157
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,SearchAssistant =
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,CustomizeSearch =
    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Toolbar,LinksFolderName =
    O1 - Hosts: ::1 localhost
    O2 - BHO: btorbit.com - {000123B4-9B42-4900-B3F7-F4B073EFC214} - C:\Program Files\Orbitdownloader\orbitcth.dll
    O2 - BHO: Adobe PDF Reader Link Helper - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe\Acrobat\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.dll
    O2 - BHO: Spybot-S&D IE Protection - {53707962-6F74-2D53-2644-206D7942484F} - C:\PROGRA~1\SPYBOT~1\SDHelper.dll
    O2 - BHO: SSVHelper Class - {761497BB-D6F0-462C-B6EB-D4DAF1D92D43} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.6.0_03\bin\ssv.dll
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {7E853D72-626A-48EC-A868-BA8D5E23E045} - (no file)
    O2 - BHO: Adobe PDF Conversion Toolbar Helper - {AE7CD045-E861-484f-8273-0445EE161910} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 8.0\Acrobat\AcroIEFavClient.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: Adobe PDF - {47833539-D0C5-4125-9FA8-0819E2EAAC93} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 8.0\Acrobat\AcroIEFavClient.dll
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Windows Defender] %ProgramFiles%\Windows Defender\MSASCui.exe -hide
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SunJavaUpdateSched] "C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.6.0_03\bin\jusched.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [snpstd] C:\Windows\vsnpstd.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [OFFICEKB] C:\Program Files\Labtec\Desktop\V5.1\kbdap32a.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [FLMOFFICE4DMOUSE] C:\Program Files\Labtec\Desktop\V5.1\moffice.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AVG7_CC] C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVG7\avgcc.exe /STARTUP
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NeroFilterCheck] C:\Program Files\Common Files\Ahead\Lib\NeroCheck.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Acrobat Assistant 8.0] "C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 8.0\Acrobat\Acrotray.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [PCSuiteTrayApplication] C:\Program Files\Nokia\Nokia PC Suite 6\LaunchApplication.exe -startup
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QuickTime Task] "C:\Program Files\QuickTime\QTTask.exe" -atboottime
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [CTHelper] CTHELPER.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [CTxfiHlp] CTXFIHLP.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Gainward] C:\Windows\TBPanel.exe /A
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvSvc] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\Windows\system32\nvsvc.dll,nvsvcStart
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvCplDaemon] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\Windows\system32\NvCpl.dll,NvStartup
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvMediaCenter] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\Windows\system32\NvMcTray.dll,NvTaskbarInit
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Sidebar] C:\Program Files\Windows Sidebar\sidebar.exe /autoRun
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [BgMonitor_{79662E04-7C6C-4d9f-84C7-88D8A56B10AA}] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Ahead\Lib\NMBgMonitor.exe"
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [ehTray.exe] C:\Windows\ehome\ehTray.exe
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [NVIDIA nTune] "C:\Program Files\NVIDIA Corporation\nTune\nTuneCmd.exe" clear
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Steam] "F:\Program Files\Steam\Steam.exe" -silent
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [DAEMON Tools Pro Agent] "C:\Program Files\DAEMON Tools Pro\DTProAgent.exe"
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [WMPNSCFG] C:\Program Files\Windows Media Player\WMPNSCFG.exe
    O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-18\..\Run: [AVG7_Run] C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVG7\avgw.exe /RUNONCE (User 'SYSTEM')
    O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-18\..\Run: [Nokia.PCSync] C:\Program Files\Nokia\Nokia PC Suite 6\PcSync2.exe /NoDialog (User 'SYSTEM')
    O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-18\..\Run: [DevconDefaultDB] C:\Windows\system32\READREG /SILENT /FAIL=1 (User 'SYSTEM')
    O4 - HKUS\.DEFAULT\..\Run: [AVG7_Run] C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVG7\avgw.exe /RUNONCE (User 'Default user')
    O4 - Startup: Adobe Gamma.lnk = C:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe\Calibration\Adobe Gamma Loader.exe
    O4 - Startup: Last.fm Helper.lnk = C:\Program Files\Last.fm\LastFMHelper.exe
    O8 - Extra context menu item: &Download by Orbit - res://C:\Program Files\Orbitdownloader\orbitmxt.dll/201
    O8 - Extra context menu item: &Grab video by Orbit - res://C:\Program Files\Orbitdownloader\orbitmxt.dll/204
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Append to existing PDF - res://C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 8.0\Acrobat\AcroIEFavClient.dll/AcroIEAppend.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Convert link target to Adobe PDF - res://C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 8.0\Acrobat\AcroIEFavClient.dll/AcroIECapture.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Convert link target to existing PDF - res://C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 8.0\Acrobat\AcroIEFavClient.dll/AcroIEAppend.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Convert selected links to Adobe PDF - res://C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 8.0\Acrobat\AcroIEFavClient.dll/AcroIECaptureSelLinks.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Convert selected links to existing PDF - res://C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 8.0\Acrobat\AcroIEFavClient.dll/AcroIEAppendSelLinks.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Convert selection to Adobe PDF - res://C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 8.0\Acrobat\AcroIEFavClient.dll/AcroIECapture.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Convert selection to existing PDF - res://C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 8.0\Acrobat\AcroIEFavClient.dll/AcroIEAppend.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Convert to Adobe PDF - res://C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 8.0\Acrobat\AcroIEFavClient.dll/AcroIECapture.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Do&wnload selected by Orbit - res://C:\Program Files\Orbitdownloader\orbitmxt.dll/203
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Down&load all by Orbit - res://C:\Program Files\Orbitdownloader\orbitmxt.dll/202
    O8 - Extra context menu item: E&xport to Microsoft Excel - res://C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~2\Office12\EXCEL.EXE/3000
    O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.6.0_03\bin\ssv.dll
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Sun Java Console - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.6.0_03\bin\ssv.dll
    O9 - Extra button: Research - {92780B25-18CC-41C8-B9BE-3C9C571A8263} - C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~2\Office12\REFIEBAR.DLL
    O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {DFB852A3-47F8-48C4-A200-58CAB36FD2A2} - C:\PROGRA~1\SPYBOT~1\SDHelper.dll
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Spybot - Search & Destroy Configuration - {DFB852A3-47F8-48C4-A200-58CAB36FD2A2} - C:\PROGRA~1\SPYBOT~1\SDHelper.dll
    O13 - Gopher Prefix:
    O16 - DPF: {71D413D7-38C5-4035-8548-976522CF11D5} (Crucial cpcScan) - http://www.crucial.com/controls/cpcVistaBeta.cab
    O16 - DPF: {D821DC4A-0814-435E-9820-661C543A4679} (CRLDownloadWrapper Class) - http://drmlicense.one.microsoft.com/crlupdate/en/crlocx.ocx
    O20 - Winlogon Notify: avgwlntf - C:\Windows\SYSTEM32\avgwlntf.dll
    O22 - SharedTaskScheduler: Component Categories cache daemon - {8C7461EF-2B13-11d2-BE35-3078302C2030} - C:\Windows\system32\browseui.dll
    O23 - Service: Adobe LM Service - Adobe Systems - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe Systems Shared\Service\Adobelmsvc.exe
    O23 - Service: Autodesk Licensing Service - Autodesk - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Autodesk Shared\Service\AdskScSrv.exe
    O23 - Service: AVG7 Alert Manager Server (Avg7Alrt) - GRISOFT, s.r.o. - C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVG7\avgamsvr.exe
    O23 - Service: AVG7 Update Service (Avg7UpdSvc) - GRISOFT, s.r.o. - C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVG7\avgupsvc.exe
    O23 - Service: AVG7 Resident Shield Service (AvgCoreSvc) - GRISOFT, s.r.o. - C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVG7\avgrssvc.exe
    O23 - Service: AVG E-mail Scanner (AVGEMS) - GRISOFT, s.r.o. - C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVG7\avgemc.exe
    O23 - Service: FLEXnet Licensing Service - Macrovision Europe Ltd. - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Macrovision Shared\FLEXnet Publisher\FNPLicensingService.exe
    O23 - Service: InstallDriver Table Manager (IDriverT) - Macrovision Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\InstallShield\Driver\1050\Intel 32\IDriverT.exe
    O23 - Service: NMIndexingService - Nero AG - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Ahead\Lib\NMIndexingService.exe
    O23 - Service: ServiceLayer - Nokia. - C:\Program Files\PC Connectivity Solution\ServiceLayer.exe
    O23 - Service: Steam Client Service - Valve Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Steam\SteamService.exe

    --
    End of file - 9813 bytes
     
  9. Tanis

    Tanis

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    3,969
    First Name:
    Shane
    If you really want to upgrade your CPU you can get Core 2 Duo (Socket 775) CPU's for under £100 (lower/mid range ones). Try www.ebuyer.com

    Increasing ingame resolution will degrade performance so it is possible that is where the problem lies. What games are you talking about about what graphics levels (medium/higher/resolution etc). Might give somenoe an idea if you are 'overstretching' your system a little.
     
  10. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    55,547
    First Name:
    Derek
    nothing obvious in the log

    see if this applies

    http://winhlp.com/node/10

    however I suspect it might well be graphics card drivers
     
  11. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    37,436
    A higher screen res will certainly make the video card work harder. Try lowering the screen res to what you had it set on before; see how it works now.

    Next how full is the hd? If you have <30% or so free space, that can cause a slowdown as well.
     
  12. danskibee

    danskibee Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    155
    The games are running off their own hard drive which is only about 30% full and I've just updated the video card drivers to no effect.

    I'm trying to run Team Fortress 2 and GTA: San Andreas but every 20 seconds I get a 5 second stuttering moment and then it speeds up again, its really annoying. Graphics settings are on high, 2/4xAA and Aniosotropic filtering and reflections etc. but the FPS isn't suffering for most part, its just every few moments I get a real bad system slowdown, then back to normal.

    The only thing I have changed recently is the RAM which has been upgraded and the resolution since getting a new monitor, but it doesn't appear to be as a result of that cos the problem has only just started occuring and I've had the RAM and monitor for some months now and games used to work fine.

    I'll try changing the resolution and report back.

    EDIT - just as a second thought I've just realised I've also noticed the problem in Gish (a Steam very low graphics platform game) running in an 800x600 window and that still stutters every few moments for a few seconds also and that's not got any AA or filtering or HDR or anything, running in a very low res window. The other games are running in 1680x1050 fullscreen.
     
  13. Book

    Book

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    169
    You should know that raising the resolution of your monitor (maybe contrary to simple logic) does not depend on your graphics card that much but it DOES depend on your CPU, and will therefore use up a lot of its processing power. I have come to this conclusion through a few tests with a quite good CPU but a pretty old GPU, and I think it is correct.

    So I believe that there is nothing weird about what you're saying, and buying a new CPU will probably solve yor problem
     
  14. danskibee

    danskibee Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    155
    Well I'm totally stumped. Just lowered the resolution in TF2 and still got bad stuttering every 10 seconds so made it unplayable. Tried playing it in a window and opened resource monitor in vista whilst playing and nothing seemed to spike when the stuttering occured. CPU was only around 70% so shouldn't be bottlenecking the system the only thing that looked like it could be connected is disk access, but I wouldn't think that would cause it as all maps are preloaded and the scale wasn't that big anyway.

    I can only presume then that it may be the gfx card as that isn't monitored by vista, but what could be causing the problem? The only other solution is that it is due to Steam. The vid card isn't that old and the fps in games is fine and its not overclocked or overheating or anything..

    I'm totally stumped now. Any further ideas?
     
  15. danskibee

    danskibee Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    155
    Ok so after ages trying to figure out how to show exactly what's happening I managed to make a short vid of the stuttering occuring in team fortress 2. As you can see, it runs fine for a bit, but then just suddenly stutters and then goes back to normal (by which time I'm usually dead cos I can't move or do anything)

    Find it here
    Any further suggestions are very welcome!
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/670050

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice