1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Java took a spill!

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by holy_saiyan1, Feb 3, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. holy_saiyan1

    holy_saiyan1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    629
    All of a sudden, I'm no longer able to use any kind of sites with Java, regardless of whether I'm using IE or Firefox. I always get the error "Applet (whatever) notinit" and then "Loading Java Applet Failed..."

    This is a sudden problem, never had this problem before. I've uninstalled/reinstalled Java twice, to no avail. Java's website says that I have Java installed fine, and that if I want to install it, I need to uninstall Java and then reinstall it.

    I have Java logs from it happens, if they're of any help.
     
  2. Augie65

    Augie65

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,052
    Open the Java Console from the Windows Control Panel
    Under the General tab, click the Network Settings button
    Make sure Use Browser Settings is selected.
    On Advanced tab, click + beside <Applet> and make sure IE and Mozilla is checked.
     
  3. holy_saiyan1

    holy_saiyan1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    629
    Network Settings are ok.

    IE is checked, "Mozilla and Netscape" is not. When I check it and hit OK or Apply, I get the following error message.

    Warning - Browser
    Unable to change Browser Settings

    Please check that Mozilla or Netscape is properly installed on the system and/or that you have sufficient permissions to change system settings.

    This is odd, because I'm running this under an Admin account...
     
  4. Augie65

    Augie65

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,052
    I'm sorry, I missed type and for or. It should be IE or Mozilla. The settings are set for your default browser so you can't have both default.
    Do you have a firewall that may be blocking the applet from loading?
     
  5. holy_saiyan1

    holy_saiyan1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    629
    Zone Alarm Pro, but I checked and Java has permissions to access the Internet. I tried uninstalling and then reinstalling, no effect.
     
  6. Eriksrocks

    Eriksrocks

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2,183
    Have you restarted yet? :)
     
  7. holy_saiyan1

    holy_saiyan1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    629
    Yes, I have restarted, after uninstalling and reinstalling.
     
  8. Eriksrocks

    Eriksrocks

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2,183
  9. holy_saiyan1

    holy_saiyan1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    629
    No I can't see the applet in either IE or Firefox. I have tried clearing the browser's cache, in both browsers. Neither one works.
     
  10. Augie65

    Augie65

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,052
    Try this:
    Disable Zone Alarm Pro and enable Windows XP Firewall and see if Java will work.
     
  11. holy_saiyan1

    holy_saiyan1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    629
    No change. Still doesn't work. :mad:
     
  12. holy_saiyan1

    holy_saiyan1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    629
  13. Eriksrocks

    Eriksrocks

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2,183
    Hmm... I'm running out of ideas. :( What version of Java are you running?
     
  14. Augie65

    Augie65

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,052
    From IE, Tools > Internet Options > Advanced tab, scroll down and make sure that under Java Sun that the box is checked: Use JRE 1.5.0_06 for <applet>
    In Firefox, Tools> Options> Content tab, make sure that Enable Java and Enabel JavaScript is checked.
    Go to this site and see if the browser is Java enabled.
     
  15. holy_saiyan1

    holy_saiyan1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    629
    I'm using Java(TM) 2 Platform Standard Edition 5.0 Update 6

    The box for IE is checked, but I'm unable to change the box for "Mozilla/Netscape."
    I get the error "Warning- Browser. Unable to change Browser Settings. Please check that Mozilla or Netscape is properly installed on the system and/or that you have sufficient permissions to change system settings."

    As for the Javatester.org website that Augie linked to, I get "This web browser can
    (blank box) run Java applets" in both IE and Firefox. IE gave the error "exception: java.lang.NullPointerException" in the status bar. Firefox's status bar says "Loading Java Applet Failed..."
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved Java took
  1. Kamalkanth
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    127
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/439687

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice