1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: ive just reformated

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by fevola25, Jan 29, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. fevola25

    fevola25 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    196
    and i enter setup so I can change it to read the rom to re-install windows, but when i enter 'set up' by hitting delete, it askes me to 'enter password', Ahhh, its never asked me that before, any idears how i can get around this ??
     
  2. kiwiguy

    kiwiguy

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    17,584
    If a desktop, remove the CMOS battery for 15 minutes while the PC is unpowered. Then replace and restart.

    If a laptop, take it to the service agents.

    Or, use the password. Why do you not know it?
     
  3. fevola25

    fevola25 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    196


    good question, its never asked me for it before, and i dont ever remember adding one, ive tried all the passwords i use, and nothing works,


    this cmos battery, is it hard to find ???

    Im no expert on this.
     
  4. kiwiguy

    kiwiguy

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    17,584
    The CMOS battery is on the main motherboard inside the computer.

    It is a silver disc, coin shaped and about 20mm in diameter (3/4")

    It is held under a clip. Be careful that you do not break the clip.

    Ther may be a jumper you could use to reset the BIOS to defaults but you need to have the motherboard manual to figure out which it is, there are lots.
     
  5. kiwiguy

    kiwiguy

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    17,584
    Picture of a CMOS battery attached
     

    Attached Files:

  6. fevola25

    fevola25 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    196
    Oh wow, thanks mate, thankyou for your time, really appreciated,



    Cheers, Ryan. (y)
     
  7. fevola25

    fevola25 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    196
    Yep, fixed my problem mate, thankyou so much :)

    thats just saved me money at the repair shop.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/324540

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice