1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Is my modem too old?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by meghanald, Apr 6, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. meghanald

    meghanald Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    I've just upgraded my internet speed (from 1.8 to 8. something)...what Centurylink considers "high speed" with the hope of a faster internet connection. No such luck. It's still as slow as molasses. I'm starting to wonder if perhaps my modem is "too old". My mother-in-law had a very slow connection, too, until we set up a new modem for her tonight. Now, it's very fast. Was that just a coincidence or could that be my problem, too? Currently, I have a Westell modem. On the back, it has these codes if they are of any help to you.

    Model: C90-610014-06
    Rev: D
    Assembled 1/2006

    C99-610014-03

    I have an HP, running Windows XP with a DSL high speed connection.

    Thanks for the help!
     
  2. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
    Do you rent the modem? If so call the. Actually the ISP can do line tests and check several things for you.

    You could also try borrowing her modem and seeing what the result in performance is.

    The issue could also be with the lines, the configuration, or you computer.
     
  3. Snagglegaster

    Snagglegaster Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,906
    It's certainly possible that your ISP has made changes that mean your older modem doesn't work well with their current system, but I'd start by calling them and simply asking. Most carriers will run remote diagnostics for free and these can identify problems with your line quality and modem. If you aren't satisfied with their answers, there are other tests you can use.
     
  4. meghanald

    meghanald Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Thank you for the help and great suggestions! I called our local branch and they actually let me trade my old modem for newer version, just to try it. Man, it made a world of difference!! I just didn't want to be the dork in their office who didn't know what she was talking about. It's much better to get "virtual reassurance", because the geek points don't really matter here. This was the first time I've ever used Tech Support Guy, but I'm hooked. I wish I had known about this site sooner. I would have saved myself a lot of embarrassment asking silly questions.

    Thanks again!
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/915034

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice