Solved: Keep losing connection with new router

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Gavstar

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 2, 2011
Messages
4
Hey guys and girls i have replaced my router and now all of a sudden my laptop keeps losing the wireless connection yet my other 2 brother's are running on the same connection connected to the same router and never lose connection i have searched many topics ,sites etc etc on how to fix this my wireless network adapter is up to date i've also changed the channel on my router even when i am sitting right next to the router it still loses the connection i get normally 4 - 5 bar strength also updated the firmware on the router itself and still having issues and i've also connected directly to the router via an ethernet cable that is how im stuck with it staying connected. :( p.s if ya need some info please feel free to say what ya need

any help would be appreciated but please bare with me as im not whiz kid on the this thanks Gav
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
would you post an xirrus and also a device manager screen shot post results here - see below

and then when its working on wireless do the ipconfig /all and ALL the ping tests and post results here - then when it disconnects would you repeat the xirrus , ipconfig /all and ALL the ping test and post results here



------------------------------------------------------------------------
{ipconfig /all}
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here
We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results here
-> Start
-> (XP - enter the following in the RUN box)
cmd /k ipconfig /all
-> (Vista or Windows 7 - enter the following in the Search box)
cmd /k ipconfig /all

A black box will appear on the screen -
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy

then reply here and
control key + V to paste
------------------------------------------------------------------------
{Ping Tests}
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

Start> Run {search bar in Vista}> CMD to open a DOS window and type:

Type the following command
Ping {plus the number thats shown against the default gateway shown in above ipconfig /all}
Post back the results
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

Type the following command
Ping google.com
Post back the results
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

Type the following command
Ping 209.183.226.152
post back results
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste
------------------------------------------------------------------------
{run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector} Download and install
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC

http://www.xirrus.com/library/wifitools.php
Direct link to the program is here http://www.xirrus.com/library/wifi_download_redirect.php
Then run and install the program
if you get an error - You need NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.

Run the program

post a screen shot of the program running - if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information, and also post which network "Adapter Name" (1st column) is yours on the list

To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
------------------------------------------------------------------------
{Device Manager}
Post back the results in device manager
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
Start > control Panel {Vista set to classic view}> system > {Vista, device manager on left hand side} {XP hardware Tab, device manager button} >
windows 7
start > control panel> System and Security> Device Manager

network adaptors, click on the + > post back the devices listed there
are there any ! ? or X


post a screen shot of the device manager - network adapters

To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here
------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

Gavstar

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 2, 2011
Messages
4
Hope this is the information you require many thanks for the reply and there are 5 attached files

Here's the cmd /k ipconfig /all :

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Linda-LAPTOP
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR9285 Wireless Network Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : E8-39-DF-76-66-6B
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::ed56:b23:7934:2db6%12(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.8(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 03 January 2011 08:25:54
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 04 January 2011 11:28:10
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 317209055
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-13-A7-F6-E9-00-24-54-3A-C5-95

DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon 88E8040 Family PCI-E Fast E
thernet Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-24-54-B2-EB-F5
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter isatap.{384BCE83-3FEE-4ABA-A01C-414F4E7EB389}:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter isatap.{A01204E6-3498-4762-BE85-5AE5592765BC}:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:5ef5:79fd:18f3:3db1:a9e4:4a8c(Pref
erred)
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::18f3:3db1:a9e4:4a8c%13(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled


Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Linda>Ping 10.0.0.1

Pinging 10.0.0.1 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 10.0.0.1: bytes=32 time=3ms TTL=64
Reply from 10.0.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 10.0.0.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 10.0.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64

Ping statistics for 10.0.0.1:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 3ms, Average = 1ms


C:\Users\Linda>Ping google.com

Pinging google.com [173.194.37.104] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 173.194.37.104: bytes=32 time=30ms TTL=55
Reply from 173.194.37.104: bytes=32 time=40ms TTL=55
Reply from 173.194.37.104: bytes=32 time=19ms TTL=54
Reply from 173.194.37.104: bytes=32 time=27ms TTL=55

Ping statistics for 173.194.37.104:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 19ms, Maximum = 40ms, Average = 29ms


C:\Users\Linda>Ping 209.183.226.152

Pinging 209.183.226.152 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=109ms TTL=52
Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=104ms TTL=52
Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=118ms TTL=52
Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=118ms TTL=52

Ping statistics for 209.183.226.152:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 104ms, Maximum = 118ms, Average = 112ms
 

Attachments

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
Excellent - thanks - just need to see all the results when it disconnects now
 

Gavstar

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 2, 2011
Messages
4
No problem as of right now it hasn't disconnected since yesterday when i played around with the router's channel but when it does drop it's only always for a few mins so i assume all this information is correct and my connection is running fine when the laptop is connected. Many thanks for helping yet again just waiting now for it to drop but watch it never happen lol, Gav
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
what did you change the wireless channel from - channel 11 as is set now is a good choice , if it was on channel 6 or 1 then that would interfere and could cause disconnection
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
ok - I would probably just leave on 11 - auto can play around abit
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top